DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!

Thread: Attempting to understand NV on D2G

1. Junior Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Droid2 Global

Attempting to understand NV on D2G

Just to make sure I can differentiate and understand the storage capabilities of my D2G before I start editing the values for the radio or any thing else please verify if you could that what I post is correct. And backup questions

Phone Storage 8gb, file systems I see from mount: vfat, ext3, tmpfs, rootfs, devpts, cgroup, pds

What file systems are stored on the NV - and why so many different mounts on my little gadget... ?

I will look them all up but if you can point me in the right direction on what mounts have anything to do with NV
    that could help me.

Nvram = eeprom?? , are the values on this device stored in exact addresses corresponding to how they will be accessed.

SdCard 8-32gb, vfat

I studied a little about FFS used on some routers, was recently curious if my phone used that but it appears not...

Ok now the hard question, can I read the whole entirety of the NVRAM bit by bit and place it in an image file of sorts for a backup. When in sbf boot mode can I read anything or is it write only? In that mode; it is recognized as a flash device.

I hope I can retrieve the boot loader (image)code itself, maybe push my device in hardware diagnostic mode for a patch cable or something.

Need more information sizes and stuff if I am putting something on here; I want to know where to start and stop. Will scrub the forums for all information I can find.

Is there some place I might be able to find a list of drivers that have been reverse engineered, which ones haven't and which ones are open source..