DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 39

Thread: Smartass and interactive governors on D2G

  1. Master Droid
    gunz.jones's Avatar
    Member #
    130901
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    336
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #11
    Interqctive seems to work a little better...my only problem is it won't load the clock with angel rom.

    Sent from a D2G Dark Angel
  2. Senior Droid
    chrisl20's Avatar
    Member #
    172959
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    wichita, ks
    Posts
    175
    Twitter
    skynyrd420
    Phone
    d2g, thunderbolt, xoom
    #12
    Whew...at least someone has my back...damn... ..I can't explain why it (oc'ing) didn't make my phone faster, like it should...it just did...which lead me to believe that losing the extra slot wasn't good for the phone...and if the phones ARNT so different...why can't we use d2 roms, or just flash over the d2 sbf onto the d2g and say to hell w the last slot all together and only use 4 and have anice d2 THAT CAN be global if u want to go back and be a proud d2g user....I didn't mean to ruffle your feathers 4x4...but apparently I did somehow... ...thought this was a place for learning and not personal attacks...we learn from our mistakes...If I've made one...id be happy to learn how to correct it...but just saying" you don't know what your doing obviously" isn't helping anyone except you feel like an alpha male...which im ok w...u can go ahead an b a billy bad@ss for all I care... ..I just want to know why if the phones r soooooo similar like u think, then y r we so limited with a multitude of things? ...and how do you have your oc'd phone setup? What do u use and how exactly? Id like to try it...out of all the thread I have read on overclocking the d2g none of them have increased performance like they should....so I basicly threw in the towel on trying since 1.2ghz should be enough for whatever I need/want....sorry I got u so butthurt guy, didn't mean for my reply to b a personal attack, which required retaliation on your part
  3. Senior Droid
    chrisl20's Avatar
    Member #
    172959
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    wichita, ks
    Posts
    175
    Twitter
    skynyrd420
    Phone
    d2g, thunderbolt, xoom
    #13
    ...basicly my question breaks down to.. If the 5th slot isn't necessary and can just be tossed to the side with no repercussion at all, whether that be premature and additional wear on the processor or an added sluggishness of the cpu from it trying to access it and not being able to, whatever... ..then why would motorola waste the time and resources to put it in the phone...y wouldn't they just take the easy way out and throw the exact one as the d2 in there to make things simpler... ..just doesn't make sense to me.. ..anyone have some insight?
  4. Master Droid
    gunz.jones's Avatar
    Member #
    130901
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    336
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #14
    Because this is an oc processor from the factory. The 5th step as i stated earlier should help in keeping the battery and the cpu safe. Not forcing it to max out all the time. Motorola was aiming for a device to live with. An oc processor with 4 high steps would kill a battery quick and heat up quick. Device would be trash eventually based on that. Hardware failures more often ending up in tons of replacements. The governors judge how it works inside the os and with apps. Ondemand waits for an order, interactive and smartass monitor more often and may overcompensate to keep everything smooth.

    Edit: I checked the option for the experimental kernel patch and it started clocking like I selected. The kernel runs in the top 4 slots. The fifth is going to be your lowest setting and will stay at 300. Better to create a stable preset with tweaked slots on the upper 4 to make use of the permanent step,

    Sent from a D2G Dark Angel
    Last edited by gunz.jones; 05-22-2011 at 09:53 PM.
  5. Droid Ninja
    Xplorer4x4's Avatar
    Member #
    45078
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Evansville,IN
    Posts
    1,007
    Liked
    11 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2 Global
    #15
    Quote Originally Posted by chrisl20 View Post
    Whew...at least someone has my back...damn...
    lol some one had your back? On what? Are we going to have a gang war here or something? lol All gunz said was interactive seems a bit better and clock speeds wouldnt load on Angel rom. How does that mean some one has your back?

    ..I can't explain why it (oc'ing) didn't make my phone faster, like it should...it just did...which lead me to believe that losing the extra slot wasn't good for the phone...
    You have never said that they didnt make your phone faster, you said they screwed up your phone. Which is it?

