DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 35

Thread: 3G Dropping!

  1. Droid
    neonerz's Avatar
    Member #
    44894
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    80
    Phone
    Droid 3
    #21
    I'm actually having the same problem, I've been on the phone with Verizon all day trying to fix it.

    I keep going from 1 bar of 3G to 1 bar of 1x. Mind you, my original Droid always had full service 3G.
  2. Droid
    ZPrime's Avatar
    Member #
    102817
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    48
    Phone
    Droid 3
    #22
    There is definitely something weird going on with the data portion of the phone. I am sitting 5 feet from a network extender (one of the newer 3G ones), my D2 had no problems with it, and Blackberries are OK with it, but the D3 constantly flops between 3G and 1x. Oddly, when it is on normal towers at home it seems to do better, but we get very little signal at my office hence the network extender.

    My battery life has been terrible as well, worse than the D2, I'm convinced it is related to this data flopping.

    I have all of the data saver & battery saver crap turned off, I need my push mail (Exchange) to be alive at all times. Same way I had the D2 setup and it would make it the whole day and be down to 70-60%. The D3 is down to 40%-50% after 10 hours and probably wouldn't make the whole day without charging.
  3. Droid
    neonerz's Avatar
    Member #
    44894
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    80
    Phone
    Droid 3
    #23
    It sucks because I'm really liking this phone.

    Let me ask you, you said your push exchange email? I can't seem to get mine activated and Motorola and Verizon both seem to think it's because of the data issue. Do you use SSL for exchange and do you know if its a self signed certificate or one signed by a legit authority (like verisign)?
  4. Junior Droid
    bkcorwin's Avatar
    Member #
    210644
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    17
    Phone
    Droid 3
    #24
    i am getting these same symptoms. Toggling between full bars 3g, 1 bar 3g, 1 bar 1x, etc.
  5. Droid
    neonerz's Avatar
    Member #
    44894
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    80
    Phone
    Droid 3
    #25
    I hate to say it, but my problem wasn't the Droid3. It turned out that I left my original Droid on without changing its MIN and MDN, and it was confusing the tower. Once I turned off the Droid, my Droid 3 started working perfectly.

    To make sure this isn't your problem, dial ##7764726 on your old phone and hit send. SPC password is 000000 (this seems to be the same password on every VZW phone I've tried), go into User Activation and change the MIN and MDN. Don't worry about messing up your phone, *228 would fix it if you want to use it again.
  6. Master Droid
    rushmore's Avatar
    Member #
    975
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    328
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #26
    I had the 1X issue once today and do not recall this happening with the D1 or Incredible. That said, the D3 reception IMO is better than those devices.
  7. Senior Droid
    xaelith's Avatar
    Member #
    54937
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    113
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Mavericked Motorola Droid 3
    #27
    I had this same issue with my D1 before it gave up trying to connect to the mobile network altogether. When I took it in to the Verizon store, the guy helping me tried the ##7-whatever, and when he put the password in, it told him the password was incorrect...go figure.
    MotoCache's rooting instructions: A must-have Droid1 root guide for rooting noobs such as myself
    Sourcery v2.2 Kang - Full version: One of the best Droid1 ROMs available
  8. Droid
    jfourman's Avatar
    Member #
    12914
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    49
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #28
    Quote Originally Posted by neonerz View Post
    I hate to say it, but my problem wasn't the Droid3. It turned out that I left my original Droid on without changing its MIN and MDN, and it was confusing the tower. Once I turned off the Droid, my Droid 3 started working perfectly.

