DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!

Thread: Few noob questions post root.

1. Master Droid
    Member #
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic

Few noob questions post root.

Hey everyone, I just rooted this past weekend and flashed my first ROM today (Squidly 2.3.2.20 is amazing, thanks spaz for the steps you laid out in another thread) so I'm still new to all this. I flashed using Droid 2 Bootstrap and I also downloaded Titanium Backup. I got a few questions before I try to flash other ROMs:

1). Since I flashed using Droid 2 Bootstrap, if I want to flash other ROMs can I still use Droid 2 Bootstrap? Or do I need ROM manager? What exactly is difference between the two?

2). You're suppose to wipe before flashing ROMs right? So is this like a factory reset and you lose everything? And this is where titanium backup comes in? So it would work by creating a back up, redownloading it from the market, and restore from there?

3). Theming? Will each ROM has its own direction in terms of themes or are there general apps that help me change the look?

I haven't Overclocked yet but I'll messing with that soon enough Any other advice would be GREATLY appreciated!

3. Rescue Squad
    Member #
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus, T-bolt, Droid 2
    Quote Originally Posted by AlexSB View Post
    Hey everyone, I just rooted this past weekend and flashed my first ROM today (Squidly 2.3.2.20 is amazing, thanks spaz for the steps you laid out in another thread) so I'm still new to all this. I flashed using Droid 2 Bootstrap and I also downloaded Titanium Backup. I got a few questions before I try to flash other ROMs:

1). Since I flashed using Droid 2 Bootstrap, if I want to flash other ROMs can I still use Droid 2 Bootstrap? Or do I need ROM manager? What exactly is difference between the two?

You will still use the bootstrapper. Rom manager is more or less useless on the droid 2.