    As for the extra slot, I never said it was good or bad for the phone. Just that it was there. Stay focused please.

    and if the phones ARNT so different...why can't we use d2 roms, or just flash over the d2 sbf onto the d2g and say to hell w the last slot all together and only use 4 and have anice d2 THAT CAN be global if u want to go back and be a proud d2g user...
    Your confusing similar and the same. The CPU thing was explained by Gunz, so no point in being redundant. Then there is the radio. With the different radio likley comes a different driver. The D2 driver probably does not know how to activate the radio.

    Now you want to talk about educating, since you stand out with the belief the phones are soo different, I was asking to be educated on how they are so different. How come you failed to educate us on this matter?


    I didn't mean to ruffle your feathers 4x4...but apparently I did somehow... ...thought this was a place for learning and not personal attacks...
    Ironic statement since your the one name calling. If my feathers were ruffled, it would be abundantly clear, with caps profanity, maybe name calling like you did. I just wanted to ask you how the phones were so different and make it clear to others your results were not typical.

    we learn from our mistakes...If I've made one...id be happy to learn how to correct it...but just saying" you don't know what your doing obviously" isn't helping anyone except you feel like an alpha male...which im ok w...u can go ahead an b a billy bad@ss for all I care...
    Well how would you like me, or any one else, to educate you with the lack of detailed information provided?

    As for alpha male comment, your the only one name calling lol. I guess you feel the need to try to put others down by name calling. I guess that makes you feel good about your self.

    ..I just want to know why if the phones r soooooo similar like u think, then y r we so limited with a multitude of things? .
    If there so different, then elaborate. You are the odd man out here thinking they are so different. How are we so limited compared to the D2 because I really wasnt aware that we were.


    ..and how do you have your oc'd phone setup? What do u use and how exactly? Id like to try it...out of all the thread I have read on overclocking the d2g none of them have increased performance like they should....so I basicly threw in the towel on trying since 1.2ghz should be enough for whatever I need/want....
    Who said my phone was OCed? I tried but didnt find the performance benefits to be worth s decrease in already horrible battery life, but the experimental thing mentioned here has me intrigued. If I change my mind about OCing, I will gladly post any info here.

    sorry I got u so butthurt guy, didn't mean for my reply to b a personal attack, which required retaliation on your part
    I got butthurt? lol considering your the one name calling and the like, you might want to reconsider that statement. If I was out to make something personal, I would have, like you been calling names, maybe insulting your grammar, and things of that nature. So until you see things like that, lets refrain from name calling and personal attacks and keep the debate focused on the phone not each other.

    And like I said earlier, educate us on how the phones are so different? Because with all the name calling and personal attacks, that is one thing I never heard. Like you said, we are here to educate, so educate us whats so different?
    Last edited by Xplorer4x4; 05-23-2011 at 01:18 PM.
    How to SBF your D2G in Windows!
    How to SBF your D2G in Linux!


    Retired Devices:Last Used Rom
    Motorola Backflip : Cyanogenmod 7
    Droid 2 Global : AOKP Build 39
    Current Device:Current Roms
    Droid Razr Maxx HD : Fuzion

    I do NOT offer help through PM. Sorry!
  6. Droid Ninja
    Xplorer4x4's Avatar
    Member #
    45078
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Evansville,IN
    Posts
    1,007
    Liked
    11 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2 Global
    #16
    Quote Originally Posted by gunz.jones View Post
    Edit: I checked the option for the experimental kernel patch and it started clocking like I selected. The kernel runs in the top 4 slots. The fifth is going to be your lowest setting and will stay at 300. Better to create a stable preset with tweaked slots on the upper 4 to make use of the permanent step,

    Sent from a D2G Dark Angel
    Where was this patch? I didnt see it myself.

