DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: PDANet and Xbox 360

  1. Junior Droid
    tiesto's Avatar
    Member #
    151206
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    13
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2 Global
    #1

    PDANet and Xbox 360

    So I got a Droid 2 Global for Christmas. I just have a few questions because I am a complete newbie with it. When Im using PDANet, does that data usage show up on my bill? I have unlimited but im worried that Verizon will find out that im using alot of data while tethering.

    Also, my friend says he can hook up his Droid to his PS3 and play online, is it possible to do that with an XBOX 360?

    Thanks for any help.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid
    Gibbsinator's Avatar
    Member #
    104828
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    47
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #2
    It does use phone data, but you should incur extra charge. Idk if pdanet and xbox work, but a wireless tether a.d the new xbox will work. So there is a good hands. The wireless tether needs root though.
  4. Senior Droid
    Gritwater's Avatar
    Member #
    153632
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    149
    Phone
    Iphone
    #3
    dang, that last post was painful to read.


    You *shouldn't be charged, not should be.


    tethering, beit to your computer, or your xbox, will NOT get you a charge from Verizon. Unlimited data means unlimited data at this current point in time.

    I can't get my wii to hook up to my wireless tether though.
  5. Droid
    Droid4Life86's Avatar
    Member #
    133873
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    44
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #4
    I have ran my ps3 with the wireless tether app but there was so much lag i just had to quit.
  6. Master Droid
    markml0528's Avatar
    Member #
    129392
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    897
    Phone
    Steel Droid 4.8 Droid 3
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Droid4Life86 View Post
    I have ran my ps3 with the wireless tether app but there was so much lag i just had to quit.
    Lol. I just did a speed test and i got 1mbps download speed and 500kbps upload. When I go to the options on black ops, it says the bandwidth is usually somewhere between 500-1200kbps, common sense would make you think that all you need is 1200kbps to run the game smoothly but this isn't the case for some reason.
  7. Senior Droid
    mewshi's Avatar
    Member #
    137072
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    127
    Phone
    droid 2
    #6
    it's not the speed that's the issue with online gaming, it's the lag. Just sayin', myo.
    Buy it, use it, break it, fix it.
  8. Senior Droid
    born2golf's Avatar
    Member #
    118125
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    242
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Razr Maxx
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by markml0528 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Droid4Life86 View Post
    I have ran my ps3 with the wireless tether app but there was so much lag i just had to quit.
    Lol. I just did a speed test and i got 1mbps download speed and 500kbps upload. When I go to the options on black ops, it says the bandwidth is usually somewhere between 500-1200kbps, common sense would make you think that all you need is 1200kbps to run the game smoothly but this isn't the case for some reason.
    Huh? Are you comparing 1Mbps to the required 1200Kbps for online play? If so you should be aware that 1Mbps = 1000Kbps so your 1Mbps does not meet the requirements.

    beyond that, raw throughput is only a portion of the equation for effective online gaming. You also need to consider latency, and I doubt that the the latency will be low enough through any of these wireless tethering apps in conjunction with the 3G network. The network is not designed for that type of low latency traffic and is just not consistent enough.
  9. Junior Droid
    mehimatt's Avatar
    Member #
    150646
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    22
    Phone
    droid 2
    #8
    Here's a youtube video of how to do it I'm pretty sure it works I know its hard for people to join you or your partys here's the link

  10. Senior Droid
    elvyrorie's Avatar
    Member #
    134799
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Nashville
    Posts
    238
    Phone
    droid 2
    #9
    I'm going to have to try this in my hotel room when the hotels internet sucks.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Using PdaNet to play Xbox Live!!
    By Big Lou in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 06-22-2011, 10:14 PM
  2. Xbox 360 or PS3?
    By dgkjonmo in forum Off Topic Forum
    Replies: 72
    Last Post: 11-24-2010, 09:23 PM
  3. xbox
    By demofox in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-09-2010, 09:42 PM
  4. XBOX Live Through Tethering PDANET OSX?
    By Arsenalc08 in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-06-2010, 04:00 PM
  5. xbox 360
    By ogbobby4 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 02-14-2010, 10:14 AM

Search tags for this page

can you use pdanet for xbox live
,
does pdanet work with xbox 360
,
pdanet data usage
,
pdanet for xbox 360
,
pdanet on xbox
,
pdanet online gaming
,
pdanet to xbox
,

pdanet xbox

,

pdanet xbox 360

,

pdanet xbox live

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+