DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Communicating with server error.

  1. Senior Droid
    Aversion's Avatar
    Member #
    159334
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    113
    Phone
    Galaxy S3 (Verizon I535)
    #1

    Communicating with server error.

    My phone seems to be unable to get passed this task. I reverted from Fission back to stock and after putting in my Google information back up assistant gets stuck. It says ''communicating with server please wait'' - its been doing that for about a half hour.. I tried going into recovery and wiping all data/cache and stuff - it didnt help. I cant get out of this screen.
  2. Master Droid
    TheSwaggeR's Avatar
    Member #
    159353
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    744
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2 2.3.20.A955
    #2
    Have you done SBF?
    Funny how some people complain more than my 2 year old daughter does.
  3. Senior Droid
    Aversion's Avatar
    Member #
    159334
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    113
    Phone
    Galaxy S3 (Verizon I535)
    #3
    I couldnt get SBF to work. The start button was grey'd out. What I did was wipe all data/cache then install ''Droid Global'' through the Fission Rom Manager.
  4. Master Droid
    TheSwaggeR's Avatar
    Member #
    159353
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    744
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2 2.3.20.A955
    #4
    Is there a Skip button on backup assistant? I just skip that and backup later.
    Funny how some people complain more than my 2 year old daughter does.
  5. Senior Droid
    Aversion's Avatar
    Member #
    159334
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    113
    Phone
    Galaxy S3 (Verizon I535)
    #5
    If I hit skip, or enter my PIN to back up I get the same result. A forever 'communicating with server' screen.


    I went back to Fission 2.4 for the time being. Can I sdf with fission 2.4 for D2G?
  6. Master Droid
    TheSwaggeR's Avatar
    Member #
    159353
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    744
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2 2.3.20.A955
    #6
    You mean can you do SBF? You don't need Fission to do that. You just need RSDLite, USB cable, and the right SBF file to flash your ROM.

    This will return everything back to stock, including unrooting your D2G and will also delete the Fission ROM. So you'll have to start all over again once you've SBFed your D2G. Then try putting in your Google info and doing the backup assistant again.
    Funny how some people complain more than my 2 year old daughter does.
  7. Senior Droid
    Aversion's Avatar
    Member #
    159334
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    113
    Phone
    Galaxy S3 (Verizon I535)
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by TheSwaggeR View Post
    You mean can you do SBF? You don't need Fission to do that. You just need RSDLite, USB cable, and the right SBF file to flash your ROM.

    This will return everything back to stock, including unrooting your D2G and will also delete the Fission ROM. So you'll have to start all over again once you've SBFed your D2G. Then try putting in your Google info and doing the backup assistant again.
    Ok well I do have RSD Lite (4.9) I updated the driver from motorola, I have tried the program but I get stuck.

    The 'start' button in RSD stays grey. The phone shows up and alot of the details say 'N/A'



    Edit: I just did a wipe data again and now RSD is working. Ill try it later if Fission annoys me again.
    Last edited by Aversion; 01-17-2011 at 07:13 PM.
  8. Master Droid
    TheSwaggeR's Avatar
    Member #
    159353
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    744
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2 2.3.20.A955
    #8
    Step 1: Boot into the bootloader, you do this by powering on and holding the physical up button on your keyboard. You should see a black screen with text that says battery: OK

    Step 2: Plug is your usb cord into the computer you loaded the rsdlite file on

    Step 3: Click on your rsdlite program. You need to run as an administrator, to do that hold shift key and right click on the rsdlite program (do that as you are about to open the program). Thanks Firesong3k for reminding me about that.

    Step 4: Next to the file name text box in the rsdlite program are three little dots. Click on those dots and find the file Click on that file and then click start. Make sure you have a strong battery before flashing this is the one time you need to ensure your battery is ok to get through the process, because the program erases everything and re-flashes your phone.

    Step 5: Wait for it to get to 100% and reboot your phone to the motorola "M" symbol first then unplug your device. While at the M take off the battery cover out and remove your battery. Wait for about 3 seconds and then reinstall your battery. Power on and hold the physical X key until you get to the triangle and !.

    Step 6: on your physical keyboard push the search button to get into the recovery mode. From there you are going to wipe data/factory reset. AFter that is complete click reboot.
    Funny how some people complain more than my 2 year old daughter does.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Android Market Server Error
    By mbm96 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-24-2011, 04:48 PM
  2. Server error in market
    By tennvol in forum Motorola Droid Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-04-2011, 02:13 PM
  3. Fixed the server error problem
    By harveydude13 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-20-2010, 05:00 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-29-2010, 02:16 PM
  5. Communicating with server error.
    By dragmycorpse in forum Motorola Droid 2 Development
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-05-2010, 12:41 AM

Search tags for this page

backup assistant communicating with server
,
backup assistant communication error
,
backup assistant plus communication error
,
communicating with server
,

communicating with server please wait

,
motocast communicating with server please wait
,
motorola communicating with server
,
motorola update communicating with server
,
phone saying server communication failure
,

there was an error communicating with the server

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+