DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By rehack

Thread: Compcache broken in 3.0

  1. Junior Droid
    rehack's Avatar
    Member #
    217826
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid 1
    #1

    Compcache broken in 3.0

    for droid anyway. there are 2 problems - first off, the compcache script itself attempts to execute 'rzscontrol' - and that binary hasn't been included in the rom. copying it to /system/xbin solves this problem.

    secondly, /etc/sysctl.conf overrides vm.swappiness AFTER the compcache script has set it to 30, so even enabling compcache doesn't actually do anything since this vital variable has been forced back to 0. the vm.swappiness line in /etc/sysctl.conf should be removed or set to 30.
    hinataoccu likes this.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Ninja
    metalspring's Avatar
    Member #
    158915
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    hermitage, pa
    Posts
    2,231
    Liked
    99 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus LTE
    #2
    Try the handle_compcache script to start compcache
    My cMetal 11.0 rom for the verizon galaxy nexus

    Phone- The GALAXY NEXUS LTE a​ll the
    Rom- My own cMetal 11.0 rom (linaro enhanced cm-11.0)
    Kernel- ASKP or my modified mpokang v10 superram kernel
    previous phone the trusty ol' droid 1
  4. Junior Droid
    rehack's Avatar
    Member #
    217826
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid 1
    #3
    that still calls the compcache script to do the actual starting/stopping, which is itself calling the non-existent rzscontrol binary. even if it could work, at startup it'd be overridden by the sysctl.conf swappiness setting of 0, which disables any swapping regardless.
  5. Droid Ninja
    metalspring's Avatar
    Member #
    158915
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    hermitage, pa
    Posts
    2,231
    Liked
    99 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus LTE
    #4
    Simply use root explorer to change the sysctl.config
    My cMetal 11.0 rom for the verizon galaxy nexus

    Phone- The GALAXY NEXUS LTE a​ll the
    Rom- My own cMetal 11.0 rom (linaro enhanced cm-11.0)
    Kernel- ASKP or my modified mpokang v10 superram kernel
    previous phone the trusty ol' droid 1
  6. Junior Droid
    rehack's Avatar
    Member #
    217826
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid 1
    #5
    i have. i'm just saying that compcache is broken in the release and could possibly be fixed in the next one
  7. Senior Droid
    1FZFE's Avatar
    Member #
    152343
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    City of Medicine
    Posts
    205
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by rehack View Post
    for droid anyway. there are 2 problems - first off, the compcache script itself attempts to execute 'rzscontrol' - and that binary hasn't been included in the rom. copying it to /system/xbin solves this problem.

    secondly, /etc/sysctl.conf overrides vm.swappiness AFTER the compcache script has set it to 30, so even enabling compcache doesn't actually do anything since this vital variable has been forced back to 0. the vm.swappiness line in /etc/sysctl.conf should be removed or set to 30.
    Just noticed this thread after commenting in the general 3.0 discussion that compcache was broken. As you have suggested, I have edited the first line of /etc/sysctl.conf and changed the value to 30. Where do I get the rzscontrol binary to paste into xbin to start the process? Thanks in advance for the help.
    Galaxy Nexus | Unlocked | Rooted
  8. Senior Droid
    1FZFE's Avatar
    Member #
    152343
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    City of Medicine
    Posts
    205
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #7
    I ended up extracting it out of another ROM and placed it in /system/xbin. Everything looks like its working correctly now after a reboot and selecting 18% in Liquid's performance menu.
    Galaxy Nexus | Unlocked | Rooted
  9. Senior Droid
    crazyjoker2's Avatar
    Member #
    86912
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    157
    Phone
    MotoDroid
    #8
    Ok, I have it now.

    I flashed a backup rom and copied the rzscontrol file onto my sdcard and reflashed liquid, then added it. thanks
    Last edited by crazyjoker2; 10-24-2011 at 09:43 AM.
    Moto Droid
    UD 2.5
    RedmanX Theme


Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Water Damage...Broken or not Broken?
    By Nute13 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-31-2011, 12:17 PM
  2. Compcache in 3.2.0
    By crazyjoker2 in forum UltimateDroid
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-06-2011, 11:29 AM
  3. Broken Recovery, Broken USB...
    By neccoguy21 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-25-2010, 03:57 PM
  4. Compcache?
    By Darkseider in forum ChevyNo1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-17-2010, 12:22 AM
  5. Recovery Broken/Superuser Permissions Broken
    By kbomb97 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-15-2010, 09:19 PM

Search tags for this page

android rzscontrol
,
bionic compcache
,
compcache droid
,
compcache droid liquid
,

compcache galaxy nexus

,
compcache liquid rom
,
droid 2 compcache
,
how to include compcache in a rom
,
mytinyphone
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+