DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Droid 2 Liberty GB in a boot loop.Bad keyboard cant get into recovery

  1. Droid Newbie
    GeraldTheOne67's Avatar
    Member #
    238800
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #1

    Droid 2 Liberty GB in a boot loop.Bad keyboard cant get into recovery

    OK I have a droid 2, and It has Liberty GB 0.9 on it.

    Im trying to get back to Froyo.
    Basically my phones screen stops working when I open up the keyboard.I wanted to see if it was software related (was running pretty crappy too).

    I SBFed to VRZ_A955_2.3.20_1FF_01.sbf and now its in a boot loop while still showing liberty logo.

    Now im pretty clueless as I did not install the ROM on the phone, someone else did.


    Going back to Froyo is a last ditch effort before I do an insurance claim.Problem is now due to certain circumstances im not going to have the money for about a week or two to replace it.
    I would really like to see if I can get it working so I can just keep keyboard closed.

    Ive read that maybe you can wipe and reset from recovery and it stops the boot but I cant seem to get into recovery.
    When you open the keyboard all lights turn off and screen is dead black. It was very very hard to get it into the SBF mode by holding up bottom, but it did work.

    Is VRZ_A955_2.3.20_1FF_01.sbf the wrong file, and which button do I hold to get into recovery (just to make sure).
    Any other Ideas?
  2. Junior Droid
    vagabond's Avatar
    Member #
    196865
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    19
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by GeraldTheOne67 View Post

    Is VRZ_A955_2.3.20_1FF_01.sbf the wrong file, and which button do I hold to get into recovery (just to make sure).
    Any other Ideas?
    OP just want to confirm for you that you have the correct sbf file and to get into recovery mode you're supposed to hold the "x" key while powering up. If you've just sbf'd the thing though it's probably not going to have the recovery mod still on it. the file size for the sbf file should be something like 455586301 bytes. I've had to sbf about 6 times in the past 2 days because for some reason i can't install any custom roms on it without it completely hosing up. Anyhow, i say that to say this.... A few of those times i had to sbf more than once because it says "success" and it actually fails miserably, but everytime i've eventually been able re-sbf to get it right and get back to froyo. If your still getting the liberty boot logo, you're not getting a good sbf. i'm using win-xp 32bit (virtual machine) and RSDlite 5.3.1. I'd just keep running the sbf on it until it was right. good luck bro.

    Update: Fixed mine - Think i had a bad download of the liberty rom. Crap happens.
    Last edited by vagabond; 12-03-2011 at 07:11 PM.
  3. Droid Newbie
    GeraldTheOne67's Avatar
    Member #
    238800
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by vagabond View Post
    OP just want to confirm for you that you have the correct sbf file and to get into recovery mode you're supposed to hold the "x" key while powering up. If you've just sbf'd the thing though it's probably not going to have the recovery mod still on it. the file size for the sbf file should be something like 455586301 bytes. I've had to sbf about 6 times in the past 2 days because for some reason i can't install any custom roms on it without it completely hosing up. Anyhow, i say that to say this.... A few of those times i had to sbf more than once because it says "success" and it actually fails miserably, but everytime i've eventually been able re-sbf to get it right and get back to froyo. If your still getting the liberty boot logo, you're not getting a good sbf. i'm using win-xp 32bit (virtual machine) and RSDlite 5.3.1. I'd just keep running the sbf on it until it was right. good luck bro.

    Update: Fixed mine - Think i had a bad download of the liberty rom. Crap happens.
    Ok I fixed mine
    It needed to have a hard reset and wipe from the recovery menu.
    Toughest part was when I opened the keyboard, the screen died.The problem is once you closed the keyboard again the screen stayed off.

    I cut electrical tape to the size of the key and bunched it up, so once I closed the keyboard it was pressed.
    The screen stayed on, saw android guy and pulled the tape out.I then used a toothpick to press the magnifying glass.
    Keyboard stayed on, wiped and wala it was done.

    Thanks for the help man, I may just keep the phone closed all the time and keep it.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. boot loop ??? liberty v .08
    By paul7602 in forum Liberty ROM DX
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-23-2011, 10:10 PM
  2. droid x boot loop and no recovery?
    By jayoh in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-10-2011, 06:21 PM
  3. Caught in a CM boot loop without recovery
    By adregner in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-15-2011, 07:42 AM
  4. Help please boot loop and no recovery
    By smcdo123 in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-11-2010, 04:16 AM
  5. boot loop and no recovery??
    By actngrezy in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-16-2010, 07:49 AM

Search tags for this page

droid 2 liberty

,

droid x liberty boot loop

,
droid2 loop recovery mode
,

install rom for droid x2

,

liberty boot loop

,

liberty droid 2 rom

,

liberty gb

,
liberty rom bionic install start in recovery
,

liberty rom boot loop

,

liberty rom boot loop bionic

,
liberty rom looping
,

reboot recovery liberty 3 droid x

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+