DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Minor problems after root...

  1. Rescue Squad
    MattyP's Avatar
    Member #
    121870
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    In a race car...
    Posts
    2,267
    Liked
    610 times
    Phone
    Razr Maxx
    #1

    Minor problems after root...

    After a ton of reading and research, I successfully rooted my Droid 2, and it was quite easy. (As someone said, as long as you can follow simple instructions)

    I have the Superuser icon in my installed apps, and when I tap it it returns a black screen, so according to what I've been reading, I have root.

    However, I procured a "SetCPU" app from the market, for 2 clams, and when I open it it says:

    SetCPU could not obtain root access. Did you allow SetCPU through Superuser permissions? If you checked Superuser permissions and SetCPU still cannot get root, there may be a permissions issue with your ROM. Operating in read only mode.

    If I open Droid2 Bootstrap Recovery, it gives me an error message.

    Also, if I open the terminal emulator, and type "su", it tells me "permission denied"

    So as near as I can tell, I have root, but something isn't 100% correct.

    Would someone be so kind as to point me in the right direction?

    Thanks a bunch!
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Ninja
    MrKleen's Avatar
    Member #
    29860
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,602
    Liked
    34 times
    Phone
    D1, D2, DX,TBolt, Galaxy Nexus
    #2
    It wouldn't hurt to do the root process again...

    Give the one click method I used a try. Go down the to second post and the instructions are very simple.

    Good Luck, I hope you get it resolved.
  4. Rescue Squad
    MattyP's Avatar
    Member #
    121870
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    In a race car...
    Posts
    2,267
    Liked
    610 times
    Phone
    Razr Maxx
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by MrKleen View Post
    It wouldn't hurt to do the root process again...

    Give the one click method I used a try. Go down the to second post and the instructions are very simple.

    Good Luck, I hope you get it resolved.
    It was the one click method I used, so on your advice I ran it again. Noticed a couple things in the terminal this time:

    Copying SuperUser.apk
    cp: /system/app/Superuser.apk: Read-only file system

    Copying su
    cp: /system/bin/su: Read-only file system

    Copying busybox
    cp: /system/bin/busybox: Read-only file system

    Unable to chmod /system/bin/su: No such file or directory
    Unable to chmod /system/bin/busybox No such file or directory

    Dismounting
    mount: Operation not permitted

    Congratulataions, you should now be rooted.
    Enter exit once to exit terminal.


    Ran it a third time, and got these same results...

    But still have the Superuser icon in my apps drawer, and SetCPU still cant get root access.
  5. Droid Ninja
    MrKleen's Avatar
    Member #
    29860
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,602
    Liked
    34 times
    Phone
    D1, D2, DX,TBolt, Galaxy Nexus
    #4
    Very strange. I imagine the solution to this problem will be something simple. Someone will come along that knows what's going on and save the day.

    Since I finally rooted my phone I am enjoying flashing stuff again like I did on my D1! Soon your phone will be successfully rooted and you'll be doing the same!

    Good luck!
  6. Rescue Squad
    MattyP's Avatar
    Member #
    121870
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    In a race car...
    Posts
    2,267
    Liked
    610 times
    Phone
    Razr Maxx
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by MrKleen View Post
    Very strange. I imagine the solution to this problem will be something simple. Someone will come along that knows what's going on and save the day.

    Since I finally rooted my phone I am enjoying flashing stuff again like I did on my D1! Soon your phone will be successfully rooted and you'll be doing the same!

    Good luck!
    You were absolutely correct sir, it was something very simple. I was reading this thread over at XDA:

    Easier 1-2-3 Droid 2 Root for Windows / Linux / Mac - xda-developers

    I ran doroot1.bat which worked flawlessly. When it took me into adb shell, I entered this at the $

    ./data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin


    I then had # in the shell

    I then opened SetCPU and it gained root access, and I set my CPU. Bootstrap recovery did not return the error message and asked for Superuser permissions, and I ran bootstrap recovery and it told me "success". When I tap "Superuser Permissions" in my app drawer, both apps are listed.

    Houston, we have root!!! Thanks very much for your help MrKleen!
  7. Master Droid
    Montecarlo97z's Avatar
    Member #
    121264
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    363
    Liked
    7 times
    Phone
    Droid 4
    #6
    did u have to load a kernel before u could use setcpu?
  8. Rescue Squad
    MattyP's Avatar
    Member #
    121870
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    In a race car...
    Posts
    2,267
    Liked
    610 times
    Phone
    Razr Maxx
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Montecarlo97z View Post
    did u have to load a kernel before u could use setcpu?
    No, after I ran ./data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin it worked like a charm.
  9. Droid Ninja
    Redflea's Avatar
    Member #
    5967
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,954
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Montecarlo97z View Post
    did u have to load a kernel before u could use setcpu?
    We can't load kernels on the D2 yet...but you can use SetCPU to underclock the D2 when the screen is dark, if the temp gets to a certain level, or if the battery reaches a certain level.
  10. Rescue Squad
    MattyP's Avatar
    Member #
    121870
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    In a race car...
    Posts
    2,267
    Liked
    610 times
    Phone
    Razr Maxx
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Redflea View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Montecarlo97z View Post
    did u have to load a kernel before u could use setcpu?
    We can't load kernels on the D2 yet...but you can use SetCPU to underclock the D2 when the screen is dark, if the temp gets to a certain level, or if the battery reaches a certain level.
    Thats what I did, I set up two "profiles" in SetCPU, one for when the screen is dark, and one for when it's charging. You can also set "priority" for each profile, so that one will take precedence over the other, depending on the situation. My D2 is soooooooo much faster now with the CPU clocked up, yet the screen off profile keeps it from gnawing on the battery. Even with the CPU on max, it has still lasted all day, and I have been on it and installing apps and playing around with it.
  11. Master Droid
    Montecarlo97z's Avatar
    Member #
    121264
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    363
    Liked
    7 times
    Phone
    Droid 4
    #10
    what settings are you using to clock up the CPU? i i have the profile set to screen off having it on 300 max 300 min
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Root Problems
    By slipknotver in forum Droid Rooted Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-06-2010, 08:51 AM
  2. root problems!!! help!
    By durableburrito in forum Android Roms
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-09-2010, 12:03 PM
  3. ROOT problems!
    By mrdjc99 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-12-2010, 02:56 PM
  4. Root Problems
    By jive495 in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 68
    Last Post: 05-17-2010, 10:08 PM
  5. Help, Trying to ROOT, Problems!
    By samiusmc in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-02-2010, 12:28 PM

Search tags for this page

android superuser error did you allow
,

cpu master root permission denied

,
cpu master superuser denied
,

error did you allow superuser permissions

,
root permission denied cpu master
,
unable to chmod /data/local/tmp/flash hboot: operation not p
,
unable to chmod /data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage: no such
,
unable to chmod /system/bin/su: no such file or directory
,
unable to chmod su: operation not permitted
,
unable to chmod system bin su no such file or directory
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+