DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: cyanogenmod 6 RC1 and wireless tether

  1. Droid Newbie
    betoranaldi's Avatar
    Member #
    22252
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #1

    cyanogenmod 6 RC1 and wireless tether

    I'm new to rooting and was able to root my 2.1 moto droid and using ROM Manager was able to install cyanogenmod 6 RC1.

    I did this to get froyo and wireless tether.

    After installation I saw that the integrated wireless tether isn't supported so I downloaded the Android WiFi Tether (2.0.5 pre2) I got it running, I can connect to the hotspot but my computer has a self assigned IP address and can't connect to the internet.

    Does anyone have any experiance with this? Can someone help me getting this going?

    Thanks,
    B
  2. Senior Droid
    djembeman's Avatar
    Member #
    105515
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    192
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    DROID RAZR MAXX, BIONIC
    #2
    Sorry to see nobody has answered you on this. I'm trying to get Barnacle WiFi tether to work right now. Did you find any answers?
  3. Droid Newbie
    betoranaldi's Avatar
    Member #
    22252
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #3
    I still cannot get it to work.
  4. Senior Droid
    djembeman's Avatar
    Member #
    105515
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    192
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    DROID RAZR MAXX, BIONIC
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by betoranaldi View Post
    I still cannot get it to work.
    Wireless Tether from the market is working great! Good enough to make ditching my cable internet company a realistic option.
    Last edited by djembeman; 09-30-2010 at 09:07 AM.
  5. Droid Newbie
    betoranaldi's Avatar
    Member #
    22252
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by djembeman View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by betoranaldi View Post
    I still cannot get it to work.
    Wireless Tether from the market is working great! Good enough to make ditching my cable internet company a realistic option.
    your running CM6 final? I have not been able to get wireless tether to work.
  6. Senior Droid
    djembeman's Avatar
    Member #
    105515
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    192
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    DROID RAZR MAXX, BIONIC
    #6
    Yes. Are you running CyanogenMod 6.0.0 as well? I don't know if making sure to wipe data and cache would solve your problem. Wiping data and cache before flashing a ROM.
  7. Droid Newbie
    betoranaldi's Avatar
    Member #
    22252
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by djembeman View Post
    Yes. Are you running CyanogenMod 6.0.0 as well? I don't know if making sure to wipe data and cache would solve your problem. Wiping data and cache before flashing a ROM.
    yup, I wiped and cleared cache, no dice. The computer says it connects to the device but has a self assigned ip address. I have a friend who has the same problem.
  8. Senior Droid
    djembeman's Avatar
    Member #
    105515
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    192
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    DROID RAZR MAXX, BIONIC
    #8
    Are you running stock kernel or a custom one? I don't remember if I tried with the stock kernel. P3Droid Low Voltage 125-1000MHz works great for me.
  9. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #9
    The latest version of the app is well above pre2, so make sure you're running the latest version.

    Your computer has a self-assigned IP address... Are you trying to connect the computer to the phone to get online or vice versa?
  10. Developer Relations
    tp7six's Avatar
    Member #
    61666
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    11,512
    Liked
    361 times
    Twitter
    DroidForums
    Phone
    [MDK] S4
    Premium Member
    #10
    Thread moved to correct forum

    here is a FAQ also that might be helpful

    Android tethering FAQ thread

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Tether capability with android-wifi-tether (Wireless Tether for Root Users)
    By webacoustics in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 458
    Last Post: 06-29-2011, 04:37 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-05-2010, 04:39 PM
  3. Wireless Tether Help
    By mr.hughes1116 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-05-2010, 08:14 AM
  4. What Do I need (wireless tether)?????
    By NYZ93 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-04-2010, 03:54 PM
  5. How do you use wireless tether?
    By big.daddy in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-22-2010, 02:51 PM

Search tags for this page

barnacle wifi tether self assigned ip
,
cyanogenmod droid tethering
,
cyanogenmod wifi hotspot
,

cyanogenmod wifi tether

,

cyanogenmod wireless hotspot

,

cyanogenmod wireless tether

,
cyanogenmod.com wifi tether
,
issues with wireless tether lg revolution
,
lg revolution wifi tether
,
wireless tether lg revolution
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+