DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Stock Android on R2D2?

  1. Droid
    benhar's Avatar
    Member #
    40775
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    55
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    Stock Android on R2D2?

    My wife wants to replace her Pre with an Android phone, and she wants to get the R2D2 over the Global just because of the price difference. The looks of the phone don't bother her, but I'm not sure she will want the theme. From reading around on here it looks like I can root the R2D2, so I'm assuming that means I can put stock Android on the R2D2? I have a Droid 1 so I'm used to rooting and changing ROMs, but with hers I will just want to get it all configured once and be done.
  2. Rescue Squad
    spaz33g's Avatar
    Member #
    113637
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    orange county, ca
    Posts
    6,388
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus, T-bolt, Droid 2
    #2
    Iirc you can just sbf the r2d2 so that it would pretty much be a standard droid 2 in an r2d2 body or you could flash a droid 2 rom on to it but I don't know the exact procedure

    tappin and a talkin
  3. Senior Droid
    lopedog's Avatar
    Member #
    124658
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Va.
    Posts
    131
    Phone
    Droid X
    #3
    Yes you can root it pretty easy. I also just pick up the R2D2 and rooted it with z4root. The only issue I had rooting was I didn't put the phone in airplane mode first, so the phone was trying to root for over 15 min without success. So I started over, putting phone in airplane mode first and it only took a minute or two. The article didn't mention to do that in the OP but I had read somewhere else that was a issue for someone. As for the ROM I flashed liberty and so far Im loving it.

    Edit: I do miss my OG Droid and flashing ROMs and themes. Not as many options on this phone.

    Sent from my DROID2 R2D2
  4. Droid
    benhar's Avatar
    Member #
    40775
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    55
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #4
    Thanks! Just wanted to double check it was possible.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Stock R2D2 Image
    By sedo1800 in forum Droid 2 Tech Issues
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-23-2011, 09:34 PM
  2. Nothing Better than stock Android
    By plvaulter06 in forum Android Roms
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 11-12-2010, 10:48 PM
  3. Stock Android Rom
    By plvaulter06 in forum Samsung Fascinate Development
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-11-2010, 08:34 PM
  4. Droid X to stock Android OS?
    By raduray in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-23-2010, 12:10 PM
  5. Is There Any Way to Get stock Android UI
    By NYZ93 in forum HTC Droid Incredible
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-19-2010, 02:57 AM

Search tags for this page

does verizon still make r2d2 phone
,
droid r2d2 for sale
,

droid r2d2 phone sale

,

droid r2d2 stock rom

,
put stock android on droid 2 global
,

r2d2 droid for sale

,

r2d2 droid phone for sale

,

r2d2 stock rom

,

stock r2d2 rom

,
used r2d2 for sale
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+