DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Searching for service in France

  1. Droid Newbie
    Mariellen's Avatar
    Member #
    247686
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Droid2 Global
    #1

    Searching for service in France

    Since I landed this morning my Droid2 Global has been "searching for service" or "no service.". I've tried soft reset and power down. What else should I do?
  2. Master Droid
    Gasai Yuno's Avatar
    Member #
    188046
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Rausu-cho
    Posts
    759
    Liked
    11 times
    Twitter
    GasaiYuno
    Phone
    Motorola A956
    #2
    Check that you have the Verizon SIM installed.
    Check that you have the Global access plan enabled.
    Check if Settings, Wireless and Networks, Network Mode is set to Global (or GSM/UMTS, as there are no CDMA carriers in France, to my knowledge).
    G. Y.
    Sony LT25i “Tsubasa”, stock, rooted, locked bootloader [Android 4.1.2 “Jelly Bean”].
    Maximum speed witnessed over LTE: 98.2 Mbps down / 48.5 Mbps up; Average speed over LTE: 72.9 Mbps down / 45.7 Mbps up.
  3. Droid Newbie
    Mariellen's Avatar
    Member #
    247686
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Droid2 Global
    #3

    Searching for service in France

    Quote Originally Posted by Gasai Yuno View Post
    Check that you have the Verizon SIM installed.
    Check that you have the Global access plan enabled.
    Check if Settings, Wireless and Networks, Network Mode is set to Global (or GSM/UMTS, as there are no CDMA carriers in France, to my knowledge).
    Thank you, Gasai. I do have the Verizon SIM card and have set network mode to Global. (I don't find a place to set access plan to Global.)

    I am able to set mode to GSM/UMTS and then select individual networks. I select F SFR 2G and I get the error message "Selected network (F SFR 2G) unavailable". I select F-Bouygues Telecom 2G and a little blue box pops up saying "registered on network" and then I get the error message "selected network (F-Bouygues Telecom 2G) unavailable". I select Orange F 2G and I get the message "selected network (Orange F 2G) unavailable"
  4. Master Droid
    silver6054's Avatar
    Member #
    139110
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    537
    Liked
    12 times
    Phone
    droid 4
    #4
    Did you get Verizon to activate the SIM, by default it is off.

    Quote Originally Posted by Mariellen View Post
    Thank you, Gasai. I do have the Verizon SIM card and have set network mode to Global. (I don't find a place to set access plan to Global.)

    I am able to set mode to GSM/UMTS and then select individual networks. I select F SFR 2G and I get the error message "Selected network (F SFR 2G) unavailable". I select F-Bouygues Telecom 2G and a little blue box pops up saying "registered on network" and then I get the error message "selected network (F-Bouygues Telecom 2G) unavailable". I select Orange F 2G and I get the message "selected network (Orange F 2G) unavailable"
  5. Droid Newbie
    Mariellen's Avatar
    Member #
    247686
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Droid2 Global
    #5

    Searching for service in France

    Quote Originally Posted by silver6054 View Post
    Did you get Verizon to activate the SIM, by default it is off.
    I didn't ask Verizon to reactivate, but this same phone and card worked in France last summer.
  6. Master Droid
    Gasai Yuno's Avatar
    Member #
    188046
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Rausu-cho
    Posts
    759
    Liked
    11 times
    Twitter
    GasaiYuno
    Phone
    Motorola A956
    #6
    You should probably contact Verizon about this.

    Your phone cannot register with the local carriers' networks, which means the SIM is not permitted to roam.
    G. Y.
    Sony LT25i “Tsubasa”, stock, rooted, locked bootloader [Android 4.1.2 “Jelly Bean”].
    Maximum speed witnessed over LTE: 98.2 Mbps down / 48.5 Mbps up; Average speed over LTE: 72.9 Mbps down / 45.7 Mbps up.
  7. Droid Newbie
    Mariellen's Avatar
    Member #
    247686
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Droid2 Global
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Gasai Yuno View Post
    You should probably contact Verizon about this.

    Your phone cannot register with the local carriers' networks, which means the SIM is not permitted to roam.
    Thank you, Gasai. I sent them an email. Will post the result when I have it!
  8. Master Droid
    silver6054's Avatar
    Member #
    139110
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    537
    Liked
    12 times
    Phone
    droid 4
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Mariellen View Post
    I didn't ask Verizon to reactivate, but this same phone and card worked in France last summer.
    I don't know if the activation times out after a period of non-use (or when the international plan is removed). Is the phone unlocked, in which case you can try using a local SIM.
  9. Junior Droid
    SJWackness's Avatar
    Member #
    197882
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    9
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #9
    Every time I go abroad I've got to ring Verizon before hand and tell them I'm leaving the country. I moved permanently out of the country this time and forgot to do the *611 or whatever the code is to activate the SIM. Your man at Verizon said I can't activate my SIM now because it must be done within Verizon's network. It didn't really affect me as I was cancelling my account anyway.

    Also, every time I've gone abroad it takes ages for the phone to register with the first foreign network. My BlackBerry and Droid usually take an hour or two, but my BlackBerry once took a day.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Searching for service, no SIM card...?
    By bcd1 in forum Droid RAZR
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-13-2011, 07:52 PM
  2. Motorola droid searching for service
    By Indy in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-07-2011, 09:47 PM
  3. Does your Charge run very hot when searching for service?
    By Vidguy7 in forum Samsung Droid Charge
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-15-2011, 07:09 PM
  4. Searching for Service
    By liam. in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-06-2010, 11:53 PM
  5. Searching for Service AGAIN
    By Steve H in forum Off Topic Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-22-2010, 08:18 AM

Search tags for this page

a956 searching for service
,

droid 4 in france

,
droid global settings for phone service in france
,

droid searching for service

,
no service select a network sfr unavailable
,

selected network orange unavailable

,
verizon global no service at home
,
verizon no service global mode
,

verizon no service in france

,
verizon selected network unavailable
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+