DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Droid 2 Global on Roshan

  1. Droid Newbie
    LOLDSFAN's Avatar
    Member #
    205673
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Motorola Droid X
    #1

    Droid 2 Global on Roshan

    Hi, so my dad was sent to Afghanistan a few weeks ago, and they gave them these cheap phones that work on the Roshan network. He would like to have a better phone, so we figured we would get him a Verizon phone so he could use it there, then use it here when he comes back.

    Now the question is. Would the Droid 2 Global be able to work on a Roshan Sim Card? I asked Verizon directly, but they said no. Then I do these Google searches and some say yes.

    I just need a definite answer.

    Thanks for the help.
  2. Senior Droid
    phalstead's Avatar
    Member #
    39267
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    144
    Phone
    Motorola Droid X - CM7
    #2
    When I was there, people had all sorts of phones on the Roshan network. I don't see why it wouldnt work. You'd have to get an unlock code from Verizon so it could be activated with a Roshan sim. Did they detail why it wouldn't work?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  3. Droid Newbie
    LOLDSFAN's Avatar
    Member #
    205673
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Motorola Droid X
    #3
    No they didn't go into detail, they just said it wouldn't. I probably should have dug deeper :/

    But yeah I would probably be getting an unlocked one from ebay so I shouldn't have to worry about the code I think.
  4. Master Droid
    aDroidman's Avatar
    Member #
    94335
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    344
    Phone
    Android
    #4
    it should work. Verizon says no because they want you to pay them. The D2G can be unlocked and I know that most sim cards will work with it. If it does not work im sure you can post in the forums and someone can help you trouble shoot it and try and make it work.
    Rooted OG Droid
    Bugless GPA 16

    Droid "Bionic" next phone
  5. Droid Newbie
    flipdrew's Avatar
    Member #
    208401
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Oregon/Afghanistan
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #5
    I have a Droid 2 Global that I am currently running on the Roshan network in Afghanistan. The only catch is (and this is important) you have to have the Verizon store call in and get the unlock code in order for the Roshan SIM card to work. They do it for free, but you have to tell them to do it because most of them don't even know it's an option. The Roshan SIM won't work in Verizon's phone without the unlock code because they want you to buy a global plan so they can charge you $3/min to call the guy in the next room. It IS possible and they CAN unlock it. If thy say that they can't, ask someone else until you find someone that knows what they're talking about.
  6. Junior Droid
    islandak's Avatar
    Member #
    92592
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    25
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #6
    Also, you need to do the unlock while in the USA. As far as I understand, once you are out of the country you can't get an unlock code. I have had two D2Gs sim unlocked.
  7. Master Droid
    Gasai Yuno's Avatar
    Member #
    188046
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Rausu-cho
    Posts
    759
    Liked
    11 times
    Twitter
    GasaiYuno
    Phone
    Motorola A956
    #7
    It doesn't matter if you're in the USA or not. The unlock code does not require you to be on Verizon's network or any other network at all; it can be entered into a phone running in Airplane mode just as well.
    G. Y.
    Sony LT25i “Tsubasa”, stock, rooted, locked bootloader [Android 4.1.2 “Jelly Bean”].
    Maximum speed witnessed over LTE: 98.2 Mbps down / 48.5 Mbps up; Average speed over LTE: 72.9 Mbps down / 45.7 Mbps up.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. App use with Roshan sim card
    By Kitulu in forum Motorola Droid 2 Global
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-03-2011, 03:04 AM
  2. Why or wy not Droid 2 Global?
    By supermaughan in forum Motorola Droid 2 Global
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-29-2011, 09:29 AM
  3. Droid Global 2
    By desjohnson24 in forum Motorola Droid 2
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-29-2011, 12:12 PM
  4. droid 2 global global mode vs. cdma
    By dphelps1 in forum Motorola Droid 2 Global
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-20-2011, 09:07 AM
  5. Droid 2 Global
    By dipsetdiplomat in forum Droid 2 Roms
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-12-2010, 11:13 PM

Search tags for this page

how to use a roshan sim card in a verizon phone
,
htc rezound in afghanistan
,

roshan phones

,

roshan unlock code

,
unlock droid bionic to work on roshan
,
using droid phone in afghanistan
,
verizon phone work on roshan
,
what phone works on roshan
,

what phones work with roshan

,
will the droid 2 global work in afghanistan
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+