DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Forgot to *228 before leaving US

  1. Junior Droid
    Kgoerz's Avatar
    Member #
    172268
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #1

    Forgot to *228 before leaving US

    I'm currently in India (I live in US and have Verizon).

    I am in a CDMA area (Mumbai) but can't register onto their network.

    I assume it's because I forgot to *228 and pick option 2 before I left.

    Question: is there anything I can do now (I just want to be able to SMS and make emergency calls), or can my phone ONLY be programmed for roaming coverage while on Verizon's network?

    Note: I didn't have this problem when I came here a few months back, but I have SBF'd and switched to CM7 ROM since then (and have not done *228 since)

    Thanks, all.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  2. Master Droid
    silver6054's Avatar
    Member #
    139110
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    537
    Liked
    12 times
    Phone
    droid 4
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by Kgoerz View Post
    I'm currently in India (I live in US and have Verizon).

    I am in a CDMA area (Mumbai) but can't register onto their network.

    I assume it's because I forgot to *228 and pick option 2 before I left.

    Question: is there anything I can do now (I just want to be able to SMS and make emergency calls), or can my phone ONLY be programmed for roaming coverage while on Verizon's network?

    Note: I didn't have this problem when I came here a few months back, but I have SBF'd and switched to CM7 ROM since then (and have not done *228 since)

    Thanks, all.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
    I would call them collect, +1 908 559 4899 (assuming you have another phone you can borrow/use!) to ask. All the instructions suggest that you must call before you leave, so you might be out of luck doing that. Is the phone unlocked? If so, you can go the GSM route using e.g. Vodafone/Airtel/Reliance/Aircel. Verizon Global Services should be able to give you the unlock code even though you are out of the country. This assumes that your version of CM7 works well with GSM.
  3. Master Droid
    Gasai Yuno's Avatar
    Member #
    188046
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Rausu-cho
    Posts
    759
    Liked
    11 times
    Twitter
    GasaiYuno
    Phone
    Motorola A956
    #3
    *228 will only work within VZW's coverage area. It's a carrier-provided service.
    G. Y.
    Sony LT25i “Tsubasa”, stock, rooted, locked bootloader [Android 4.1.2 “Jelly Bean”].
    Maximum speed witnessed over LTE: 98.2 Mbps down / 48.5 Mbps up; Average speed over LTE: 72.9 Mbps down / 45.7 Mbps up.
  4. Super Moderator
    X_TAC23's Avatar
    Member #
    45686
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    deep in the heart of texas
    Posts
    1,790
    Liked
    15 times
    Twitter
    jbyrd0514
    Phone
    BIONIC
    Premium Member
    #4
    ^ yep, even if you did that before you left your network would still drop when you left the US.

    sent from the droid that controls everything
  5. Master Droid
    Gasai Yuno's Avatar
    Member #
    188046
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Rausu-cho
    Posts
    759
    Liked
    11 times
    Twitter
    GasaiYuno
    Phone
    Motorola A956
    #5
    The question is whether that *228 2 loads a complete PRL with worldwide CDMA networks listed, or you need to contact VZW Global Support to enable uploading that complete PRL to your phone.
    G. Y.
    Sony LT25i “Tsubasa”, stock, rooted, locked bootloader [Android 4.1.2 “Jelly Bean”].
    Maximum speed witnessed over LTE: 98.2 Mbps down / 48.5 Mbps up; Average speed over LTE: 72.9 Mbps down / 45.7 Mbps up.
  6. Senior Droid
    juv3's Avatar
    Member #
    183255
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    114
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid2G
    #6
    If u can't activate it you can use the phone to make phonecalls with an App called NetTalk... its 100% free but you have to connect to Wifi to us it. To send and receive messages also connected to Wifi u can use TextPlus app

    Sent from Droid2 Global GB.607 Using Tapatalk

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Forgot the name of this app please name this app
    By rcjames in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-11-2011, 04:19 PM
  2. Been here forgot to do this!
    By ypsichick in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-23-2010, 10:49 PM
  3. Forgot to Introduce Myself
    By mozicodo in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-14-2010, 10:47 AM
  4. Forgot how to delete possible bad app
    By Rogerdodger in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-30-2010, 04:19 AM
  5. forgot to do one of these...
    By FSTTYMS in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-14-2010, 06:45 PM

Search tags for this page

*228 verizon

,
*228 verizon india
,
*228 verizon international
,
forgot to dial *228
,

verizon *228

,
verizon *228 option 2
,
verizon 228
,
verizon 228 option 2 international
,
verizon international *228
,
verizon international 228 option 2
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+