DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!

Thread: Install task killer or not??

1. Senior Droid
    Member #
    Liked
    12 times
    Phone
    samsung fascinate 2.1

Install task killer or not??

Sorry if this has already been posted....but I've been reading pros and cons to downloading and installing a task killer on my tb. Can someone please give me a definitive answer on whether or not it is beneficial or if it will somehow cause my phone harm. I'm really loving this phone since day one and don't want to screw it up. Any help is appreciated. Thanks!!

finally thunderboltin' and lovin it!!!!!
  2. Super Moderator
    Member #
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S3
    Premium Member
    Don't install it.

Task killer's work against the design of Android's OS...
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dro...evelopers.html
  3. Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    HTC Thunderbolt
    i am new to android and found this article very intresting. i had installed advanced task manager and found it to be a help, i was a little put of by the apps always staying open after i exited it and by apps that start without me starting them.

i guess we have been so conditioned by microsoft with all of their issues with windows and apps that this just seemed like a natural course of action.

how do we, as users, get control over these apps that start when we don't use or want them. i am talking about things like kindle, friend stream, vcast apps, mobile im, peep, tunewiki, and all the other crap that shows as running. I didn't start these apps, don't use these apps, and really would like to get rid of them(i know that can't happen right now, but i do have hope!). i read that there is a way to stop them from starting and followed the directions but they keep coming back. any advice is greatly appreciated.
  4. Super Moderator
    Member #
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S3