DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Droid 2 Global unlocked - data availability with non Verizon SIM card- any success?

  1. Junior Droid
    aznightshade's Avatar
    Member #
    186015
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    22
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #1

    Unhappy Droid 2 Global unlocked - data availability with non Verizon SIM card- any success?

    I bought SIM card in many countries: England, Netherlands, Germany, Iceland.
    In Netherlands I actually bought 2 different SIM cards.
    I made calls without any problems, but I was never successful getting any data. I have tried all kinds of different setting and I asked local reps to help me program the required APN data into the phone - nothing helped. SIM cards were capable of getting data - tested on European phones.

    I was thinking about updating my Global 2 to DROID RAZR MAXX, but after I checked the forums, I noticed several people had the same problem with it as I did with Droid 2 Global - no data abroad with non-Verizon SIM cards.

    I have plenty of old unlocked phones I can use abroad for voice only - there is no need for me to drag my latest smartphone just to realize one more time that it will not support any data = no maps, no apps unless there is a WIFI (so frustrating!). I do not know what Verizon does with their Global phones, but I don't think I saw a single post from people who bought their Global Android phones from Verizon and were able to get data with non Verizon SIM cards. The only phone which does not have this problem is an iPhone.

    I'm not an iPhone person, never had it, but I'm thinking of buying one just to be able to get some data abroad.

    It is a mystery to me why Verizon advertises their Global phones as Data Capable in over 205 countries, but it does not work if you pull out Verizon SIM and insert a different one. Did they put some kind of a lock on this feature for Android based phones? Honestly, I never tried getting data with Verizon SIM since their prices are very expensive, but I think it would work.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Junior Droid
    Ojelola's Avatar
    Member #
    272741
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    13
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2 Global A956
    #2
    The phone is probably not picking up the appropriate APNs (Access Point Names) from the SIM card. Without the proper APN information, data services will not work. So, you would have to manually edit/add a valid APN for the area and service provider where you want to use the phone. On Motorola phones, you will usually find the APN setting through Settings / Wireless & Network / Mobile Networks / Access Point Names.
    Last edited by Ojelola; 09-15-2012 at 08:44 PM.
  4. Junior Droid
    aznightshade's Avatar
    Member #
    186015
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    22
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Ojelola View Post
    The phone is probably not picking up the appropriate APNs (Access Point Names) from the SIM card. Without the proper APN information, data services will not work. So, you would have to manually edit/add a valid APN for the area and service provider where you want to use the phone. On Motorola phones, you will usually find the APN setting through Settings / Wireless & Network / Mobile Networks / Access Point Names.
    I guess, everything is possible, but in this case seems very unlikely since I tested it in several countries with several SIM cards. I checked APN settings every time I would put in a different SIM to make sure I have appropriate ones. Also, local representatives from companies who sold me SIM cards actually updated my APN settings themselves (England - T-Mobile and Netherlands - Vodafone). One of the reps after a prolonged fight with my Droid 2 Global, inserted the SIM I bought into some phone they were selling and it showed data right away. This makes me think that we did everything possible, but for some unknown to me reason Verizon does not allow non Verizon data usage on their phones.
  5. Junior Droid
    Ojelola's Avatar
    Member #
    272741
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    13
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2 Global A956
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by aznightshade View Post
    I guess, everything is possible, but in this case seems very unlikely since I tested it in several countries with several SIM cards. I checked APN settings every time I would put in a different SIM to make sure I have appropriate ones. Also, local representatives from companies who sold me SIM cards actually updated my APN settings themselves (England - T-Mobile and Netherlands - Vodafone). One of the reps after a prolonged fight with my Droid 2 Global, inserted the SIM I bought into some phone they were selling and it showed data right away. This makes me think that we did everything possible, but for some unknown to me reason Verizon does not allow non Verizon data usage on their phones.
    Well, that certainly has me stumped.
  6. Master Droid
    Gasai Yuno's Avatar
    Member #
    188046
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Rausu-cho
    Posts
    759
    Liked
    11 times
    Twitter
    GasaiYuno
    Phone
    Motorola A956
    #5
    Considering you also have issues on Verizon's own network without the VZW SIM card inserted, it's probably something either in the hardware or in the baseband.

    Have you tried reflashing the phone? I don't mean factory reset, I mean using Motorola's programming software (RSDLite) with the corresponding SBF image. Your phone's system version is 4.5.629, right?

    You can read about flashing SBF images here: SBF - The DROID Wiki

    Do note that if your System Version is 4.5.629, you can only use the 4.5.629 image to flash your device.

    RSDLite can be found here (and everywhere): RSD Lite 5.6 - xda-developers
    G. Y.
    Sony LT25i “Tsubasa”, stock, rooted, locked bootloader [Android 4.1.2 “Jelly Bean”].
    Maximum speed witnessed over LTE: 98.2 Mbps down / 48.5 Mbps up; Average speed over LTE: 72.9 Mbps down / 45.7 Mbps up.
  7. Junior Droid
    aznightshade's Avatar
    Member #
    186015
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    22
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Gasai Yuno View Post
    Considering you also have issues on Verizon's own network without the VZW SIM card inserted, it's probably something either in the hardware or in the baseband.

