DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 66

Thread: How to root Droid 2

  1. Droid
    imtheconvict's Avatar
    Member #
    107194
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    61
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #31
    Check ur device manager make sure the drivers are all installed correctly I couldn't get them to install. I changed my phone to data mode or whatever its called and in windows poped up with a virtual cd drive I installed the moto drivers in there and it worked
  2. Droid
    Jedidr0id's Avatar
    Member #
    105901
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    41
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #32
    [quote=gonnadie4thegov;774275]
    Quote Originally Posted by Jedidr0id View Post
    I'm must be losing my computer touch, but I tried and I'm really lost. I can't get past this step:

    rocess:
    - Open command prompt
    - cd c:/wherever-your-sdk-tools-folder-is
    - adb devices (to verify the connection)
    - cd c:/Droid2Root

    When I type adb my cmd prompt says the command is not recognized. I must doing something wrong. I have downloaded the sdk tool and extracted, I already have the motorola drives and I got the droid2root extracted. I really need a simpler step by step walkthrough.

    Thanks, I read it but I do not have the Path variable on my system environments. I was wondering for the sdk, do I just simply unpack it or do I have to run the sdk setup file? I dunno why this is taking me so much time.
    Last edited by Jedidr0id; 08-26-2010 at 08:54 AM.
  3. Droid
    Jedidr0id's Avatar
    Member #
    105901
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    41
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #33
    This is where I am stuck at, can anyone help out? Many thanks.

    C:\>cd\

    C:\>cd android-sdk\tools

    C:\android-sdk\tools>adb devices
    * daemon not running. starting it now *
    * daemon started successfully *
    List of devices attached
    xxxxxxxxxxxx device


    C:\android-sdk\tools>cd c:\droid2root

    c:\Droid2Root>adb push Superuser.apk /sdcard/Superuser.apk
    'adb' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    c:\Droid2Root>
    Last edited by Jedidr0id; 08-26-2010 at 08:58 AM.
  4. Master Droid
    gonnadie4thegov's Avatar
    Member #
    43244
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    453
    Phone
    Moto Droid2
    #34
    Make sure you are trying to install the right drivers, 32 bit wont work on 64 bit windows and vice versa

    Yes you need to run the setup file then let it download the updates and archives cause that's how it communicates with android. If you notice in the list there is each version number of android.
  5. Droid
    Jedidr0id's Avatar
    Member #
    105901
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    41
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #35
    Okay I got the adb path working. I'm stuck at adb shell, I got the $ instead of the prompt #.
  6. Droid
    Jedidr0id's Avatar
    Member #
    105901
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    41
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #36
    Okay I finally finished all the steps. How do I know if its root or not? I clicked the superuser app and all I get a a blank screen. I never got the superuser accept screen.
    Last edited by Jedidr0id; 08-26-2010 at 10:41 AM.
  7. dunefreak91910's Avatar
    Member #
    13648
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    50
    Phone
    Droid X
    #37
    - Open commnad prompt
    - cd c:/wherever-your-sdk-tools-folder-is
    - adb devices (to verify the connection)
    - adh shell (you should now have a # prompt)
    - exit

    If you have the # then you have root.
  8. Master Droid
    gonnadie4thegov's Avatar
    Member #
    43244
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    453
    Phone
    Moto Droid2
    #38
    Quote Originally Posted by Jedidr0id View Post
    Okay I finally finished all the steps. How do I know if its root or not? I clicked the superuser app and all I get a a blank screen. I never got the superuser accept screen.
    By having the superuser app at all means you are rooted. When you open it up its blank screen cause it hasnt authorized any apps yet.

    Download adfree, root explorer, setcpu, wifi tether, or any other root requring app then you will get the allow window prompt and after you hit accept then it will be in the list when you open the superuser app
  9. Droid
    Jedidr0id's Avatar
    Member #
    105901
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    41
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #39
    Quote Originally Posted by gonnadie4thegov View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Jedidr0id View Post
    Okay I finally finished all the steps. How do I know if its root or not? I clicked the superuser app and all I get a a blank screen. I never got the superuser accept screen.
    By having the superuser app at all means you are rooted. When you open it up its blank screen cause it hasnt authorized any apps yet.

    Download adfree, root explorer, setcpu, wifi tether, or any other root requring app then you will get the allow window prompt and after you hit accept then it will be in the list when you open the superuser app
    Thanks, I downloaded adfree and it works. Sorry for all the posts but I was worried about messing up and bricking my phone.
  10. Droid
    Jedidr0id's Avatar
    Member #
    105901
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    41
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #40
    I installed setcup, adsfree, Barnacle, and WiFi Tether. Any other interesting apps to install?
Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 280
    Last Post: 03-22-2011, 12:43 PM
  2. Easy Root/Universal Androot vs. Traditional Root (Milestone)
    By Backdraft in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-10-2010, 10:25 AM
  3. Need some direction with Easy Root, one-click root for DROID 1
    By Mzamora10 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 08-06-2010, 07:27 PM
  4. Wanting to root. But wheres the one click root for droid to make it easier?
    By kermitdfrogdroid in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 07-31-2010, 10:13 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-06-2010, 11:20 AM

Search tags for this page

droid 2 root
,
droid2 root
,
droid2root.rar
,
how to root a droid 2
,

how to root droid 2

,
how to root verizon droid 2
,

root droid 2

,
root droid 2 phone
,
root verizon droid 2
,

rooting droid 2

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+