DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Swype beta

  1. Junior Droid
    unnormaldude68's Avatar
    Member #
    162683
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    Swype beta

    Hi everyone. I have been using swype beta for my droid 3. However, now that there is an update, I cannot continue using swype. The installer now does not allow this phone to download the new swype beta. Is there a leaked apk of the new beta I can use? Or does someone have a copy of the preinstalled apk? I'm sure that I'm not the only one with this problem.

    Thanks!

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
    Last edited by unnormaldude68; 12-03-2011 at 12:53 PM.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Ninja
    rubiksc00p's Avatar
    Member #
    223451
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Somewhere on this amazing ball of creation!
    Posts
    1,376
    Liked
    117 times
    Phone
    DROID X --> Nexus Prime
    #2
    I'm having the same problem I think we're just going to have to wait till they work out the issue.

    Swyped and sent through the interwebz directly to you from somewhere and some device that doesn't concern you!
  4. Master Droid
    sarreq's Avatar
    Member #
    28254
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    398
    Liked
    1 times
    Twitter
    @Sarreq
    Phone
    SammyGS3 / ParanoidAndroid2.54
    #3
    you can't use the beta on a phone pre-installed with Swype, UNLESS you root your phone and move the system's version out of the system/apps folder first. then reboot before trying to install the beta again.

    don't delete the system version, you'll need it again if you want OTA system updates afterwards.



    sorry, didn't read that right the first time. have you tried a compete uninstall/reinstall of Swype?
    Last edited by sarreq; 12-04-2011 at 06:08 PM.
  5. Droid Ninja
    rubiksc00p's Avatar
    Member #
    223451
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Somewhere on this amazing ball of creation!
    Posts
    1,376
    Liked
    117 times
    Phone
    DROID X --> Nexus Prime
    #4
    Ok, I totally didn't think of that! Go into root explorer and delete everything Swype. Then uninstall the installer. Then reinstall the installer and install Skype just like you would from scratch. I know sarreq was thinking from stock but just make sure there is nothing from Swype there. Never been like that before but that's the dealz!

    Swyped and sent through the interwebz directly to you from somewhere and some device that doesn't concern you!
  6. Junior Droid
    unnormaldude68's Avatar
    Member #
    162683
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #5
    I was hesitant to uninstall, but it worked. I used Titanium Backup to backup first, then simply uninstalled. The installer worked like a charm and I am now running 3.26 beta. Thanks guys!

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. New swype beta!
    By ldopa in forum Droid Forums Member News Depot
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-14-2011, 08:24 AM
  2. FYI Swype Beta
    By djstnick in forum Droid X Roms
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-03-2011, 02:43 PM
  3. Swype beta?
    By Adecker in forum HTC Droid Incredible
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-26-2010, 12:36 PM
  4. Swype Beta
    By GoGators in forum ChevyNo1
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 06-29-2010, 01:47 PM

Search tags for this page

can u run swype beta from an htc rezound
,
droid x swype beta
,
how do i install swype beta on droid x
,
instal swype on droid x
,
install swype on my thunderbolt
,
swype
,
swype 3.26 beta theme
,

swype beta

,
swype beta for thunderbolt install
,
swype beta incredible
,

swype beta installer

,
swype nexus prime
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+