DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: help with sim use in Europe

  1. Droid Newbie
    jenli's Avatar
    Member #
    181669
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    D2G
    #1

    help with sim use in Europe

    I am traveling in Europe, unlocked two stock D2Gs in US,
    bought two Bouygues sim cards in France, tried to use in
    Austria under roaming, but...

    phone A calls phone B, phone B shows incoming call,
    when answered, no sound is heard on either phone.
    Same if phone B calls phone A.

    Calls to/from Austrian number has same problem,
    no sound is heard.

    Both A and B shows T-Mobile as roaming partner.
    SMS works without problem.

    Anyone seen similar problem ?

    Thanks in advance.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    leobg's Avatar
    Member #
    75942
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    658
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Droid2 Global/XT860 4G(D3)
    #2
    Try switching to 2G (gsm only) mode. My D2g was also doing some freaky things wile on 3G in Europe. Switching to 2G solves all communication and sound quality issues..

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using Tapatalk
  4. Master Droid
    silver6054's Avatar
    Member #
    139110
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    537
    Liked
    12 times
    Phone
    droid 4
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by jenli View Post
    I am traveling in Europe, unlocked two stock D2Gs in US,
    bought two Bouygues sim cards in France, tried to use in
    Austria under roaming, but...

    phone A calls phone B, phone B shows incoming call,
    when answered, no sound is heard on either phone.
    Same if phone B calls phone A.

    Calls to/from Austrian number has same problem,
    no sound is heard.

    Both A and B shows T-Mobile as roaming partner.
    SMS works without problem.

    Anyone seen similar problem ?

    Thanks in advance.
    Did things work OK when in France?
  5. Droid Newbie
    jenli's Avatar
    Member #
    181669
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    D2G
    #4
    Yes...it worked in France. Here is an update, I followed the recommendation
    of leobg and set to GSM only, not UMTS. One phone seems to work calling
    local Austrian numbers, but the other phone still not working. I am now
    wondering the second phone is defective...the second phone was a refurb
    from Verizon about 6 months ago.

    Heck of a time to find out...
  6. Master Droid
    Byakushiki's Avatar
    Member #
    199231
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Usea
    Posts
    864
    Liked
    7 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus 32GB
    #5
    It most likely is. Refurbs tend to have horrible quality thanks to the company that refurbishes phones for verizon's poor quality control.
  7. Master Droid
    leobg's Avatar
    Member #
    75942
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    658
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Droid2 Global/XT860 4G(D3)
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by jenli View Post
    Yes...it worked in France. Here is an update, I followed the recommendation
    of leobg and set to GSM only, not UMTS. One phone seems to work calling
    local Austrian numbers, but the other phone still not working. I am now
    wondering the second phone is defective...the second phone was a refurb
    from Verizon about 6 months ago.

    Heck of a time to find out...
    Make sure assisted dialling is off. This is very important. Or phone will try to add prefix to the numbers you dial and sure enough nothing will work if you don't use Verizon's SIM (and you are not). This is one of the features to "help" users dial international numbers while roaming using the American standards (011+number etc). Switch assisted dialling off and make sure you dial the number the way operator your are using is expecting.

    Settings, Call settings, Assited dialing - uncheck assisted dialing status.
    Last edited by leobg; 07-22-2011 at 09:21 AM.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Thunderbolt in Europe
    By Parafly9 in forum HTC ThunderBolt
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-15-2011, 06:33 PM
  2. using droid x in europe
    By Gnana in forum Droid X Tech Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-05-2011, 07:45 AM
  3. SKYPE in Europe
    By blakebritton in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-11-2010, 05:01 PM
  4. europe
    By XMan74 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-10-2010, 08:05 PM
  5. Calls in Europe
    By Royal2000H in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-19-2010, 11:47 AM

Search tags for this page

android 2 use in europe
,
can i use droid 3 in europe
,

droid 3 europe

,
droid 3 europe sim
,
droid 3 european sim
,

droid 3 in europe

,
droid 3 work in europe
,
how to use droid 3 in europe
,

using droid 3 in europe

,

using verizon droid 3 in europe

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+