DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 50

Thread: ICS on the Thunderbolt?

  1. Senior Droid
    drew's Avatar
    Member #
    1767
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    242
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy SIII
    #11
    Quote Originally Posted by Icyhot1966 View Post
    I used the Revolution method yes. Also, don't know about uprooting as I'm not planning on doing that lol. Open Garden is wireless, so I use it for my iPad. Do you have a link for rooting the Droid! Lol
    I used this a LONG LONG time ago..

    root my droid Soup or Root's Official Blog!!
  2. Senior Droid
    4shlr's Avatar
    Member #
    175577
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    100
    Liked
    15 times
    Phone
    DROID Razr Maxx HD
    #12
    My only worry about rooting is if something happens to it & I need to send it back...nothing has gone wrong with it but my luck...lol

    here is what I used to root OG Droid, worked really well, all the downloads you need are in the description:

    How to root Moto Droid 1 on ANY version (Including 2.2.2) - YouTube
    Good Luck!



    Quote Originally Posted by Icyhot1966 View Post
    I used the Revolution method yes. Also, don't know about uprooting as I'm not planning on doing that lol. Open Garden is wireless, so I use it for my iPad. Do you have a link for rooting the Droid! Lol
  3. Senior Droid
    4shlr's Avatar
    Member #
    175577
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    100
    Liked
    15 times
    Phone
    DROID Razr Maxx HD
    #13
    Did your data get wiped in the process? Lose contacts, apps, pics??


    Quote Originally Posted by Icyhot1966 View Post
    I used the Revolution method yes. Also, don't know about uprooting as I'm not planning on doing that lol. Open Garden is wireless, so I use it for my iPad. Do you have a link for rooting the Droid! Lol
  4. sonicanatidae's Avatar
    Member #
    242726
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    40
    Liked
    1 times
    Twitter
    Bah.. garbage
    Phone
    HTC Thunderbolt
    #14
    Apparently, HTC has sent at least 1 person a positive note RE: ICS for T-Bolt.

    Clickie: Ics confirmed for thunderbolt! - Android Forums at AndroidCentral.com

    This is the internet tho, so take it with a grain of salt, but the post shows "an early 2012" release.

    Personally, I'm waiting for CM9. The Stock ICS ROM will be loaded with bloat and the Sense interface.
    Both of those make OTA's a dead end for me.

    As with anything, YMMV.
    Last edited by sonicanatidae; 01-23-2012 at 03:20 PM. Reason: typos
  5. Senior Droid
    4shlr's Avatar
    Member #
    175577
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    100
    Liked
    15 times
    Phone
    DROID Razr Maxx HD
    #15
    Did you have the latest VZW OTA update on your Bolt when you rooted? I've been trying to use the revolutionary method but doesn't seem to be working. My software is 2.3.4 with 2....something....9

    From what I've found it looks like the best method is to download the older version & then root. Is this what you did??


    Quote Originally Posted by Icyhot1966 View Post
    I rooted my Bolt 2 days ago. It was super easy and Open Garden tether app works fantastic. I still can't figure out how to root my OG Droid though lol


    Sent from my 'Bolt
  6. Senior Droid
    4shlr's Avatar
    Member #
    175577
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    100
    Liked
    15 times
    Phone
    DROID Razr Maxx HD
    #16
    Thank you! I did this today & am now really loving my touchpad!! I went with CM7 since it sounded like it was more stable, but I'm thinking now I might want to upgrade to CM9, is it worth it?

    Quote Originally Posted by drew View Post
    it's pretty bulletproof, but you'll want to read up on all the software. You can turn your TP into dual boot, but i'll bet once you get Android loaded, you'll never go back to WebOS. You'll need MOBOOT (basically a new bootloader), ACMEInstaller2, CWM (for flashing things) and CM9. Check out the rootzwiki and it will get you on the right track. Be warned: CM9 is very alpha - netflix, video and camera do not work yet.


    [Release][Alpha0] CyanogenMod 9 Touchpad - RootzWiki
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1362983

    The second link is a post to installing CM7.

    It looks like there are some ICS ROMs for our Thunderbolt, but looks like having trouble with the radio. Exciting, as ICS is awesome on the tablet.


