DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 31

Thread: One Click Root Methods Not Working

  1. Droid
    MrCatPC's Avatar
    Member #
    169235
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    86
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Moto A957 Droid2 R2D2 GBv2.3.4
    #21
    And WOW, thanks for the super fast response! I hadn't completely finished eating my foot. (:K

    * You rock my socks! *

    Thanks again, Silver6054

    End Transmission from R2D2
  2. Junior Droid
    schwoates's Avatar
    Member #
    196060
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    11
    Phone
    Droid 1
    #22
    Thank you so much for posting this here. This seems to be working for people so I guess it answers my question, but, I would really like to find a way that I don't have to worry about SBF'ing to an older version as I have never done anything with that and don't really want to risk messing anything up. Is there any way to do this without flashing to an older version or could you provide a step-by-step way to do everything (again as I have no experience with SBF)? Thank you for your response and your help.
  3. Droid Ninja
    themib's Avatar
    Member #
    177165
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    1,408
    Liked
    64 times
    Phone
    Droid X, 2, 2G, X2, D3, D4
    #23
    how to SBF
    SBF - The DROID Wiki

    edit: there is no other way to root with .629, it's fairly safe just follow instructions
    download rootkeeper before you start
    Last edited by themib; 04-29-2012 at 01:53 PM.
    [ROOT] Framaroot, a one-click .apk to root
    Droid 2 (a955), Droid 2 Global (a956), R2D2 (a957), & Droid X (MB810)

    sd_shadow's (themib) [Collection] of Links: FAQs, Guides, Rooting, SBFs, ROMs... - sites.google.com

    Always in motion is the future
  4. Master Droid
    silver6054's Avatar
    Member #
    139110
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    537
    Liked
    12 times
    Phone
    droid 4
    #24
    Quote Originally Posted by themib View Post
    Yes, I was going to recommend that (except for the bit where it says there are two SBF files available and lists three!). You should probably use the latest version of RSDLite you can find, which is 5.6 or greater now I think).

    Follow the instructions in the Wiki, particularly making sure you have enough battery and have current Moto drivers. After you flash the first SBF (the 4.5.608 one) your phone will be "bricked", stuck at the bootloader screen with an MEM_MAP error message. That is fine. Once you flash the second one, that problem will go away.
    As listed in the rootzwiki thread, you may find that once the phone is up following the second SBF, Wifi won't work. That's OK as well. After installing rootkeeper, applying a root exploit, and backing up root with rootkeeper, apply the .629 update, Wifi will then work. If the phone radios don't work, a factory reset will fix that.

    It's not complex, but if you are unsure, don't do it! You don't really want to have root without a method to get back if something goes wrong.
  5. Droid Ninja
    themib's Avatar
    Member #
    177165
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    1,408
    Liked
    64 times
    Phone
    Droid X, 2, 2G, X2, D3, D4
    #25
    You don't really want to have root without a method to get back if something goes wrong.
    if something goes wrong use the 629 SBF
    [ROOT] Framaroot, a one-click .apk to root
    Droid 2 (a955), Droid 2 Global (a956), R2D2 (a957), & Droid X (MB810)

    sd_shadow's (themib) [Collection] of Links: FAQs, Guides, Rooting, SBFs, ROMs... - sites.google.com

    Always in motion is the future
  6. Master Droid
    silver6054's Avatar
    Member #
    139110
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    537
    Liked
    12 times
    Phone
    droid 4
    #26
    Quote Originally Posted by themib View Post
    if something goes wrong use the 629 SBF
    Right, but my comment was in the context of the poster saying "(again as I have no experience with SBF)"

    Also, have people confirmed that the .629 SBF works fine? I thought I saw a comment about something (GPS?) not working, but can't find it.
  7. Droid Ninja
    themib's Avatar
    Member #
    177165
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    1,408
    Liked
    64 times
    Phone
    Droid X, 2, 2G, X2, D3, D4
    #27
    the fix for gps is to flash 629 update.zip
    like in the 629 root method

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1611125
    GB2.3.4/4.5.629 NS Device Full SBF

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
    [ROOT] Framaroot, a one-click .apk to root
    Droid 2 (a955), Droid 2 Global (a956), R2D2 (a957), & Droid X (MB810)

    sd_shadow's (themib) [Collection] of Links: FAQs, Guides, Rooting, SBFs, ROMs... - sites.google.com

    Always in motion is the future
  8. Master Droid
    silver6054's Avatar
    Member #
    139110
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    537
    Liked
    12 times
    Phone
    droid 4
    #28
    Ok, thanks. But I am surprised that you can flash the 629 update over a 629 SBF. I thought the update would be expecting .608 files so it wouldn't work.
  9. Junior Droid
    chigo17's Avatar
    Member #
    258009
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #29

    Cool Need to root and unband my D2G on 2.3.4 for AT&T

    Quote Originally Posted by silver6054 View Post
    Ok, thanks. But I am surprised that you can flash the 629 update over a 629 SBF. I thought the update would be expecting .608 files so it wouldn't work.
    I may not be new to flashing and bootloading, but am entirely new to the android world. I've been with Windows. I have been reading the thread since the root for .629 came out. I was about to root my D2G running on 2.3.4 and .629 and go ahead to do the band unlock. But with the latest posting about full 629 SBF update, that takes care of the gps problem, what is your recommendation for me?

    I want to root and unband my D2G for US gsm band.

    Please, I'll need instruction as I mentioned that I'm entirely new to android. Sorry to take you back.

    Help!
  10. Droid Newbie
    googlopper's Avatar
    Member #
    281137
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    D2G 2.3.4
    #30
    You want to unlock Global / GSM/UTMA for travel abroad or for another carrier? If the former just get the unlock code for overseas travel. You'll probably need some more unlocking to get an open phone.

    PLEASE tell me: I have D2G 2.3.4 and all I want to do is root the thing cause I can take it from there? Please let me know to any successful root method for this phone. THANX
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. HELP- Petes one click root only acomplished partial root-ROOT ISSUE
    By C3P0 in forum Droid Bionic Tech Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-09-2011, 06:35 PM
  2. Problems with 1 click root.. its not working..
    By xythil in forum Motorola Droid 2 Development
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-06-2011, 05:28 PM
  3. Are all root methods equal?
    By GeneralZod in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-13-2010, 07:11 AM
  4. Wanting to root. But wheres the one click root for droid to make it easier?
    By kermitdfrogdroid in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 07-31-2010, 10:13 PM

Search tags for this page

4.5.629 root

,

4.5.629.a956 root

,
droid 2 global one click root
,
droid 2 global root 4.5.629
,

one click root droid 2 global

,
one click root droid 2 global 2.3.4
,

one click root incredible 2

,

one click root not working

,

root droid 2 global 2.3.4

,
root droid 2 global one click
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+