DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25

Thread: Taking screenshots?

  1. Droid
    Pumaro's Avatar
    Member #
    179715
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    60
    Phone
    HTC ThunderBolt
    #11
    Seems silly to need root to take screenshots. Is there any technical reason for excluding such a basic function.

    sent via ThunderBolt
    Prepare yourself for LTE speed
  2. Master Droid
    pjo1966's Avatar
    Member #
    23172
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    312
    Phone
    Thunderbolt
    #12
    Quote Originally Posted by gflam View Post
    Doing it without root is pretty ridiculous just root it makes things so much easier
    Not everyone wants to root their phone. I'm planning on doing it eventually, but i work two full time jobs. I don't have a block of time where i'm able to do it.

    Sent from my rooted Nook Color using DroidForums App
    Realtor in Los Angeles.
  3. Droid Ninja
    Natey2's Avatar
    Member #
    129768
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1,349
    Liked
    25 times
    Phone
    DROIDX
    #13
    Quote Originally Posted by gflam View Post
    Doing it without root is pretty ridiculous just root it makes things so much easier
    GB 2.3.3 has a public api for screenshots. No root needed.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  4. Droid Ninja
    Natey2's Avatar
    Member #
    129768
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1,349
    Liked
    25 times
    Phone
    DROIDX
    #14
    Quote Originally Posted by hogowner View Post
    Here is a screenshot that I just took with "SCREENSHOT app. I am rooted.

    Sent from my Thunderbolt!!!!
    Here is a screenshot of my home screen. I am running stock motoblur 2.2.1 unrooted.
    I used MyPhoneExplorer.



    No sdk install needed, but phone needs to be connected to PC via USB.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
    Last edited by Natey2; 04-18-2011 at 08:01 AM.
  5. Developer
    gflam's Avatar
    Member #
    77717
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    1,884
    Liked
    41 times
    Twitter
    @init2winitapps
    Phone
    Moto Droid/HTC Evo 3D
    DroidForums.net Developer
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    #15
    Quote Originally Posted by pjo1966 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by gflam View Post
    Doing it without root is pretty ridiculous just root it makes things so much easier
    Not everyone wants to root their phone. I'm planning on doing it eventually, but i work two full time jobs. I don't have a block of time where i'm able to do it.

    Sent from my rooted Nook Color using DroidForums App
    Well u can root and then not do anything except taking screen shots u can root and not install roms and themes and all u can keep it stock if u choose once u root ur phone is completely the same it's once u start loading other things when things change I understand some people don't want to root and that's fine it's their device to do whatever they want with I'm just saying some things are much easier when rooted and u can keep ur phone stock while rooted. As for the api in gingerbread I was unaware of that and have never even heard word of it but I guess that's possible

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  6. Master Droid
    pjo1966's Avatar
    Member #
    23172
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    312
    Phone
    Thunderbolt
    #16
    Quote Originally Posted by gflam View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by pjo1966 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by gflam View Post
    Doing it without root is pretty ridiculous just root it makes things so much easier
    Not everyone wants to root their phone. I'm planning on doing it eventually, but i work two full time jobs. I don't have a block of time where i'm able to do it.

    Sent from my rooted Nook Color using DroidForums App
    Well u can root and then not do anything except taking screen shots u can root and not install roms and themes and all u can keep it stock if u choose once u root ur phone is completely the same it's once u start loading other things when things change I understand some people don't want to root and that's fine it's their device to do whatever they want with I'm just saying some things are much easier when rooted and u can keep ur phone stock while rooted. As for the api in gingerbread I was unaware of that and have never even heard word of it but I guess that's possible

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
    I get that, and i want to root. My problem is the time commitment. There's the 1-2 hours to root, then the time to get everything configured again. If root didn't wipe everything off the phone it wouldn't be so bad.

    Sent from my rooted Nook Color using DroidForums App
    Realtor in Los Angeles.
  7. Junior Droid
    TuckerMaxx's Avatar
    Member #
    182648
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    20
    Phone
    HTC Thunderbolt
    #17
    Whats GB 2.3.3 )( Motoblur 2.2.1 and how do I get them.. I want the ability to take screenshots.. its #$E$@ f**d up.. Its funny (sad actually) I am able to do things with my TB that I would never be able to do with my old 3Gs so I kicked to the curb.. BUT..... and I say BUT.. the sad part is I can't do the simplest thing as TAKE A %@#$ SCREENSHOT on my TB.. It better be in the umm what 2.3 update is it...
  8. Master Droid
    jellybean420's Avatar
    Member #
    58139
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    527
    Phone
    Droid 1, Droid X
    #18
    Quote Originally Posted by TuckerMaxx View Post
    Whats GB 2.3.3 )( Motoblur 2.2.1 and how do I get them.. I want the ability to take screenshots.. its #$E$@ f**d up.. Its funny (sad actually) I am able to do things with my TB that I would never be able to do with my old 3Gs so I kicked to the curb.. BUT..... and I say BUT.. the sad part is I can't do the simplest thing as TAKE A %@#$ SCREENSHOT on my TB.. It better be in the umm what 2.3 update is it...
    Shootme from the market takes a screenshot I just tested it. Don't know why you can't. Maybe your using the wrong app. Does require root tho.

    Sent From My Thunderbolt
  9. Junior Droid
    TuckerMaxx's Avatar
    Member #
    182648
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    20
    Phone
    HTC Thunderbolt
    #19
    Thats what I mean.. WHY do I have to root.. I didnt have to root/jailbreak with a iPhone.. I just think it should be included.. soo many times i needed/wanted a screenshot.. and had to tell my iphone friends.. sorry nothing I can do..

    just hope they can have the GOnads.. to include this... ehhhh
  10. Developer
    gflam's Avatar
    Member #
    77717
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    1,884
    Liked
    41 times
    Twitter
    @init2winitapps
    Phone
    Moto Droid/HTC Evo 3D
    DroidForums.net Developer
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    #20
    Well rooting really isn't that hard and once u are screen shots are a breeze

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. screenshots?
    By yummylishouz in forum Samsung Fascinate Development
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-26-2011, 05:54 PM
  2. Does anyone know of an app to take screenshots with?
    By Droid.DSM in forum Motorola Droid 2
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-26-2011, 02:59 PM
  3. Question Regarding Taking Screenshots
    By Willio in forum Droid X Tech Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-04-2010, 04:16 PM
  4. screenshots of ss 4.6
    By mikeew83 in forum ChevyNo1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-05-2010, 11:14 AM
  5. Screenshots.
    By motoDROID.FTW in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-15-2010, 12:33 AM

Search tags for this page

how to screenshot on htc thunderbolt
,
how to take a screenshot on a htc thunderbolt
,
how to take a screenshot on android verizon htc thunderbolt
,

how to take a screenshot on htc thunderbolt

,

how to take a screenshot on thunderbolt

,

how to take a screenshot on verizon thunderbolt

,
how to take a screenshot with htc thunderbolt
,

htc thunderbolt screenshot

,
screenshot on thunderbolt
,

thunderbolt screenshot

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+