DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: [How to] Update Swype

  1. Droid Ninja
    pyro6128's Avatar
    Member #
    23817
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,525
    Liked
    29 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S4
    #1

    [How to] Update Swype

    I've seen a lot of people asking how to get the new swype beta, so I'm going to post the instructions that worked for me. Mind you, I tried this all myself through trial and error, so if steps can be removed great. But as of now all I can say is this is what worked for me.
    1. First your phone needs to be rooted, I suggest using the one click method thats floating around
    2. Freeze the Swype apk (I used titanium backup)
    3. Reboot (i just did this because I like to reboot after freezing apps just to be safe, could possibly work without the reboot)
    4. Go to swype's beta page, log in and download the swype installer
    5. Run the swype installer, follow the directions
    6. then its going to ask you if you want to install swype to system, say yes to that. Once swype is installed, you probably still won't be able to pick it from the keyboard and inputs menu in settings (i wasn't).
    7. Now go back to titanium backup and unfreeze the swype apk
    8. Reboot (again, don't know if this is necessary but I do it after messing with system apps)
    9. Go to settings>language & keyboard>Input> select swype (you should be able to longpress on a text field and select your input that way as well)

    Thats it, you should have the new swype beta installed on your phone. It will be easy to notice if it worked because the beta has the old swype look which is much different (and better looking) than the preloaded look. Hope that helps you guys. If anyone finds steps that can be removed or something, let me know and I'll update these steps.

    Enjoy your new swype with gestures!
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Senior Droid
    tlpalmer01's Avatar
    Member #
    75473
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    101
    Phone
    droid 3
    #2
    thanks...worked perfectly...i love the beta version so big thanks...
  4. Saik0Shinigami's Avatar
    Member #
    219422
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    78
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Motorola XT862 (Droid 3)
    #3
    +1 working
  5. Droid Ninja
    pyro6128's Avatar
    Member #
    23817
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,525
    Liked
    29 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S4
    #4
    Glad to help
  6. Droid Newbie
    amaroth's Avatar
    Member #
    220184
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    DROID3
    #5
    Do you have to use Titanium Backup? I tried these same steps but instead I moved the swype.apk to another folder I made, ran the beta installer, and then moved the swype.apk back from the folder to /apps/ using root explorer. It hasn't seemed to work because swype is still a white color..
    halp!
  7. Droid Ninja
    pyro6128's Avatar
    Member #
    23817
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,525
    Liked
    29 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S4
    #6
    Hmm I really don't know. I think you could try moving it out of system and into the data/app folder, and then upgrading it. I think what's happening is you're moving swype to somewhere the installer doesn't recognize, so when you move it back you're essentially just replacing it again with the old one. Move it to data/app then run the installer. See if that helps.

    Side note: if you're rooted and plan on messing with the phone I HIGHLY recommend titanium backup. Its the number one app any root user should own. 100 percent worth every penny

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
  8. Master Droid
    sarreq's Avatar
    Member #
    28254
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    398
    Liked
    1 times
    Twitter
    @Sarreq
    Phone
    SammyGS3 / ParanoidAndroid2.54
    #7
    freezing wasn't working for me. i had to move the system version to my SD card, search all instances of Swype from /data and delete them (don't worry, they get recreated), then run the installer as normal and reboot. black, navy and grey, with swypecuts and a personal dictionary are go.
    Last edited by sarreq; 08-31-2011 at 02:32 PM.
  9. Droid Newbie
    amaroth's Avatar
    Member #
    220184
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    DROID3
    #8
    sarreq I did what you said, and the swype installer worked. I had the beta working for about half a day, and then all of a sudden it just went back to force closing... What do i do??
  10. Droid Newbie
    amaroth's Avatar
    Member #
    220184
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    DROID3
    #9
    EDIT: I found my old Swype.apk that I was looking for. I moved it to my sdcard.

    Updated phone with OTA, rooted, deleted /data/ swype files, ran installer again, and I have the beta working right now. I will see how long it lasts this time.
    Last edited by amaroth; 09-02-2011 at 03:45 AM.
  11. Droid
    Warglock's Avatar
    Member #
    211828
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    58
    Phone
    CDMA GNex
    #10
    This method worked for me. I also did this same process with the Slacker that's pre-installed and it worked too, but I didn't have to restart my phone.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Swype Update...
    By Chillout in forum Liberty ROM DX
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-14-2011, 02:18 PM
  2. Can we Update Swype?
    By HerroMoto in forum Motorola Droid 2
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-09-2010, 10:28 AM
  3. New Swype update?
    By aaf709 in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-18-2010, 08:40 AM
  4. Update Swype?
    By LexusBrian400 in forum Samsung Fascinate
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-15-2010, 02:35 AM
  5. Swype update
    By searayman in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-11-2010, 03:47 PM

Search tags for this page

how do i update swype
,
how do you update swype
,

how to update swype

,
how to upgrade swype
,
swype upgrade
,
swype won't update
,

update swype

,
update swype droid x
,
updating swype
,
upgrade swype
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+