DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Setting Profiles App

  1. Droid
    cgull's Avatar
    Member #
    141635
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    42
    Phone
    D2G
    #1

    Setting Profiles App

    Is anyone running the Setting Profiles app? I have had it for about a week and am really liking it. The ability to associate profiles and actions based on conditions makes the possibilities endless. I especially like not having to worry about managing profiles for Home, Work and Remote.
  2. Captain Canuck's Avatar
    Member #
    140909
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Posts
    61
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #2
    I just started using it today. So far it appears to be very intuitive and rock solid.

    My first profile was for the car - detect it is in the car dock, turn wifi off, start Weatherbug Elite and Latitude, enable bluetooth. And then reverse all of that when I remove it form the car dock.

    So far I haven't yet figured out how to turn wifi back on automatically when I undock it- but I'm sure that is just a problem between the chair and the keyboard.
  3. Droid
    cgull's Avatar
    Member #
    141635
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    42
    Phone
    D2G
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Captain Canuck View Post
    I just started using it today. So far it appears to be very intuitive and rock solid.

    My first profile was for the car - detect it is in the car dock, turn wifi off, start Weatherbug Elite and Latitude, enable bluetooth. And then reverse all of that when I remove it form the car dock.

    So far I haven't yet figured out how to turn wifi back on automatically when I undock it- but I'm sure that is just a problem between the chair and the keyboard.
    Since I only use wifi at home I added a location with cell towers for my house and set an action to activate home profile. Also have cell tower location/profile for work. I am also using it to trigger Newsrob Syncs at night. When neither work or home are detected it activates my default profile with GPS and bluetooth. Pretty sweet.
  4. Captain Canuck's Avatar
    Member #
    140909
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Posts
    61
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by cgull View Post
    Since I only use wifi at home I added a location with cell towers for my house and set an action to activate home profile. Also have cell tower location/profile for work. I am also using it to trigger Newsrob Syncs at night. When neither work or home are detected it activates my default profile with GPS and bluetooth. Pretty sweet.
    Unfortunately that won't work for me because I live within walking distance from work. (Yes it really IS nice.) Both locations fall within the same cell tower area. So, my only other alternative was the SSID detect option.

    I really don't want to connect to the home or work WAP - the work one for use of work resource reason and the home one simply because I don't want to add to the load on it (used as a Vonage router, also by a heavy online gamer and for Netflix video steaming.)
  5. Master Droid
    leobg's Avatar
    Member #
    75942
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    658
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Droid2 Global/XT860 4G(D3)
    #5
    I am using it for almost an year now. Maybe the nicest profiles app out there. Before I got it, I pretty much tried all available profiles apps at the time. Setting Profiles was the best out of all. It consumes a fair bit of memory (which was an issue on my old Milestone), be careful setting too many profiles, especially location dependant ones, as it will burn thru your batteries faster. With Droid2/Global memory won't be an issue anymore, but juice-sucking part gets worse
  6. Droid
    pjjameso's Avatar
    Member #
    18166
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    30
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #6
    I seem to be having a bit of trouble with this app, probably user error. When selecting a new location what is the difference between lat lon identified and cell tower? For me Im having problems getting it to switch automatically between home and work. I have used lat lon for each location description. My GPS is off, is that the issue? I thought that lat long was based upon cell tower relationships.

    Also, if I manually switch to another profile eg work but I am at home shouldnt it switch back to home after the 5 min lat lon update period?

    I only have two profiles created home and work and they only activate simple Rules. Using the lite version. Had purchased the full but returned it because of the location switching issue.

    Thanks, been to the publishers web site but havent found many answers to my questions.
  7. Droid
    cgull's Avatar
    Member #
    141635
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    42
    Phone
    D2G
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by pjjameso View Post
    I seem to be having a bit of trouble with this app, probably user error. When selecting a new location what is the difference between lat lon identified and cell tower? For me Im having problems getting it to switch automatically between home and work. I have used lat lon for each location description. My GPS is off, is that the issue? I thought that lat long was based upon cell tower relationships.

    Also, if I manually switch to another profile eg work but I am at home shouldnt it switch back to home after the 5 min lat lon update period?

    I only have two profiles created home and work and they only activate simple Rules. Using the lite version. Had purchased the full but returned it because of the location switching issue.

    Thanks, been to the publishers web site but havent found many answers to my questions.
    Lat needs GPS. I use cell towers not Lat. This works unless your locs are very close. Set the tower threshold to 1.
  8. Droid
    wnrussell's Avatar
    Member #
    9294
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Voorhees
    Posts
    90
    Phone
    Droid X, Napoleon A4500
    #8

    Profiles in 3.8.1

    "Stop Handset Crippling"
  9. Master Droid
    leobg's Avatar
    Member #
    75942
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    658
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Droid2 Global/XT860 4G(D3)
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by wnrussell View Post
    Nice idea, but incomplete. You cannot manage sound or anythine esle beside desktop layout with this built-in feature in Blur. No scheduling either. Maybe in next version they will address these points.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. App: Settings Profiles -- Setting up?
    By bodean in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 04-25-2011, 12:48 PM
  2. Setting Profiles Widget
    By VitalEcho in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-20-2011, 04:56 PM
  3. Setting Profiles question
    By bodean in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-09-2010, 08:22 AM
  4. Setting Profiles - Deleting a Rule
    By ITguy4 in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-25-2010, 12:53 PM
  5. Setting notification profiles on my Droid
    By snmemx in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-19-2010, 04:18 PM

Search tags for this page

delete work profile droid2
,
droid 2 global delete profile
,
droid 2 global profiles
,

droid 2 profiles

,
droid x2 profiles
,
how do i delete a profile from my droid 2 phone
,
how to delete profiles on android
,

how to delete profiles on droid 2

,
how to remove profiles on android
,
motorola droid 2 global profiles
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+