    As for the slots, could you specify which slot will not change? I mean what number the slot is according to Droid OC?
    How to SBF your D2G in Windows!
    How to SBF your D2G in Linux!


    Retired Devices:Last Used Rom
    Motorola Backflip : Cyanogenmod 7
    Droid 2 Global : AOKP Build 39
    Current Device:Current Roms
    Droid Razr Maxx HD : Fuzion

    I do NOT offer help through PM. Sorry!
  7. Senior Droid
    chrisl20's Avatar
    Member #
    172959
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    wichita, ks
    Posts
    175
    Twitter
    skynyrd420
    Phone
    d2g, thunderbolt, xoom
    #17
    ..wow, i shoulda got an htc i guess lol...Ok, im more of a 'make love, not war' kinda guy, so you win4x4, u r undoubtedly the most educated man in the world and never wrong, I am nothing but wrong w everything I do...there...all better...I hope.id rather get on the forums to learn, not defend myself and have it turned on me ...the phones r the same, or similar, whatever you wana call it... happy? ..I didn't join this forum to be patronized or belittled, the reasoning was to learn, so im all ears when it comes to me being wrong, which happens alot...I've only done this stuff for a few months, and am too busy w my business to give android moddingthe attention I would like to... ..but, when im wrong, I just want to know what, or how, I came upon the err of my ways... ...but, I've read somewhere(can't remember the thread) but it said the 300 slot doesn't change... ..so would that mean if you ulv ur phone and have a slot set@ 250 would that mess w the phone and have slot 1:300 slot 2:250 slot 3:etc.. ? ..because that could very well have been the issue w my droid overclock... ...with setcpu I made a txtfile and put it on the sd card adding another frequency for the app to pick up and adjust when scaling, but, im not sure...it didn't seem to make any difference besides making my battery extreamly hot... ...so tell me what im doing wrong, I wana know how to fix it...and to make all of this right.. community of people should be there for helping, not bickering, sorry I started it by posting, but I thought that's what was to be done.
  8. Senior Droid
    jt1359's Avatar
    Member #
    164571
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    165
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #18
    Well.. Hopefully everyone is done fighting. Anyway, you shouldn't set any values below 300, it won't work well with those apps until they add compatability for a 5th slot. If you'd like to know what I did, I used Quickclock to calibrate my phone. Of course, I don't quite trust it's settings, so I tweaked them to the safer side a bit, buffered them some, exported them to Droid Overclock, and applied the settings there in the advanced settings. Also, for anyone that's interested, I've been running the smartass governor for about a day now. It seems to run a bit more responsively, although my battery runs slightly warmer when in use. But I haven't really noticed a change in battery life, and looking in SetCPU in the info section it looks to spend a lot more time at 300 then it used to.
  9. Master Droid
    gunz.jones's Avatar
    Member #
    130901
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    336
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #19
    In settings, choose the experimental kernel....one is the original at 1.2t, the other is 1.4 something. When doc came out, the 1.4 was for droid x....so it makes sense that it would work with d2g. The slot 1 on droid oc when you open the side panel stays at 300. The voltages read way off though even with custom settings for me.

    Edit: slots 2-5 are what get effected with doc. So if you put in 550 800 10500 12000 then 300 is your first step due to no change.

    Sent from a D2G Dark Angel
    Last edited by gunz.jones; 05-23-2011 at 07:37 PM.
  10. Droid Ninja
    Xplorer4x4's Avatar
    Member #
    45078
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Evansville,IN
    Posts
    1,007
    Liked
    11 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2 Global
    #20
    Quote Originally Posted by chrisl20 View Post
    ..wow, i shoulda got an htc i guess lol...Ok, im more of a 'make love, not war' kinda guy, so you win4x4, u r undoubtedly the most educated man in the world and never wrong, I am nothing but wrong w everything I do...there...all better...I hope.id rather get on the forums to learn, not defend myself and have it turned on me ...the phones r the same, or similar, whatever you wana call it... happy? ..I didn't join this forum to be patronized or belittled, the reasoning was to learn, so im all ears when it comes to me being wrong, which happens alot...I've only done this stuff for a few months, and am too busy w my business to give android moddingthe attention I would like to... ..but, when im wrong, I just want to know what, or how, I came upon the err of my ways
    LMAO make love not war but yet you make smart remarks like "u r undoubtedly the most educated man in the world and never wrong." Can you not see the irony in your own comments?

