DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: droid overclock vs setCPU?

  1. Junior Droid
    bikeface's Avatar
    Member #
    154712
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    droid 2
    #1

    droid overclock vs setCPU?

    I searched around the forums a bit but wasn't able to find an answer to this...

    pretty basic question: D2G running 2.2 with Z4root with a stock kernel, bloatfreeze in place. I am trying to underclock for battery saving but I am unable to mess with the voltage (I assume because of the stock kernel). My question is: will droid overclock allow me to change the voltage settings without installing a new kernel? if so, great! if not, any suggestions as to which kernel? I want the ability to save battery when I want by underclocking but also be able to overclock when I want. I am presently set to 1000/300 on demand with a profile of 300/300 when screen is off.

    thanks!
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Theme Developer
    Brennan_Huber's Avatar
    Member #
    166897
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    316
    Liked
    21 times
    Twitter
    BHuber09
    Phone
    GNex
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    #2
    Yes it allows you to change the volage in quite a few different ways. And I completely suggest it. I have gotten 3 data out of my DX and now I swear by it.
    But one thing I did notice im fairly sure is wrong is that you having a D2G will not allow you to install new kernals because of the locked bootloader.
    If you would like to support us trying to unlock it do a quick search for petition to unlock bootloader and sign it. No money just a signature.

    FreeMyMoto!!
    FreeMyMoto!!
    FreeMyMoto!!
    FreeMyMoto!!!
    Nastiest Crew Takeover!!!
    If You Need Help P.M Me
  4. Junior Droid
    bikeface's Avatar
    Member #
    154712
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    droid 2
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Brennan_Huber View Post
    Yes it allows you to change the volage in quite a few different ways. And I completely suggest it. I have gotten 3 data out of my DX and now I swear by it.
    But one thing I did notice im fairly sure is wrong is that you having a D2G will not allow you to install new kernals because of the locked bootloader.
    If you would like to support us trying to unlock it do a quick search for petition to unlock bootloader and sign it. No money just a signature.
    let me get this straight-I CAN change voltage with DOverclock without changing kernels?

    NEIL!
  5. Theme Developer
    Brennan_Huber's Avatar
    Member #
    166897
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    316
    Liked
    21 times
    Twitter
    BHuber09
    Phone
    GNex
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    #4
    Here's what I mean by change voltage.


    Then click the set scaling frequency. And you get this.
    (Phones not wanting to load)
    but it says ultra low voltage, low voltage, medium voltage, high voltage, and revert to stock
    Then when you click one it gives you a range of frequencies and you click and it'll change for you.


    FreeMyMoto!!
    FreeMyMoto!!
    FreeMyMoto!!
    FreeMyMoto!!!
    Nastiest Crew Takeover!!!
    If You Need Help P.M Me
  6. Junior Droid
    bikeface's Avatar
    Member #
    154712
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    droid 2
    #5
    sorry if I'm a little slow tonight, just got off of 12 hours work. droid overclock will let me change the voltage AND the cpu scaling whereas set CPU will only let me change the cpu speed since I don't have the ability to change kernels?

    btw-thanks for the screenshot and the info on the bootloader, much appreciated!


    NEIL!
  7. Droid Ninja
    jaycemiskel's Avatar
    Member #
    74156
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,382
    Liked
    9 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by bikeface View Post
    sorry if I'm a little slow tonight, just got off of 12 hours work. droid overclock will let me change the voltage AND the cpu scaling whereas set CPU will only let me change the cpu speed since I don't have the ability to change kernels?

    btw-thanks for the screenshot and the info on the bootloader, much appreciated!


    NEIL!
    That's correct.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  8. Theme Developer
    Brennan_Huber's Avatar
    Member #
    166897
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    316
    Liked
    21 times
    Twitter
    BHuber09
    Phone
    GNex
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    #7
    Trust me I understand Haha. But yes I am currently running on 1250mH and a min of 400mH. And without DO I would have to be on max of 1000 and min of 300.
    And its no problem I would have loaded more but my phones 3g is a little sketchy right now. And seems to not want it up there.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Setcpu not letting me overclock?
    By the cdogg in forum Thunderbolt Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-02-2011, 06:07 PM
  2. Why can't I overclock my D2G with SetCPU?
    By mrtubz69 in forum Motorola Droid 2 Global
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-07-2011, 09:55 PM
  3. cant figure out how to overclock in setcpu
    By joshtb86 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-26-2010, 06:44 PM
  4. setcpu vs overclock widget
    By razorseal in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-27-2010, 03:27 PM
  5. Overclock 800 and SetCPU
    By Kdubbjr in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-10-2010, 12:01 PM

Search tags for this page

android cpu voltage
,

android overclock vs setcpu

,
droid charge setcpu
,

droid overclock vs setcpu

,
set cpu droid charge
,
set cpu vs android overclock
,

setcpu droid charge

,
setcpu overclock
,
setcpu vs android overclock
,

setcpu vs droid overclock

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+