    Sent from my 'Bolt
  7. sonicanatidae's Avatar
    Member #
    242726
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    40
    Liked
    1 times
    Twitter
    Bah.. garbage
    Phone
    HTC Thunderbolt
    #17
    Quote Originally Posted by 4shlr View Post
    Did you have the latest VZW OTA update on your Bolt when you rooted? I've been trying to use the revolutionary method but doesn't seem to be working. My software is 2.3.4 with 2....something....9

    From what I've found it looks like the best method is to download the older version & then root. Is this what you did??
    I ran revolutionary around early Dec/2011. I had updated to the most recent STOCK OTA Rom in Nov/2011.
    I *think* I was on 2.3.7 when I ran Rev.

    No problems, no issues. Gained S-OFF and Root, then used CWM to clear the caches, then install Liquid Smooth. Worked 1st time.
  8. Senior Droid
    drew's Avatar
    Member #
    1767
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    242
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy SIII
    #18
    Yes and no. If I were you, I'd probably enjoy CM7 as it has Netflix and video acceleration. I love playing with ICS on the tablet, but waiting (somewhat patiently) for a new build to get released so I can get Netflix / video back online. The upgrade path is really simple - use ACMEInstaller2 and the CM9 image. It will upgrade your CM7 environment. It's pretty slick.

    Quote Originally Posted by 4shlr View Post
    Thank you! I did this today & am now really loving my touchpad!! I went with CM7 since it sounded like it was more stable, but I'm thinking now I might want to upgrade to CM9, is it worth it?






    Sent from my 'Bolt
  9. Senior Droid
    4shlr's Avatar
    Member #
    175577
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    100
    Liked
    15 times
    Phone
    DROID Razr Maxx HD
    #19
    Thanks drew-
    New issue, I have been using this CM7 touchpad now for a couple days & have been loving it...I was using it tonight then put it down for awhile, came back & unlocked it but it seems the touchscreen isn't responding. The physical buttons work, unlock, volume, but I can't seem to touch any options. If I do a force restart will I still boot up into moboot & choose android? Starting to freak out a bit, just starting to really enjoy this pad again...fearing a KITN




    Quote Originally Posted by drew View Post
    Yes and no. If I were you, I'd probably enjoy CM7 as it has Netflix and video acceleration. I love playing with ICS on the tablet, but waiting (somewhat patiently) for a new build to get released so I can get Netflix / video back online. The upgrade path is really simple - use ACMEInstaller2 and the CM9 image. It will upgrade your CM7 environment. It's pretty slick.
  10. Senior Droid
    drew's Avatar
    Member #
    1767
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    242
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy SIII
    #20
    Yep - hold power and the hard button on the front for about 30 seconds. It will take you to moboot (and probably default to CyanogenMod) and everything will be fine. I haven't had this issue yet with CM9, but it did happen on CM7 occasionally.

    Quote Originally Posted by 4shlr View Post
    Thanks drew-
    New issue, I have been using this CM7 touchpad now for a couple days & have been loving it...I was using it tonight then put it down for awhile, came back & unlocked it but it seems the touchscreen isn't responding. The physical buttons work, unlock, volume, but I can't seem to touch any options. If I do a force restart will I still boot up into moboot & choose android? Starting to freak out a bit, just starting to really enjoy this pad again...fearing a KITN
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. does thunderbolt 2 mean end of life for thunderbolt?
    By wvdroidman in forum HTC ThunderBolt
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 09-28-2011, 05:21 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-31-2011, 05:16 PM
  3. Video Chat thunderbolt to thunderbolt
    By dn0773 in forum HTC ThunderBolt
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 06-27-2011, 04:06 PM
  4. Htc thunderbolt
    By nybadboy11 in forum Android Roms
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-14-2011, 07:48 AM
  5. VZW - Thunderbolt: To buy or not to buy
    By biker1579 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-02-2011, 06:05 PM

Search tags for this page

cyanogenmod ics thunderbolt
,
cyanogenmod thunderbolt ics
,
htc thunderbolt ics
,
htc thunderbolt ics update
,
ics for htc thunderbolt
,

ics for thunderbolt

,
ics htc thunderbolt
,

ics thunderbolt

,

thunderbolt ics

,
thunderbolt ics 2012
,
thunderbolt ics update
,
thunderbolt update 2012
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+