DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Droid 2 Global GPS

  1. Junior Droid
    joshwestbrook's Avatar
    Member #
    253044
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global, Droid X
    #1

    Droid 2 Global GPS

    Hello,

    On my Wife's D2G when trying to use the GPS, it never seems to connect to a satellite or triangulate. I have tried everything I can think of and been searching for a solution for the better part of today. I checked on my DX to confirm it wasn't just a my location, etc... no problems on the DX.

    I tried re-calibration using GPS Test, tried dumping all cache for Maps and any other utility that uses or may have cached GPS in the past. I tried to "Clear AGPS" and "Update AGPS" but that didn't seem to solve my issue either. Tried restarting, pulling the battery, etc. It used to be rooted, but I recently SBF'd back to Froyo and then took the OTA update to 2.3.3 GB.

    The phone:
    System Version: 4.5.608.A956.Verizon.en.US
    Model: DROID2 GLOBAL
    Android Version: 2.3.3
    Baseband: N_01.80.00R -- Is there a new one available?
    Kernel: 2.6.32.9-gb092e69.. blah blah
    Build: 4.5.1_57_D2G-38
    ERI: 5
    PRL: 52644

    Any ideas? I just re-rooted it using D3 Easy Root, Zip aligned all APK's, killed some bloatware. Since I'm rooted, I could probably make some changes to the build.prop, etc if needed. I just need to know where to look

    Thanks for the help!
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    Gasai Yuno's Avatar
    Member #
    188046
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Rausu-cho
    Posts
    759
    Liked
    11 times
    Twitter
    GasaiYuno
    Phone
    Motorola A956
    #2
    This probably means your phone's GPS receiver is simply dead. I can't really think of some other reason for this. My D2G always locks to GPS in 1-2 seconds max when outside (up to 10 minutes if no internet connection is present).
    G. Y.
    Sony LT25i “Tsubasa”, stock, rooted, locked bootloader [Android 4.1.2 “Jelly Bean”].
    Maximum speed witnessed over LTE: 98.2 Mbps down / 48.5 Mbps up; Average speed over LTE: 72.9 Mbps down / 45.7 Mbps up.
  4. Droid Ninja
    themib's Avatar
    Member #
    177165
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    1,408
    Liked
    64 times
    Phone
    Droid X, 2, 2G, X2, D3, D4
    #3
    edit: ok reread your post
    maybe SBF again and wipe your data/cache before and after
    maybe will work
    Last edited by themib; 02-24-2012 at 08:36 PM.
    [ROOT] Framaroot, a one-click .apk to root
    Droid 2 (a955), Droid 2 Global (a956), R2D2 (a957), & Droid X (MB810)

    sd_shadow's (themib) [Collection] of Links: FAQs, Guides, Rooting, SBFs, ROMs... - sites.google.com

    Always in motion is the future
  5. Junior Droid
    joshwestbrook's Avatar
    Member #
    253044
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global, Droid X
    #4
    Thanks for the replies guys. I'll try SBF'ing again and see what happens
  6. Junior Droid
    joshwestbrook's Avatar
    Member #
    253044
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global, Droid X
    #5
    Tried that route of SBF'ing twice. I also tried Liberty3 v2, but accidentally installed the rom for the D2 lol. OOOOOOPS. So, I'm back to stock now after SBF'ing (I'm getting REALLY GOOD at this), but 2 problems:

    - GPS is still not working
    - Looking for "Liberty3D2G-2.0Gold.zip" -- Figured I'd give this a try, but all the sites I've found links for seem to be dead with 404 errors. I even checked on Rummler's page:

    Index of /jrummy/roms/liberty/3

    Thanks guys

    Grr.. this GPS bug is driving me crazy.
  7. Master Droid
    Gasai Yuno's Avatar
    Member #
    188046
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Rausu-cho
    Posts
    759
    Liked
    11 times
    Twitter
    GasaiYuno
    Phone
    Motorola A956
    #6
    I don't think you'll get it working in Liberty. Warranty replacement would be the best idea.

    As for Liberty, I don't even remember an official release of 3.0 for the D2G…
    G. Y.
    Sony LT25i “Tsubasa”, stock, rooted, locked bootloader [Android 4.1.2 “Jelly Bean”].
    Maximum speed witnessed over LTE: 98.2 Mbps down / 48.5 Mbps up; Average speed over LTE: 72.9 Mbps down / 45.7 Mbps up.
  8. Droid Ninja
    themib's Avatar
    Member #
    177165
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    1,408
    Liked
    64 times
    Phone
    Droid X, 2, 2G, X2, D3, D4
    #7
    agree with G Y, a custom rom isn't going to help
    you GPS is broken, if you need it get a different phone
    and sell the old one, on ebay
    [ROOT] Framaroot, a one-click .apk to root
    Droid 2 (a955), Droid 2 Global (a956), R2D2 (a957), & Droid X (MB810)

    sd_shadow's (themib) [Collection] of Links: FAQs, Guides, Rooting, SBFs, ROMs... - sites.google.com

    Always in motion is the future

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Can I disable global switch...? CDMA/Global/GSM
    By dettofatto in forum Motorola Droid 2 Global Development
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-08-2012, 04:35 AM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-18-2011, 01:46 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-17-2011, 02:52 PM
  4. droid 2 global global mode vs. cdma
    By dphelps1 in forum Motorola Droid 2 Global
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-20-2011, 09:07 AM

Search tags for this page

d2g gps not working
,

droid 2 global gps not working

,

droid 2 gps not working

,
droid 2 gps problems
,
droid2 how to turn on gps
,
gps for droid
,
how do you enable gps on droid 2
,

how to enable gps on droid 2

,
how to turn on gps on droid 2 global
,
use gps droid 2
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+