    To make sure this isn't your problem, dial ##7764726 on your old phone and hit send. SPC password is 000000 (this seems to be the same password on every VZW phone I've tried), go into User Activation and change the MIN and MDN. Don't worry about messing up your phone, *228 would fix it if you want to use it again.
    For those with the Network Extender and still have your old phone, this is the fix that worked for me. I was frustrated by getting only 1x on my D3 when sitting next to my Network Extender. After I read this post, I turned off my D1 and low and behold...3G all day all night. Thanks neonerz!
  9. Droid
    jfourman's Avatar
    Member #
    12914
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    49
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #29
    Quote Originally Posted by jfourman View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by neonerz View Post
    I hate to say it, but my problem wasn't the Droid3. It turned out that I left my original Droid on without changing its MIN and MDN, and it was confusing the tower. Once I turned off the Droid, my Droid 3 started working perfectly.

    To make sure this isn't your problem, dial ##7764726 on your old phone and hit send. SPC password is 000000 (this seems to be the same password on every VZW phone I've tried), go into User Activation and change the MIN and MDN. Don't worry about messing up your phone, *228 would fix it if you want to use it again.
    For those with the Network Extender and still have your old phone, this is the fix that worked for me. I was frustrated by getting only 1x on my D3 when sitting next to my Network Extender. After I read this post, I turned off my D1 and low and behold...3G all day all night. Thanks neonerz!
    It started dropping again from 3G to 1x. I don't necessarily think this is a Network Extender issue. #48 confirms that I am connected to the Network Extender for the phone even though the data connection shows 1x. The 3G to 1x drop occurs even when I am out of range of the NE. I called Verizon Support. There is a discussion on the Motorola D3 forum ( https://supportforums.motorola.com/message/433486 ) indicating that others have been reporting the issue. My VZ Support person said that he could find nothing logged regarding the issue. He entered a new report and said I should expect a call back in 72 hours. One point that he noted that contradicts my previous post and the posts of others above is that there is no possibility of a conflict on the NE between your old phone and your new one with the same phone number. He said the communication with the NE uses the unique radio address of the phone (MAC) not the phone number. So our theories that shutting off your D1 would somehow fix the issue is merely coincidental rather than actual.

    I think this is a radio issue with the D3 that can hopefully be fixed within the firmware. I think some of us are associating it with the Network Extender because the issue is so obvious when your phone is next to the extender and you are on 1x service.

    I'll post back if I get a meaningful response from Verizon.
  10. Droid
    neonerz's Avatar
    Member #
    44894
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    80
    Phone
    Droid 3
    #30
    The Verizon rep you spoke with was wrong. Cell equipment does not communicate with a phone using a MAC address. It uses the MIN and MDN. Don't believe me? Grab another VZ phone, grab the MIN and MDN of your current phone, program that in the old one (using the same instructions I mentioned above) and power both on and put them next to each other, watch what happens.

    When you dial *228 it automatically does what I gave you the instructions of above, program your MDN and MIN.

    Keep in mind the MDM is your phone number and the MIN is the Mobile Identification Number. If a tower sees two phones trying to connect to it with the same MDM and MIN it won't know which one to service and will attempt to service both.

    A MAC address is a Manufacturer Access Control address. It's a unique address assigned to ALL (and this is the important part) network devices. If your phone doesn't have a WIFI chip (or doubtfully a NIC card) it won't have a MAC address.
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. 4G LTE dropping
    By DrPepper721 in forum Samsung Droid Charge
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-02-2011, 05:24 PM
  2. 3G Keeps Dropping
    By Krazy Mojo in forum Droid X Tech Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-17-2011, 07:56 AM
  3. 3g dropping in and out
    By thexxoffspring in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-17-2010, 04:08 PM
  4. 3g dropping out
    By tallone in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-20-2010, 03:47 PM

Search tags for this page

android keeps dropping 3g network
,
droid x2 keeps dropping 3g
,

droid x2 keeps losing 3g

,
my 3g internet android is messing up
,
my droid x2 keeps losing 3g
,
my droid x2 keeps lossing signal
,

verizon 3g dropping

,
why does my 3g keep dropping out
,

why does my 3g phone keep going to 1x network service

,
why does my 3g signal drop inside my workplace
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+