    Now if you can truly quit belly aching and put the personal comments aside for good, I am genuinely curious how you would like me, or any one for that matter, how we could have told you the errors based on "they messed up my phone?" You were referring to multiple apps and they all accomplish the same thing but have different ways of achieving it. Like Milestone, for example, requiers you to load module, and drag the slider to one of 4 options, the last being custom. Say you choose custom, and entered values here. How can we help if we dont know the values you put in here?

    Also, I was trying to have a mature discussion and understand exactly why you say the phones are so different? I am genuinely curious. If I am wrong I would hope some one would correct me so that I do not further spread misinformation.

    Quote Originally Posted by jt1359 View Post
    Well.. Hopefully everyone is done fighting. Anyway, you shouldn't set any values below 300, it won't work well with those apps until they add compatability for a 5th slot. If you'd like to know what I did, I used Quickclock to calibrate my phone. Of course, I don't quite trust it's settings, so I tweaked them to the safer side a bit, buffered them some, exported them to Droid Overclock, and applied the settings there in the advanced settings. Also, for anyone that's interested, I've been running the smartass governor for about a day now. It seems to run a bit more responsively, although my battery runs slightly warmer when in use. But I haven't really noticed a change in battery life, and looking in SetCPU in the info section it looks to spend a lot more time at 300 then it used to.
    Interesting information. I guess by importing in to droic clock you mean you entered everything manually?

    Oh and sorry chris got so bent out of shape over something so stupid, and we jacked the thread. I thought you were done, and I simply felt that I should point out to people reading this thread for information there is no reason that the apps should mess up your phone unless you have no idea what your doing.

    Quote Originally Posted by gunz.jones View Post
    In settings, choose the experimental kernel....one is the original at 1.2t, the other is 1.4 something. When doc came out, the 1.4 was for droid x....so it makes sense that it would work with d2g. The slot 1 on droid oc when you open the side panel stays at 300. The voltages read way off though even with custom settings for me.

    Edit: slots 2-5 are what get effected with doc. So if you put in 550 800 10500 12000 then 300 is your first step due to no change.

    Sent from a D2G Dark Angel
    Do you mean the "Scaling Frequency Preset? I can not find anything about kernels.
    Last edited by Xplorer4x4; 05-23-2011 at 09:20 PM.
    How to SBF your D2G in Windows!
    How to SBF your D2G in Linux!


    Retired Devices:Last Used Rom
    Motorola Backflip : Cyanogenmod 7
    Droid 2 Global : AOKP Build 39
    Current Device:Current Roms
    Droid Razr Maxx HD : Fuzion

    I do NOT offer help through PM. Sorry!
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. CPU Governors
    By Ryukashin in forum Thunderbolt Hacks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-03-2011, 10:48 AM
  2. Interactive/Smartass Governors
    By snipes1003 in forum Liberty ROM D2
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-20-2011, 12:17 PM
  3. do you need setcpu for smartass gov?
    By willstilson in forum Thunderbolt Hacks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-14-2011, 08:10 PM
  4. Difference between CPU governors
    By Gracklor in forum UltimateDroid
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-21-2011, 04:56 PM
  5. Interactive Clock
    By bracemg in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-23-2010, 11:45 AM

Search tags for this page

android difference between smartass and smoothass
,
android smartass governor
,
cpu governor smartass
,
interactive vs smartass governor
,

lagfree governor

,

smartass cpu governor

,

smartass governor

,

smartass governor android

,
smartass vs interactive
,

smoothass governor

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+