DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: CDMA / GSM switch widget for D2G

  1. Droid
    Soladzur's Avatar
    Member #
    154329
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    Posts
    47
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2 Global
    #1

    CDMA / GSM switch widget for D2G

    I'm looking for a widget or application for fast switching of network mode on Droid 2 Global. CDMA/GSM.

    Since I use both networks (GSM for voice and CDMA evdo for fast and cheap internet) - it can be very useful.
    thanks!
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    r314bd's Avatar
    Member #
    32744
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    866
    Liked
    55 times
    Phone
    Droid 4
    #2
    I've looked for something like this extensively to no avail.

    The closest option you have currently is to create a shortcut icon to the "Network Settings" menu page with either a custom launcher or BetterCut. Once you click the icon, the first option is to switch between GSM/CDMA.

    In LauncherPro, long hold home screen -> Shortcut -> Activities -> Dialer -> Network Settings

    If you use BetterCut you can use a custom icon as well. That's what I did for my mom's D2G while she was traveling so she could switch easily, just had that icon on her homescreen

    I'm sure it's fairly easily to program a widget like that too.
    Last edited by r314bd; 01-20-2011 at 11:47 AM.
  4. Junior Droid
    gilmourd's Avatar
    Member #
    137114
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    27
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Soladzur View Post
    I'm looking for a widget or application for fast switching of network mode on Droid 2 Global. CDMA/GSM.

    Since I use both networks (GSM for voice and CDMA evdo for fast and cheap internet) - it can be very useful.
    thanks!
    If you don't mind me asking, which carriers do you use for GSM and which for CDMA? Are you in the states?
  5. Senior Droid
    CellZealot's Avatar
    Member #
    47431
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    220
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    D1, D2 dev, DX dev, D2WE dev
    #4
    He is in Ukraine so he can do that there. Can't do it in US without a band unlock hack.
    CellZealot

    TeamBlackHat

    Digital alchemy for the Droid and beyond
  6. Droid
    wirecutter's Avatar
    Member #
    138930
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    91
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #5
    The D2G will work on other CDMA carriers besides vzw?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  7. Master Droid
    r314bd's Avatar
    Member #
    32744
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    866
    Liked
    55 times
    Phone
    Droid 4
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by wirecutter View Post
    The D2G will work on other CDMA carriers besides vzw?
    Yes, but not in the United States. Only with CDMA networks abroad while roaming, charged at VZW's roaming rates.
  8. Senior Droid
    CellZealot's Avatar
    Member #
    47431
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    220
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    D1, D2 dev, DX dev, D2WE dev
    #7
    Actually soladzur lives in the Ukraine and has modified the Nvm for data authentication with his carrier there. This cans also be done for CDMA carriers here in the US like Cricket and Metro.
    CellZealot

    TeamBlackHat

    Digital alchemy for the Droid and beyond
  9. Droid
    wirecutter's Avatar
    Member #
    138930
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    91
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #8
    You guys are too smart for me to hang with!
    Quote Originally Posted by CellZealot View Post
    Actually soladzur lives in the Ukraine and has modified the Nvm for data authentication with his carrier there. This cans also be done for CDMA carriers here in the US like Cricket and Metro.


    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  10. Junior Droid
    eromrab's Avatar
    Member #
    101664
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Motorola Droid X
    #9
    I live in the States. I can switch quickly between TMO/ATT and VZW pretty easily using the previously mentioned LauncherPro activity shortcut. Pretty sweet :-)

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Switch from Global to CDMA for Improved Battery Life
    By jhalsey205 in forum Motorola Droid Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-20-2010, 03:49 AM
  2. Cdma/ gsm ???
    By Tward in forum Droid 2 Tech Issues
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-07-2010, 06:59 AM
  3. CDMA vs GSM
    By itwerk in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-04-2010, 07:25 AM
  4. Toggle switch widget for turning on/off the alarm clock?
    By DurangoJim in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-28-2010, 10:39 AM
  5. Stupid question about the radio toggle switch widget
    By SilverK20A3 in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-11-2009, 03:49 AM

Search tags for this page

android gsm cdma switch

,
android switch cdma gsm
,

app toggle between gsm and cdma

,
cdma change gsm
,
cdma gsm switch
,

change gsm to cdma

,
how to change cdma to gsm droid x
,
how to change the gsm mode on driod phones
,

????????????? cdma gsm

,
????????????? gsm cdma
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+