DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Wifi Tether (free)

  1. Super Moderator/RS
    mwhartman's Avatar
    Member #
    27806
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South FL
    Posts
    10,730
    Liked
    40 times
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    Premium Member
    #11
    Sorry! It is good, however, that Barnacle works.

    Mike
  2. Master Droid
    pjo1966's Avatar
    Member #
    23172
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    312
    Phone
    Thunderbolt
    #12
    Yes it is. And the speeds are better than what I had with AT&T DSL before switching to Time Warner.

    I'm sitting an open house now, and can browse using my laptop instead of the Droid. Living in the future is cool!
    Realtor in Los Angeles.
  3. Droid Newbie
    ckaram's Avatar
    Member #
    49162
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #13
    Ok, major noob here. Motorola droid not rooted, running Verizon and 2.2.

    I have pdaNet installed and have tethered by USB for sometime now. My laptop does not have bluetooth, so I haven't tried this. I've read that in order to create a hotspot and tether wirelessly, you have to be rooted. Is this true? Pardon my ignorance...
  4. Droid Newbie
    daneldanny's Avatar
    Member #
    113656
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Middletown, CT
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Droid 2 (Rooted)
    #14

    psp tether

    has anyone figured out a way to tether to a psp?
  5. Junior Droid
    TG617's Avatar
    Member #
    111867
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #15
    Wireless Tether was super simple on Win 7...
  6. Junior Droid
    kgbmiker's Avatar
    Member #
    105361
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    17
    Phone
    Droid 1
    #16

    Network key

    I'm trying to connect my Xp laptop to my Droid 1. The lapto tells me that I am connected but need a network key. Where do I get it?
  7. Droid
    nuclearbier's Avatar
    Member #
    23287
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    64
    Phone
    DROID3
    #17
    I can't get wifi tether for root users to work at all on my D2. Worked great on my D1. While I can get Barnacle Wifi Tether to work fine I really really need the bluetooth PAN server option because my corporate laptop has ad-hoc connections through wifi diabled and I can't find a way to re-enable it. So anyone that has the bluetooth portion of wifi tether working on their DROID 2 please msg me with your settings. Or any help getting it going. I have tried what seems like everything, but maybe I missed something. I even went to the developers site and tried using the latest pre build, but No luck. Thanks in advance for any help!

    Nuc.
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus (LTE)
    [ROM] AOKP JB B1
    [Kernel] Leankernel: Latest Franco Nightly


  8. Junior Droid
    whatatool's Avatar
    Member #
    126169
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Droid 2 Froyo
    #18
    From kgbmiker:

    "Network key
    I'm trying to connect my Xp laptop to my Droid 1. The lapto tells me that I am connected but need a network key. Where do I get it? "

    You first set it in the tether app on your droid, and then use that as the key on your computer
  9. Junior Droid
    whatatool's Avatar
    Member #
    126169
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Droid 2 Froyo
    #19

    WPA/WPA2 for Droid 2 Froyo?

    anybody get this to work with the root'd tether app?
  10. Droid
    zoo16's Avatar
    Member #
    110163
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    31
    Phone
    Droid Razr
    #20
    Quote Originally Posted by whatatool View Post
    anybody get this to work with the root'd tether app?
    If you mean Barnacle, the WEP security doesn't work when viewing it from a computer (but it does prompt for password when logging on with another phone). Looks like there's a bit of tweeking the developers need to do before Barnacle will do WEP with Froyo.
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Tether capability with android-wifi-tether (Wireless Tether for Root Users)
    By webacoustics in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 458
    Last Post: 06-29-2011, 04:37 PM
  2. Question about the free wifi tether app
    By sonicxtacy02 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-15-2010, 01:03 PM
  3. Is there a way to Tether Wifi and USB Tether @ Same Time?
    By droid master in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-09-2010, 01:26 PM
  4. Barnacle Wifi-Tether vs Normal Wifi-Tether?
    By bd1212 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 06-17-2010, 09:04 PM
  5. barnacle wifi tether vs adamz wifi tethers
    By President.Douche in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-28-2010, 03:47 PM

Search tags for this page

barnacle wifi tether tutorial

,

droid tether free

,
droid wifi tether free
,
free barnacle wifi tether
,

free droid tethering

,

free wifi tether

,

free wifi tethering

,
is barnacle wifi tether free
,
wifi tether free
,
wifi tether mac
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+