DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Phone reboots while trying to *228 and enable global roaming

  1. Junior Droid
    Kgoerz's Avatar
    Member #
    172268
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #1

    Phone reboots while trying to *228 and enable global roaming

    First, here's what I have:
    rooted D2G running Fission 2.4.3

    I will be traveling out of the country tomorrow (I live in the US) and wanted to enable global service (using the Verizon-provided SIM) so I contacted Verizon and added the necessary items to my plan.

    At the end of the call, she said I'll need to dial *228 and press option 2 to enable global roaming.

    Problem: Whenever I dial *228, it immediately starts trying to program my phone (without me pressing anything) and after 20 seconds or so my phone reboots. No message saying that it succeeded or not (I assume not).

    Questions: Does rooting\ROMing the phone prevent OTA programming from working? Is this the expected behavior? Is there a workaround?
    I'd sure hate to be in Vietnam this weekend without any phone service...

    Thanks in advance.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    Gasai Yuno's Avatar
    Member #
    188046
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Rausu-cho
    Posts
    759
    Liked
    11 times
    Twitter
    GasaiYuno
    Phone
    Motorola A956
    #2
    *228 will only work for you inside Verizon's coverage area.
    What the operator meant is programming the global roaming network frequency list for CDMA.

    You should be able to use GSM with the provided Vodafone SIM as long as Verizon has the Global services activated for your account (meaning the SIM is allowed to roam in their database). There is no programming required for this; GSM does not need network frequency databases to properly support roaming.

    However, if you want to use local carriers' SIM cards, you will need to call Global Support and request an unlock code (also known as “subsidy code”) from them.
    G. Y.
    Sony LT25i “Tsubasa”, stock, rooted, locked bootloader [Android 4.1.2 “Jelly Bean”].
    Maximum speed witnessed over LTE: 98.2 Mbps down / 48.5 Mbps up; Average speed over LTE: 72.9 Mbps down / 45.7 Mbps up.
  4. Junior Droid
    Kgoerz's Avatar
    Member #
    172268
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #3
    Thanks for the reply. A couple of clarifications:

    1. I AM still in the US and inside Verizon's coverage area, so I'm still wondering why my phone reboots while 'reprogramming'.

    2. I'm told that Vietnam DOES use CDMA and that this is likely the service that I'll be using when I go over there, so it seems that I do need to update my phone's programming to enable global CDMA usage...
  5. Master Droid
    Gasai Yuno's Avatar
    Member #
    188046
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Rausu-cho
    Posts
    759
    Liked
    11 times
    Twitter
    GasaiYuno
    Phone
    Motorola A956
    #4
    Then indeed the custom ROM might be somehow interfering with VZW's *228 service.

    Vietnam has both CDMA and GSM available; the prices for both are the same, so even if you don't manage to get the updated PRL you will be safe with using GSM.

    Also, even if your PRL doesn't get updated, you will still get CDMA roaming in Vietnam; PRL updates are needed to make sure the phone chooses the most cost-effective network to roam in. I'm not sure if Vietnam even has multiple CDMA carriers at all, however.
    G. Y.
    Sony LT25i “Tsubasa”, stock, rooted, locked bootloader [Android 4.1.2 “Jelly Bean”].
    Maximum speed witnessed over LTE: 98.2 Mbps down / 48.5 Mbps up; Average speed over LTE: 72.9 Mbps down / 45.7 Mbps up.
  6. Droid Newbie
    spectraphysics's Avatar
    Member #
    77439
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Dinc2
    #5
    I'm running stock and this same thing happened to me when I was trying to program a new d2g for a d2g that got a glass of water spilled on it this weekend. I changed out the MEID online and then dialed *228 and then 1 to program. It would get half way through and then reboot, unprogrammed. The first time this happened, I turned off wifi and tried again and all went well. After the first phone dried out, I had the same problem going back. However, many *228 attempts later, it finally went through.
  7. Junior Droid
    Kgoerz's Avatar
    Member #
    172268
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #6
    Thanks for the help, guys.
    I followed your example and just kept trying (calling* 228) and on about the 9th try it finally completed without rebooting.

    Off to Vietnam...

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  8. Senior Droid
    keolawills's Avatar
    Member #
    185070
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Lake Tahoe, CA
    Posts
    249
    Phone
    Angellic Droid 2 Global
    #7
    I am running angelrom and I tried to update my satellites(option 2) but the dialpad doesn't show when I dial *228. Also with fenom I tried to activate my other d2g but same thing, no dialpad. I had to restore stock nandroid to activate phones.

    my ANGEL blacked out
  9. Junior Droid
    Kgoerz's Avatar
    Member #
    172268
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #8
    keolawills - this stumped me too until I realized that the '2' on the D2G's slide-out keyboard works as well...

    No on-screen dialpad needed.
  10. Master Droid
    silver6054's Avatar
    Member #
    139110
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    537
    Liked
    12 times
    Phone
    droid 4
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Gasai Yuno View Post
    Then indeed the custom ROM might be somehow interfering with VZW's *228 service.

    Vietnam has both CDMA and GSM available; the prices for both are the same, so even if you don't manage to get the updated PRL you will be safe with using GSM.

    Also, even if your PRL doesn't get updated, you will still get CDMA roaming in Vietnam; PRL updates are needed to make sure the phone chooses the most cost-effective network to roam in. I'm not sure if Vietnam even has multiple CDMA carriers at all, however.
    Others might disagree, but in my view, if you plan to use GSM, especially with a foreign SIM, use stock for the duration of the trip. We see a lot of reports of issues (getting voice but not data etc) with various SIMs, so running non-stock is just one additional variable that makes things harder to get help from Verizon (which might not be worth all that much of course) and others. Stock isn't SO horrible that it will ruin your trip!
  11. Master Droid
    gsdreams's Avatar
    Member #
    191930
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    296
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2 Global
    #10
    You do have to program the phone, and it should have been option 1 not 2, but 2 does tend to work. Option 1 is the one that tells your phone what features are allowed.

    And even if you are going outside the country and using gsm you will still need to program the phone so it know you can make international calls.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using Tapatalk
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Droid 4G/LTE for Verizon - with Global Roaming (GSM)?
    By bchandler02 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-20-2011, 10:30 AM
  2. New Droid 2 Global -- Random Reboots already???
    By kijutsu in forum Droid 2 Tech Issues
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-11-2011, 11:03 PM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-16-2011, 08:36 AM
  4. Droid 2 Global Data Roaming?
    By winfrey717 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-02-2010, 11:08 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-28-2010, 01:12 AM

Search tags for this page

#228 verizon
,

*228 verizon

,
*228 verizon international
,
activate roaming verizon
,
how to activate international roaming on verizon
,
verizon #228
,
verizon *228
,
verizon activate international roaming
,
verizon global activation
,
verizon international roaming *228
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+