DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Int'l Roaming (No 3g - limited Edge connection?) Help

  1. Junior Droid
    Sagnew's Avatar
    Member #
    178002
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #1

    Int'l Roaming (No 3g - limited Edge connection?) Help

    Hello -
    Have a Droid 2 Global and have been traveling around Asia for the last 3 months. During this time I would estimate that 50% of the time I am unable to establish a data connection, and if I do...it's what I assume is the Edge network? (there is the E icon in the upper right). Never 3G. There are times that I will show a full five bars of service but will not be able to pull any data for hours - then suddenly, out of nowhere I will have a data connection.

    I have all three data options tuned on (from Data Delivery), GSM/UMTS selected as the Network Mode, and "Select Automatically" selected for the operator selection. I have manually selected various 3G networks, but can never connect to the,.

    Two questions. One - should I be able to use data no matter where I am if I am showing a 5 bar connection? Two - Is there any setting that I am missing to enable 3G while roaming internationally.

    Any help is greatly appreciated!

    Ps. I am very lucky having signed up for the VZW unlimited global data package during it's last few days.
  2. Droid
    haro's Avatar
    Member #
    59387
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    37
    Phone
    Motorola Milestone 2.1 (asia)
    #2
    Did u set ur apn correctly?
    Did u check battery manager?
    Do a battery pull out reboot wit simkad removed n reinsert after a few minute..

    Sent from my bloATED D2G on Tapatalk
  3. Junior Droid
    Sagnew's Avatar
    Member #
    178002
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #3
    Yes to pulling battery and battery manager

    But I am unfamiliar with the APN settings.
    Currently I am given two options :
    emgsm.vzw3g.com
    and
    dungsm.vzw3g.com

    Should I be adding another one ?
  4. Master Droid
    silver6054's Avatar
    Member #
    139110
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    537
    Liked
    12 times
    Phone
    droid 4
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Sagnew View Post
    Hello -
    Have a Droid 2 Global and have been traveling around Asia for the last 3 months. During this time I would estimate that 50% of the time I am unable to establish a data connection, and if I do...it's what I assume is the Edge network? (there is the E icon in the upper right). Never 3G. There are times that I will show a full five bars of service but will not be able to pull any data for hours - then suddenly, out of nowhere I will have a data connection.

    I have all three data options tuned on (from Data Delivery), GSM/UMTS selected as the Network Mode, and "Select Automatically" selected for the operator selection. I have manually selected various 3G networks, but can never connect to the,.

    Two questions. One - should I be able to use data no matter where I am if I am showing a 5 bar connection? Two - Is there any setting that I am missing to enable 3G while roaming internationally.

    Any help is greatly appreciated!

    Ps. I am very lucky having signed up for the VZW unlimited global data package during it's last few days.
    Well, the number of bars is signal strength, not an indication of 3G or otherwise, so it is possible that you are sometimes in areas where there is no 3G data. (The VZ blurb says the phone works in over 220 countries with 3G data in 125 of them, but of course even within the 125 countries there will be regions of no coverage).

    That said, some people have reported issues with using both local and the VZ SIM. Have you tried contacting Global Services?
  5. Junior Droid
    freightdog's Avatar
    Member #
    150571
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    12
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #5
    I have the same problem, losing data service often, and weak, marginal signal most of the time. I am not often in the sticks, this is in large cities. I had a blackberry prior to this and had very strong signal and no data service losses in all the same places. I also have a company blackberry with me all the time and while it is on a different network, it has rock solid full bar signal in the same places where the droid 2 global is losing data service constantly. Could it be a problem with the gsm antenna or chip on these phones?
  6. Droid Newbie
    bretto99's Avatar
    Member #
    192990
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    htc thunderbolt
    #6

    basically the same issue

    I have a Thunderbolt. When I roam in Canada my data connection seems to drop fairly regularly. I have the setting set to allow data when roaming, but when I lose the connection the notification says something like 'data connection lost due to roaming' -something along those lines. The data connection is 1xRTT (3g CDMA) since 700 mhz 4G is not yet available. Like freightdog, I have a Verizon blackberry storm which roams in the same places with no connectivity issues at all. 3g and 4G on the thunderbolt is super stable and fast in the US.
    Last edited by bretto99; 04-28-2011 at 01:00 PM.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Big problem..... No Data connection at all. How to fix/force connection or Turn on?
    By kermitdfrogdroid in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 09-30-2013, 05:08 AM
  2. Limited Market
    By Cehotec in forum Bugless
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-06-2010, 03:56 PM
  3. Skyfire limited to 20 min. of audio?
    By BadWolf in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-09-2010, 07:44 PM
  4. Limited to 4 Calendar events
    By gkitchens in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-19-2010, 07:20 AM
  5. Limited Widgets?
    By DP03 in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-07-2010, 08:27 AM

Search tags for this page

3g in roaming milestone x2
,
d2g roaming aruba no 3g
,
droid 2 global edge
,
dungsm vzw3g
,

dungsm.vzw3g.com

,
milestone 2 roaming settings
,
milestone data connection lost while roaming
,
motorola milestone 3g edge connection
,
no 3g gsm while roaming
,
what limited to roaming
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+