DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Overseas help

  1. Junior Droid
    stanley618's Avatar
    Member #
    203637
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    South Korea
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    droid 2 global
    #1

    Overseas help

    I have a rooted D2G. I am currently in South Korea. I will be traveling to other places like Singapore. I have inserted a sim card from South Korea and it does not read. Is there any thing i can do? i have the unlock code from verizon.
  2. Master Droid
    Gasai Yuno's Avatar
    Member #
    188046
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Rausu-cho
    Posts
    759
    Liked
    11 times
    Twitter
    GasaiYuno
    Phone
    Motorola A956
    #2
    Did you switch the phone to GSM mode?

    Does it say “No SIM card” or something like that?

    If so, contact the carrier for a replacement, your SIM card is probably dead.
    G. Y.
    Sony LT25i “Tsubasa”, stock, rooted, locked bootloader [Android 4.1.2 “Jelly Bean”].
    Maximum speed witnessed over LTE: 98.2 Mbps down / 48.5 Mbps up; Average speed over LTE: 72.9 Mbps down / 45.7 Mbps up.
  3. Junior Droid
    stanley618's Avatar
    Member #
    203637
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    South Korea
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    droid 2 global
    #3
    When i switched the mode to GSM, it goes to a different menu. With the options to search for networks. after i search i find one network. Then after i connect to it around 2-3 mins it says asks to switch to global. I have trying in many different locations and it still does the same thing.
  4. Master Droid
    Gasai Yuno's Avatar
    Member #
    188046
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Rausu-cho
    Posts
    759
    Liked
    11 times
    Twitter
    GasaiYuno
    Phone
    Motorola A956
    #4
    Please confirm that you're on stock firmware.
    Did you already enter the SIM unlock code provided by Verizon? When the phone sees a “foreign SIM”, it asks for the unlock code unless it was unlocked already.

    By the way, does the phone ask for SIM PIN (if the SIM is PIN-locked) when you power it on?

    Also try doing the following:

    1. Make sure the phone is in GSM mode.
    2. Power off and pull the battery out for a minute.
    3. Make sure the SIM card is in place.
    4. Place the battery back and power on.

    Also, the phone should be in Automatic network search mode. You don't need to select the GSM network by hand. If your carrier's network is unreachable, it will offer you to switch to Global mode.

    The fact that you only see one network is very suspicious, too.
    G. Y.
    Sony LT25i “Tsubasa”, stock, rooted, locked bootloader [Android 4.1.2 “Jelly Bean”].
    Maximum speed witnessed over LTE: 98.2 Mbps down / 48.5 Mbps up; Average speed over LTE: 72.9 Mbps down / 45.7 Mbps up.
  5. Junior Droid
    stanley618's Avatar
    Member #
    203637
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    South Korea
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    droid 2 global
    #5
    I am on stock firmware.
    I have not entered the unlock code yet cause it hasnt asked for it. It never asked for an unlock code or SIM PIN.
    I tried that still the same thing.
  6. Master Droid
    Gasai Yuno's Avatar
    Member #
    188046
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Rausu-cho
    Posts
    759
    Liked
    11 times
    Twitter
    GasaiYuno
    Phone
    Motorola A956
    #6
    Well either it is unlocked already and the SIM has no PIN lock set up, or the SIM card inside is that Verizon/Vodafone one. Or the phone is, well, malfunctioning.

    As far as I recall, it won't allow you to switch it to GSM mode if there's no SIM card installed.

    If the phone is already unlocked and the SIM card doesn't have a PIN lock set up, granted the phone is functioning properly, the carrier's network is unavailable at your location.

    There is another possibility though. Have you ever been to the service menu? It has that dreaded “USA Band” option in GSM configuration which totally kills the radio module.
    G. Y.
    Sony LT25i “Tsubasa”, stock, rooted, locked bootloader [Android 4.1.2 “Jelly Bean”].
    Maximum speed witnessed over LTE: 98.2 Mbps down / 48.5 Mbps up; Average speed over LTE: 72.9 Mbps down / 45.7 Mbps up.
  7. Junior Droid
    stanley618's Avatar
    Member #
    203637
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    South Korea
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    droid 2 global
    #7
    I have a korea sim installed. i talked to the company i bought it from and they told me that their sim cards wont work in phones from the states. Is there anyone knows anything about this?
    Last edited by stanley618; 07-28-2011 at 01:32 PM.
  8. Junior Droid
    dobosininja's Avatar
    Member #
    202600
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Japan (military)
    Posts
    9
    Phone
    INC2
    #8
    I am in japan using a softbank sim card. When we first got the phone we put the sim card in and it asked for the unlock code. You can also go to the security menu and see if it is locked from there. I had to edit a file in the system/etc folder to get the network to show up as it needed the correct apn.

    Sent from my HTC S710d using DroidForums
  9. Master Droid
    Gasai Yuno's Avatar
    Member #
    188046
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Rausu-cho
    Posts
    759
    Liked
    11 times
    Twitter
    GasaiYuno
    Phone
    Motorola A956
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by stanley618 View Post
    I have a korea sim installed. i talked to the company i bought it from and they told me that their sim cards wont work in phones from the states. Is there anyone knows anything about this?
    Which Korean carrier are you talking about?

    Also yeah, I also use Softbank and it just works. Didn't have to edit anything, though — just added the APNs via Settings.
    G. Y.
    Sony LT25i “Tsubasa”, stock, rooted, locked bootloader [Android 4.1.2 “Jelly Bean”].
    Maximum speed witnessed over LTE: 98.2 Mbps down / 48.5 Mbps up; Average speed over LTE: 72.9 Mbps down / 45.7 Mbps up.
  10. Junior Droid
    stanley618's Avatar
    Member #
    203637
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    South Korea
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    droid 2 global
    #10
    I got the sim card thro SKT.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Overseas and updates
    By sixstringedmatt in forum Motorola Droid 2 Global
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-06-2011, 07:27 AM
  2. Overseas use.
    By the5barrons in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-10-2011, 06:05 AM
  3. Need help ... overseas
    By weezy352 in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-15-2010, 08:40 PM
  4. Using the Droid overseas....
    By javapop in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-23-2010, 06:58 PM
  5. Question about going overseas
    By SSHGuru in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-24-2010, 09:49 PM

Search tags for this page

can i unlock a droid to use in south korea?
,
droid 2 compatible in korea
,
droid 2 global singapore
,
droid 2 no sim card message
,
droid 2 shows no sim card but sim card is installed
,
motorola droid 2 global unlock singapore
,
motorola droid 2 south korea
,

motorola droid global 2 overseas

,
no sim card motorola droid x
,
will my droid x work in south korea
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+