DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: D3 keeps switching between my 2 gmail accounts

  1. Droid
    JoeHockey's Avatar
    Member #
    125294
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    60
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid
    #1

    D3 keeps switching between my 2 gmail accounts

    I just recently added a second gmail (gmail #2) account to my D3 and the phone seems to keep switching between the two accounts. Gmail itself works fine but I keep noticing in the market that sometimes it is updating gmail #2 instead of gmail #1. I keep getting update notices for apps I thought I deleted and when I look in the market the market says it's updating the 2nd account. The phone was set up originally with gmail #1 and I want it to stay that way for everything, I just wanted to be able to get mail for gmail #2. Any thoughts on how to make the phone stop switching accounts?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Theme Developer
    vbhokiefan's Avatar
    Member #
    43560
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    VA Beach VA
    Posts
    939
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    vbhokiefan
    Phone
    OG / D3 / S3 / ?
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    #2
    Mine does this as well. Google it, there's several people with this issue. I have yet to see a fix, although, like you, I wish there was ;-)
    TEAM MAVERICK FTW
  4. Master Droid
    doogald's Avatar
    Member #
    231809
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    325
    Liked
    36 times
    Phone
    Droid Maxx
    #3
    You could use the stock email app, or a better app like K9 mail, for mail from the second Gmail account.
  5. Droid Ninja
    gadgetrants's Avatar
    Member #
    96116
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,128
    Liked
    222 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid3
    #4
    Yeah, same problem here:

    - I get Market "mystery" app update notices
    - Market defaults into the second account when I load it

    I'd prefer that all apps are linked to the first account, and that the stupid Market remembers to leave itself "in" the first account after I go into settings and switch to it (it consistently reverts back to second account as default).

    But yeah, oh well. For the time being I just automatically switch back to the first account after starting Market, and I always double-check which account is active when I update/download an app.

    The bright side of all this is for a long time, we could only have one account in the Market app. On the flip side, on my Transformer (HC), I have a nice tab at the top of the Market app that always tells me which of my accounts is currently active! So with ICS, this'll probably be fixed.

    -Matt
    Last edited by gadgetrants; 10-30-2011 at 08:39 AM.
    Meaning of gadgetrants:
    (1) Goes on rants about gadgets
    (2) Gadgets put him in a trants (er...um, trance)
  6. TyrannoTaurus's Avatar
    Member #
    225447
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Northern IL
    Posts
    42
    Phone
    Droid 3
    #5
    This is an issue for me as well. Why the Market can't just stick to one account is beyond me. Worse yet, it took me forever to realize what the hell was going on, so now half of my apps are on my original email and half on my second email account. I don't really feel like deleting them and re-downloading them to the first account. Wish there was a way to merge them or something. Totally annoying :-/

    Sent from my Rooted Droid 3
  7. Droid Ninja
    gadgetrants's Avatar
    Member #
    96116
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,128
    Liked
    222 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid3
    #6

    Market update...maybe?

    Got multiple notifications today on the D3 that new apps were available. Was expecting to start Market, and have to navigate from the secondary back to the primary account -- then noticed I was already in the primary (which is what I want). Huh?...weird. THEN I looked at the top of the UI, and realized there was a pull-down (like in Honeycomb) with the active account listed. Hmmm...did the Market app get updated and I missed it?

    This makes the multi-account issue a bit more manageable...turned a four-step process into a 1- or 2-step one!

    Oooooo...just checked "Allow automatic updating" as I updated Root Explorer, and got a pop-up that "auto-updating" can be made the default for all apps. Excellent.

    -Matt
    Meaning of gadgetrants:
    (1) Goes on rants about gadgets
    (2) Gadgets put him in a trants (er...um, trance)
  8. Droid
    DroidudeAZ's Avatar
    Member #
    91319
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Scottsdale AZ
    Posts
    31
    Liked
    1 times
    Twitter
    robwscottsdale
    Phone
    Droid Razr Maxx HD XT926
    #7

    Mine switches accounts too

    I emailed google app market support and got a reply that said that there was an issue with email switching, but the app market still syncs with the first account entered when setting up your phone. He went on to say that they are looking into it and will issue a fix at some point.
  9. Droid
    technogeek00's Avatar
    Member #
    211270
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    59
    Phone
    Droid 3
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by gadgetrants View Post
    Yeah, same problem here:
    The bright side of all this is for a long time, we could only have one account in the Market app. On the flip side, on my Transformer (HC), I have a nice tab at the top of the Market app that always tells me which of my accounts is currently active! So with ICS, this'll probably be fixed.

    The switching has been annoying me but over the weekend a new update to the Market was pushed to my handset and now it does show which account is active like it does on my TF too.

    Sent from my Transformer TF101 using DroidForums
  10. Droid Ninja
    gadgetrants's Avatar
    Member #
    96116
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,128
    Liked
    222 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid3
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by gadgetrants View Post
    Got multiple notifications today on the D3 that new apps were available. Was expecting to start Market, and have to navigate from the secondary back to the primary account -- then noticed I was already in the primary (which is what I want). Huh?...weird. THEN I looked at the top of the UI, and realized there was a pull-down (like in Honeycomb) with the active account listed. Hmmm...did the Market app get updated and I missed it?

    This makes the multi-account issue a bit more manageable...turned a four-step process into a 1- or 2-step one!
    Quote Originally Posted by technogeek00 View Post
    The switching has been annoying me but over the weekend a new update to the Market was pushed to my handset and now it does show which account is active like it does on my TF too.
    Is there an echo in here? LOL

    -Matt
    Meaning of gadgetrants:
    (1) Goes on rants about gadgets
    (2) Gadgets put him in a trants (er...um, trance)

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Android Market switching my Google Accounts
    By mongo22 in forum Droid Bionic Tech Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-05-2011, 08:13 PM
  2. switching between two Exchange accounts?
    By jwingstrom in forum Motorola Droid Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-14-2011, 10:25 PM
  3. Switching gmail accounts
    By swaks16 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-27-2010, 08:18 PM
  4. Market syncing/switching on multiple accounts
    By MAzing87 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-09-2009, 11:55 AM

Search tags for this page

2 gmail accounts on galaxy

,
andriod switch gmail
,
android bionic how do i switch mail accounts
,
android market mutiple email account
,
gmail app keeps switching
,
how to combine 2 gmail accounts
,
how to combine gmail accounts in android market
,

how to switch between gmail accounts on android

,

how to switch gmail accounts on android market

,
switching between accounts in market
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+