DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: I thought Android could run multiple apps!?

  1. Senior Droid
    supremekizzle's Avatar
    Member #
    38175
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    109
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #1

    I thought Android could run multiple apps!?

    Ok, yes it can run multiple apps except for a certain 2 at the same time. Angry Birds and Rhapsody. I know these two are probably resource hungry and one is getting killed in favor of the other (Theory). Unless one of them is just unstable. The only way I can get the two to run simutaniously is to- open angry birds then quickly go back to rhapsody and hit play and go back and press the play button on angry birds with the speed of lightning. But if my song stops playing on rhapsody I have to go back and press play which means angry birds would have reset itself. How can I fix? Could I turn the compcache and vm heap size all the way up? Thanks for your help! P.s. I'm on RC5
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Junior Droid
    everrage2's Avatar
    Member #
    30724
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    droid
    #2
    I don't think angry birds has support for multitasking yet
  4. Droid Ninja
    Se7enLC's Avatar
    Member #
    5148
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,263
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by supremekizzle View Post
    Ok, yes it can run multiple apps except for a certain 2 at the same time. Angry Birds and Rhapsody. I know these two are probably resource hungry and one is getting killed in favor of the other (Theory). Unless one of them is just unstable. The only way I can get the two to run simutaniously is to- open angry birds then quickly go back to rhapsody and hit play and go back and press the play button on angry birds with the speed of lightning. But if my song stops playing on rhapsody I have to go back and press play which means angry birds would have reset itself. How can I fix? Could I turn the compcache and vm heap size all the way up? Thanks for your help! P.s. I'm on RC5
    The Droid 1 is EXTREMELY limited on RAM. You *can* run two apps at the same time, but if either or both of them is a large app, Android will try to kick it out of ram any time it can. Unfortunately, Android seems to think that the gap between songs means that the music player is no longer needed, so it kicks it out.

    Yes, compcache or a swap drive may help with the problem. You can also make sure that there aren't any unkillable apps running in the background that have a higher priority (services you're not using, etc).
    Cool CM Tricks
    custom_backup_list.txt - make a list of files in /system that will survive a nightly install (ringtones, notifications, system apps, wallpapers, whatever)
    in Terminal Emulator, set this as your shell command: "/system/xbin/su -c /system/xbin/bash". You get all the features of bash, root access, and you can still use the initial command field for whatever you want (default is adding /data/local/bin to your path)
  5. Senior Droid
    dmo580's Avatar
    Member #
    42003
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    128
    Phone
    Motorola Milestone (Telus)
    #4
    Angry Birds supports saved states. 256mb is not enough. However my iPod Touch works perfectly fine wiht Angry Birds and other games in saved states. Sigh Android RAM issues -.-
  6. Droid Ninja
    Se7enLC's Avatar
    Member #
    5148
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,263
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by dmo580 View Post
    Angry Birds supports saved states. 256mb is not enough. However my iPod Touch works perfectly fine wiht Angry Birds and other games in saved states. Sigh Android RAM issues -.-
    Angry Birds works fine, because it's not doing anything when you switch away from it. But a music playing/streaming app is supposed to continue streaming. Saved-State won't cut it for that, especially if you are trying to play a huge game in the foreground.

    It would be nice if developers could design their music apps with a client-server model. A very lightweight server that just handles the actual streaming/playing. It takes commands from the client, which is the bloated ad+feature filled GUI app that is the reason it takes up so much memory. A GUI can work fine with saved states - it's like a mime in a forest - if it's not in the foreground, who cares if it stops updating, so long as it updates when you come back to it.

    Realistically, devices are getting more RAM, so there's no reason for developers to code for the corner-case that is the Droid, so apps will just get bigger and bigger and be less likely work work at all on the Droid, let alone work two-at-a-time.
    Cool CM Tricks
    custom_backup_list.txt - make a list of files in /system that will survive a nightly install (ringtones, notifications, system apps, wallpapers, whatever)
    in Terminal Emulator, set this as your shell command: "/system/xbin/su -c /system/xbin/bash". You get all the features of bash, root access, and you can still use the initial command field for whatever you want (default is adding /data/local/bin to your path)

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-14-2010, 06:18 AM
  2. I thought that Flash wasn't supposed to run on Android 2.1
    By AzJazz in forum HTC Droid Incredible
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 06-26-2010, 04:09 PM
  3. Multiple Home Apps
    By dkshaer in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-21-2010, 10:55 AM
  4. Multiple SMS Apps?
    By JP 5.56 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-26-2010, 09:21 PM
  5. I had a thought... wait... ummm... yah I had a thought!
    By Where'sMyCoffe? in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 02-11-2010, 03:46 PM

Search tags for this page

android open multiple apps

,
android run multiple apps
,
how to install 2 same apps on android
,

how to run two apps at once on android

,
how to use two apps at once on android
,
how to use two apps at the same time android
,
opening multiple apps on android
,

run two apps at once android

,
running multiple apps on android
,

use two apps at once android

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+