    Have you tried reflashing the phone? I don't mean factory reset, I mean using Motorola's programming software (RSDLite) with the corresponding SBF image. Your phone's system version is 4.5.629, right?

    You can read about flashing SBF images here: SBF - The DROID Wiki

    Do note that if your System Version is 4.5.629, you can only use the 4.5.629 image to flash your device.

    RSDLite can be found here (and everywhere): RSD Lite 5.6 - xda-developers
    Thank you for the tip - never tried reflashing. I know, I have a separate problem with my Droid 2 Global, but that one does not bother me too much, not enough to go through this procedure. I was just curious to see if anyone else had it as it is quite strange and does not make sense.
    If some people with Adroid based Global phones from Verizon confirm here that they got data access with non Verizon SIM abroad, I will try reflashing, but so far I only saw people asking for help and complaining that they cannot get data abroad (including myself). Maybe, there are not enough international travelers who use different SIM cards/carriers abroad with their Verizon phones to make it a big deal, but it is quite suspicious that so many people cannot get data.
  8. Master Droid
    Gasai Yuno's Avatar
    Member #
    188046
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Rausu-cho
    Posts
    759
    Liked
    11 times
    Twitter
    GasaiYuno
    Phone
    Motorola A956
    #7
    I use the D2G from Verizon (I'm not a Verizon customer but it matters not when in GSM mode).

    I'm on SoftBank in Japan, and on NWGSM in Russia.

    I get 2G/3G data, no problems, with both SoftBank and NWGSM. MTS, Orange, T-Mobile Germany and Vodafone SIMs also work fine.

    Also, reflashing usually doesn't wipe the /data partition. Flashing the same version of firmware you already have will only replace system partitions and the baseband. You will have to *228 or something, though, to program the phone to use VZW's network.
    G. Y.
    Sony LT25i “Tsubasa”, stock, rooted, locked bootloader [Android 4.1.2 “Jelly Bean”].
    Maximum speed witnessed over LTE: 98.2 Mbps down / 48.5 Mbps up; Average speed over LTE: 72.9 Mbps down / 45.7 Mbps up.
  9. Master Droid
    Bilgediver's Avatar
    Member #
    122836
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    On Board a ship
    Posts
    919
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 1
    #8
    I had no problem in greece, singapore, bahrain, UAE, and Italy getting 3g and 2g.

    Mostly the issue i found was having top add different apn settings.

    Sent from My Droid RAZR MAXX with Tapatalk.
    Droid RAZR MAXX/ DROID 2 Global/ DROID 1 with DROID 2 EXTENDED BATTERY (BP7X - 1860 mAh)
    ICS /Stock 2.2/UltimateDroid 1.0.0
    Stock Kernel/ChevyNo1's ULowV 1.25 GHz kernel
  10. Master Droid
    Bilgediver's Avatar
    Member #
    122836
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    On Board a ship
    Posts
    919
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 1
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Bilgediver View Post
    I had no problem in greece, singapore, bahrain, UAE, and Italy getting 3g and 2g.

    Mostly the issue i found was having top add different apn settings.

    Sent from My Droid RAZR MAXX with Tapatalk.
    I meant with the droid2global that i had.

    Sent from My Droid RAZR MAXX with Tapatalk.
    Droid RAZR MAXX/ DROID 2 Global/ DROID 1 with DROID 2 EXTENDED BATTERY (BP7X - 1860 mAh)
    ICS /Stock 2.2/UltimateDroid 1.0.0
    Stock Kernel/ChevyNo1's ULowV 1.25 GHz kernel
  11. Junior Droid
    aznightshade's Avatar
    Member #
    186015
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    22
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Gasai Yuno View Post
    I use the D2G from Verizon (I'm not a Verizon customer but it matters not when in GSM mode).

    I'm on SoftBank in Japan, and on NWGSM in Russia.

    I get 2G/3G data, no problems, with both SoftBank and NWGSM. MTS, Orange, T-Mobile Germany and Vodafone SIMs also work fine.

    Also, reflashing usually doesn't wipe the /data partition. Flashing the same version of firmware you already have will only replace system partitions and the baseband. You will have to *228 or something, though, to program the phone to use VZW's network.
    That is reassuring, but since you are not current Verizon customer I have one more question: is your D2G rooted? Thanks!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Verizon Droid 2 Global Unlocked
    By Pravesh in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-16-2012, 04:44 AM
  2. Unlocked Druid 2 Global abroad- no data!
    By aznightshade in forum Motorola Droid 2 Global
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 03-17-2012, 08:44 AM
  3. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 01-07-2012, 04:13 PM
  4. Success on rooting Droid 2 Global GB
    By Thelgord in forum Motorola Droid 2 Global Development
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-22-2011, 01:32 AM
  5. Replies: 42
    Last Post: 08-02-2011, 08:13 PM

Search tags for this page

apn setting for droid 2 global on net 10
,
can i unlock old verizon incredible
,
do you have to have a sim card for a droid 2global to use wi
,

droid 2 global sim card

,

droid 2 sim card

,
no sim card error droid 2
,
no sim card for motorola droid 2
,
non verizon sim
,
sim card for droid 2 global
,

unlock droid 2 global verizon

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+