DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Upgrading Cyanogen Mod?

  1. Droid Newbie
    topherleh's Avatar
    Member #
    60950
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    Exclamation Upgrading Cyanogen Mod?

    Hey guys, I'm in a little bit of a dilemma here. I've recently rooted my Moto Droid version 2.1 running JRummy's Remix v0.5 - CyanMod 5.0.5.7 ROM. I've also recently been wanting to upgrade that ROM to JRummy's Remix v0.6 - CyanMod 6.0.6.1 (this may have been a typo by JRummy as it may have been 5.0.6.1) Here are a few questions I need to ask before I actually upgrade my ROM (assuming that I already know how to install through the method of mounting my SD card and installing through zip file and the method of using ROM Manager.)

    1. When initially opening the update.zip file, would I need to create an existing back up as well as wipe my data/cache considering the different versions of JRummy's Cyanogen Mod?

    2. How may I use applications such as MyBackupPro, Astro, and Rom Manager to restore back-ups from my previous ROM to already have my home screens set up the way they were from the previous ROM to the ROM that I have upgraded to? (I do not want to have to reprogram my contacts, ruin a previous synchronization with my email due to lack of back-up, redownload, reinstall, and replace my apps and widgets on my home screens)

    Lastly, if I have missed anything that may pertain to the matter at hand that is very important, please be sure to inform me due to the fact that I've only been recently exposed to the rooted world.

    Thanks so much, I appreciate the help.
    Last edited by topherleh; 04-20-2010 at 11:15 PM.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Ninja
    brando56894's Avatar
    Member #
    45165
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,217
    Phone
    HTC Incredible
    #2

    Re: Upgrading Cyanogen Mod?

    I didnt wipe anything going from 5.0.6.1 to 5.0.6.2 and it works great.
    How To: Compiling a Custom Version of Clockwork Mod Recovery
    <-- Lockscreen

    ROM: Incredibly Re-Engineered v2.3
  4. verian
    Guest
    verian's Avatar
    #3
    When I switch from roms I usually always wipe just to make sure I'm getting the perfect version of the rom that developer worked so hard on. If you synced with google then most everything is stored there and will sync automatically when you sign into Google with your phone during the initial start up. I've never lost my contacts and apps are in the market under my downloads. It sucks a little having to set up the widgets but it's worth it.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Upgrading to Droid..
    By scubasteve101 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-02-2010, 09:31 AM
  2. Upgrading to SPRecovery 0.99.2b
    By xtremeIX in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 02-11-2010, 04:45 PM
  3. Upgrading from DROID to a new.....
    By DroidHoff in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-21-2009, 10:09 PM
  4. Upgrading to Droid
    By Parrott2727 in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-20-2009, 12:53 PM
  5. Thinking seriously about upgrading
    By MrTommy in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-28-2009, 12:41 AM

Search tags for this page

cyanmod android
,
cyanogen how to upgrade
,
cyanogen update wipe data?
,
cyanogen upgrade without wiping
,
cyanogenmod update without wipe
,
do you have to wipe when upgrading vryogenmod 7
,
how to update cyanogen mod without wipe of apps
,
how to upgrade cyanogenmod
,
no contacts in cyanogenmod
,
upgrade cyanogenmod wipe
,
upgrade cyanogenmod without wipe
,
upgrade from cyanogenmod wipe data
,

upgrading cyanogen

,

upgrading cyanogenmod

,
will updating cyanogenmod erase data
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+