DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Swype Beta

  1. Junior Droid
    cdtdelta's Avatar
    Member #
    151591
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    DROID X
    #1

    Swype Beta

    Hey all,
    I've been using Gummy up to 2.5 and I've been able to use the Swype Beta by just removing the libSwypCore.so file from /system/lib and then running the beta installer. It's worked out great....

    However now that I have Liberty on my DX it doesn't seem like I can do the same method anymore.

    Is there any way I can run Liberty with the "official" Swype Beta? I've tried installing Liberty over Gummy without a wipe and with, doesn't seem to make a difference.

    Thanks ahead of time.....
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Junior Droid
    Carpatus's Avatar
    Member #
    144549
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    Droid X
    #2
    There's two other files you have to remove. Don't remember what they are right now but I will look and get back to you on that. If you want to try and find them yourself though, you can search the official swype forums. That's where I found the thread.

    Ok, here's the instructions I found.

    Edit:Get a root file manager (I use root explorer)
    1. Change your default input method to anything other than Swype.
    2. Mount file system as R/W
    3. Delete (or move/rename) \system\app\swype.apk
    4. Delete (or move/rename) \data\dalvik-cache\system@app@Swype.apk@classes.dex
    5. Delete (or move/rename) \system\lib\libSwypeCore.so
    6. Reboot
    7. Download and Run the latest Swype Beta installer
    8. ENJOY!
    Last edited by Carpatus; 01-12-2011 at 10:49 PM.
  4. Junior Droid
    cdtdelta's Avatar
    Member #
    151591
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    DROID X
    #3
    I think I found the other files you were talking about....going to give it a try now....

    Thanks..

    EDIT: I'm back up and running thanks......

    This is the thread that talks about it:
    http://forum.swype.com/showthread.ph...t=remove+files
    Last edited by cdtdelta; 01-12-2011 at 10:59 PM.
  5. Beta Team
    mikeyinid's Avatar
    Member #
    141879
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    884
    Phone
    Droid X
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    #4
    Why are you using the swype beta and not the actual swype that came with the phone? Its posted everywhere...xda...If you go over and run a search its there. It installs no prob
  6. Junior Droid
    cdtdelta's Avatar
    Member #
    151591
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    DROID X
    #5
    Swype Beta is a newer version. Just got used to that one.
  7. Beta Team
    mikeyinid's Avatar
    Member #
    141879
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    884
    Phone
    Droid X
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    #6
    Ah, I see. I know when you try to use the beta on phones that come with it you run into issues. Glad you got it figured out
    Quote Originally Posted by cdtdelta View Post
    Swype Beta is a newer version. Just got used to that one.


    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  8. Droid Newbie
    Transparent's Avatar
    Member #
    160158
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #7
    I wish liberty would come without swype pre installed. It's a hassle every update to remove and reinstall the beta version. Not to mention the rom is supposed to be aosp as possible. I think that's my only gripe about liberty!
  9. Master Droid
    Inkarnit's Avatar
    Member #
    92710
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Buckeye, AZ
    Posts
    635
    Twitter
    Inkarnit
    Phone
    Stock Droid RAZR
    #8
    I've used both the old swype and new swype... version 1.something and version 2.something... Other than looking different, which can be changed by themeing it anyway, what is the difference? Works the same as far as I can tell...
    Moto Droid RAZR

    STOCK!
  10. Droid
    chessnut's Avatar
    Member #
    160023
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    34
    Phone
    droid x
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Carpatus View Post
    There's two other files you have to remove. Don't remember what they are right now but I will look and get back to you on that. If you want to try and find them yourself though, you can search the official swype forums. That's where I found the thread.

    Ok, here's the instructions I found.

    Edit:Get a root file manager (I use root explorer)
    1. Change your default input method to anything other than Swype.
    2. Mount file system as R/W
    3. Delete (or move/rename) \system\app\swype.apk
    4. Delete (or move/rename) \data\dalvik-cache\system@app@Swype.apk@classes.dex
    5. Delete (or move/rename) \system\lib\libSwypeCore.so
    6. Reboot
    7. Download and Run the latest Swype Beta installer
    8. ENJOY!


    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  11. Master Droid
    mcp770's Avatar
    Member #
    140110
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Nashville
    Posts
    596
    Phone
    Droid X
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Transparent View Post
    I wish liberty would come without swype pre installed. It's a hassle every update to remove and reinstall the beta version. Not to mention the rom is supposed to be aosp as possible. I think that's my only gripe about liberty!
    I personally think the themed swype that came with Liberty is great. No real reason to beta a keyboard in my opinion...seems pointless. But thats jmo.
    Droid X - Deodexed, Liguid Gingerbread 2.3, QuickClock Advanced balanced. Go Launcher and SwiftKey. Handcent SMS.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Swype Beta
    By jerroedr in forum ChevyNo1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-30-2010, 05:21 PM
  2. swype beta?
    By issues636 in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-24-2010, 02:46 AM
  3. Swype Beta
    By GoGators in forum ChevyNo1
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 06-29-2010, 01:47 PM
  4. New Swype Beta!
    By billyk in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 06-15-2010, 05:29 PM

Search tags for this page

installing swype beta on liberty

,

moving swype beta on rom

,

swype 3.0 beta apk droid incredible

,

swype beta apk droid x

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+