DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26

Thread: Duplicate Contacts

  1. Junior Droid
    NJnewdroider's Avatar
    Member #
    183692
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Bergen County, NJ
    Posts
    17
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #11
    Okay, I'll give it a try. Is there a way to turn backup assistant off or do I have to have both things happen; sync via gmail and backup assistant?
  2. Junior Droid
    NJnewdroider's Avatar
    Member #
    183692
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Bergen County, NJ
    Posts
    17
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #12
    I checked "sync" with gmail contacts and then chose "sync" now. Went into google contacts and noting's there. I feel foolish, but did I do something wrong? Thanks again for all of your help!
  3. Senior Droid
    lerit50's Avatar
    Member #
    66780
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    159
    Phone
    Droid1 Rooted... testing roms
    #13
    Quote Originally Posted by NJnewdroider View Post
    I checked "sync" with gmail contacts and then chose "sync" now. Went into google contacts and noting's there. I feel foolish, but did I do something wrong? Thanks again for all of your help!
    You also have to wait for it to sync.

    Are all your contacts synced with google?

    Comin' atcha from my fission'ed d2g
    Droid2 GLOBAL
  4. Junior Droid
    NJnewdroider's Avatar
    Member #
    183692
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Bergen County, NJ
    Posts
    17
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #14
    On my phone, it says the contacts were synched. In google, it's empty.
  5. Senior Droid
    lerit50's Avatar
    Member #
    66780
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    159
    Phone
    Droid1 Rooted... testing roms
    #15
    Quote Originally Posted by NJnewdroider View Post
    On my phone, it says the contacts were synched. In google, it's empty.
    that's because all your contacts would need to be manually transferred over. backup assistant won't sync contacts to google, so you need to do that part yourself, but it is worth it in my opinion.
    Droid2 GLOBAL
  6. Junior Droid
    NJnewdroider's Avatar
    Member #
    183692
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Bergen County, NJ
    Posts
    17
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #16
    Ah, that makes sense. Thanks.
  7. Senior Droid
    chrisl20's Avatar
    Member #
    172959
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    wichita, ks
    Posts
    175
    Twitter
    skynyrd420
    Phone
    d2g, thunderbolt, xoom
    #17
    ...I've never had to do that...and I've got sooo many new phone/rooted/rom'd/sbfd a ridiculous amount...and all I've ever had to do was sign nto my gmail account and the great programming of google aided me automaticly
  8. Junior Droid
    NJnewdroider's Avatar
    Member #
    183692
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Bergen County, NJ
    Posts
    17
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #18
    I'd love it if google would automatically sync my contacts from my phone right to my google account. I can't imagine typing all 398 of them myself. Seems very "yesterday" to me.
  9. Senior Droid
    lerit50's Avatar
    Member #
    66780
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    159
    Phone
    Droid1 Rooted... testing roms
    #19
    Quote Originally Posted by chrisl20 View Post
    ...I've never had to do that...and I've got sooo many new phone/rooted/rom'd/sbfd a ridiculous amount...and all I've ever had to do was sign nto my gmail account and the great programming of google aided me automaticly
    When you first got your phone, how did you add contacts then?

    When I first got my droid back in Nov '09 I have to manually add the contacts to my account, but now they sync every time I do something with my phone.
    Droid2 GLOBAL
  10. Droid Ninja
    Xplorer4x4's Avatar
    Member #
    45078
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Evansville,IN
    Posts
    1,007
    Liked
    11 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2 Global
    #20
    Quote Originally Posted by lerit50 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by NJnewdroider View Post
    Do you think it's better to sync via gmail than backup assistant?
    Yes. If you plan on being on a smartphone from here on out it is better because even blackberrys and iphones have the ability to sync everything via google (mail, calender, contacts etc)

    Comin' atcha from my fission'ed d2g
    Not natively though like android.

    Quote Originally Posted by NJnewdroider View Post
    I'd love it if google would automatically sync my contacts from my phone right to my google account. I can't imagine typing all 398 of them myself. Seems very "yesterday" to me.
    https://market.android.com/details?i...backupcontacts
    This will pull all your phone numbers stored in the device itself. It will not pull contacts phone numbers that are placed in your contacts list from facebook though. Anyways then grab the csv file from your sd card and placer it on your PC. Now log in to gmail an import the csv file.
    How to SBF your D2G in Windows!
    How to SBF your D2G in Linux!


    Retired Devices:Last Used Rom
    Motorola Backflip : Cyanogenmod 7
    Droid 2 Global : AOKP Build 39
    Current Device:Current Roms
    Droid Razr Maxx HD : Fuzion

    I do NOT offer help through PM. Sorry!
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Contacts - gmail link - duplicate entries
    By mtlue5 in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-13-2011, 07:26 PM
  2. Duplicate Contacts
    By SorenW in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-15-2010, 08:34 PM
  3. Duplicate contacts in Dialer
    By Dreambuilder in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-03-2010, 02:13 PM
  4. Duplicate contacts after sync with Gmail
    By djsexton11 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-10-2010, 10:11 AM
  5. Duplicate contacts when using shortcut widget
    By Wolfwise in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-25-2009, 07:07 PM

Search tags for this page

contacts
,
delete duplicate contacts droid razr
,
delete incredible 2 duplicate contacts
,

droid charge duplicate contacts

,
droid charge multiple contacts
,

duplicate contacts on incredible 2

,
how do i get rid of double contacts with backup assistant
,

how to delete duplicate contacts on droid

,

samsung charge duplicate contacts

,
what is the best program to remove duplicate contacts on my
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+