DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: using my droid 2 in italy

  1. Droid Newbie
    nonna115's Avatar
    Member #
    176357
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    using my droid 2 in italy

    Will I get charged if I just use the apps in Italy? I want to use the Italian translator, but I am afraid I will be charged roaming charges. I heard horror stories of people getting a $1000 bill for roaming. Any suggestions?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Super Moderator/RS
    mwhartman's Avatar
    Member #
    27806
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South FL
    Posts
    10,730
    Liked
    40 times
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    Premium Member
    #2
    I would think that as long as you are in airplane mode or on wifi you will not be charged. So, as long as the app is up-to-date and you do not access any data you should not incur any charges. Here is a recent link http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dro...-my-droid.html you should read
    Forgive your enemies it messes with their minds!
  4. Droid Newbie
    nonna115's Avatar
    Member #
    176357
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #3

    italy

    i thought if i used the talk to me app it accesses the net....that is when I would be charged roaming charges. I am not familiary with any of this as you can tell. I am just worried about getting home and finding a bill that that is larger than what my trip cost!
  5. Master Droid
    NiceGuysFinishLast's Avatar
    Member #
    156937
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    748
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #4
    If you put your phone in airplane mode, there's no way the app can reach the internet. I don't know if this will break the functionality of the app, but I DO know there's no way you can be charged for data use. For extra peace of mind, you can go into the settings and uncheck the box to allow data roaming.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Going to Italy - should I even bring my Droid?
    By Big D in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-02-2011, 10:03 AM
  2. Italy
    By waynebunch in forum Motorola Droid 2 Global
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-27-2010, 06:03 PM
  3. SKYPE in Italy/France
    By ELLEN in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-09-2010, 10:41 AM
  4. Hallo from italy! :d
    By sub078 in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-14-2010, 02:49 AM

Search tags for this page

can i use my droid 2 in italy

,
can u use a verizon htc incredible in italy
,
can you use a droid in italy
,
charge droid italy
,

droid 2 global in italy

,

droid 2 global italy

,
droid 2 increadible italy
,
droid 3 ues in italy
,
how can i use my verizon droid phone in italy
,

using my droid in italy

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+