DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: droid 2 global global mode vs. cdma

  1. Droid Newbie
    dphelps1's Avatar
    Member #
    159137
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    droid 2 global global mode vs. cdma

    hey whats the diffrance bewteen global mode and cdma mode?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    NiceGuysFinishLast's Avatar
    Member #
    156937
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    748
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #2
    Global mode has it searching for both CDMA and GSM networks. If you're using it in the US, you can only use CDMA, so you might as well set it to CDMA, it'll save you battery life. Just remember to switch it back if you intend to travel overseas with the phone.
  4. Master Droid
    silver6054's Avatar
    Member #
    139110
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    537
    Liked
    12 times
    Phone
    droid 4
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by NiceGuysFinishLast View Post
    Global mode has it searching for both CDMA and GSM networks. If you're using it in the US, you can only use CDMA, so you might as well set it to CDMA, it'll save you battery life. Just remember to switch it back if you intend to travel overseas with the phone.
    Some of the previous VZ global phones clearly stated that in Global mode, GSM was searched only if no CDMA signal was found. Can't see such as a statement with this phone. Anyone know if that's what it does? (In which case Global and CDMA are about equivalent in areas with strong CDMA)
  5. Master Droid
    BJPalmer85's Avatar
    Member #
    162190
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    260
    Liked
    19 times
    Phone
    Droid 3
    #4
    i have a question as well. im not trying to hijack your thread but i feel this is relevant.

    If you switch it to to CDMA mode, what type of roaming mode does it need to be on? Home only or Automatic? Im asking because I had to switch out my D2G with another one because of a GPS issue and i had it in CDMA mode. With the new one i just received it wouldnt let me switch it without picking a roaming mode but my friends D2G doesnt make him select one. is that clear?

    So what do i do? do i pick one or is something wrong with one of the phones?

    B
  6. Master Droid
    NiceGuysFinishLast's Avatar
    Member #
    156937
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    748
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #5
    As long as you have nationwide roaming, I would assume automatic. That's what mine's on.
  7. Master Droid
    BJPalmer85's Avatar
    Member #
    162190
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    260
    Liked
    19 times
    Phone
    Droid 3
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by NiceGuysFinishLast View Post
    As long as you have nationwide roaming, I would assume automatic. That's what mine's on.
    thats what i figured. thanks

    B

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Droid 2 Global stuck in airplane mode
    By jkplvf in forum Motorola Droid 2 Global
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-26-2011, 01:34 PM
  2. For Droid 2 Global, CDMA
    By lacie123401 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-02-2011, 09:08 PM
  3. Droid 2 Global
    By skays in forum Motorola Droid 2
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-15-2011, 04:50 AM
  4. Global-CDMA
    By teoman in forum Motorola Droid Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-27-2010, 11:54 AM
  5. Switch from Global to CDMA for Improved Battery Life
    By jhalsey205 in forum Motorola Droid Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-20-2010, 03:49 AM

Search tags for this page

cdma or global mode
,
cdma roaming mode
,

cdma vs global

,
cdma vs global droid
,
cdma vs global mode
,

global mode

,
global mode vs cdma
,

global vs cdma

,
global vs cdma vs gsm
,

what is global mode

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+