DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: FoxFi question

  1. Droid Ninja
    cybertec69's Avatar
    Member #
    60551
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Staten Island, NY
    Posts
    1,685
    Liked
    162 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S3 R-U/Galaxy S4
    #1

    FoxFi question

    Hi, how come FoxFi does not work with the Rezound, it works just fine with my Samsung S3. Has anyone here been able to make it work with their Rezound and what steps did you take, thanks.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Super Moderator
    mountainbikermark's Avatar
    Member #
    114152
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3,025
    Liked
    696 times
    Phone
    Note 2
    Premium Member
    #2
    I use it via Bluetooth. Speeds are fine and I don't get the battery heat and drain of using hotspot. Pdanet tablet on my tablets.

    Support Our Troops! !!!
    <><
    From my Beano
    The United States is the land of the free because of the brave.
    To all who serve or have served in the U.S. military and to your families, THANK YOU. Your sacrifices are NOT in vain!
    May God continue to bless the USA
  4. Master Droid
    acejavelin's Avatar
    Member #
    264612
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    North Dakota, USA
    Posts
    749
    Liked
    30 times
    Phone
    Nexus 4 / LG G2
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by cybertec69 View Post
    Hi, how come FoxFi does not work with the Rezound, it works just fine with my Samsung S3. Has anyone here been able to make it work with their Rezound and what steps did you take, thanks.
    Why? There was some discussion on this a few weeks ago, there is a hidden service (might not be the correct technical term) that is running in the Rezound that completely blocks any use of "hotspot" features that do not use the embedded application (that is billable) without root access to the device. It is thought this is more of a Verizon thing than a HTC thing, but it is tied in to Sense pretty tightly and no one has been able to find away around it in the Rezound.

    Although it might change, I doubt it, so your options are pay for the tether, or root and use Wireless Tether.

    There are working Bluetooth and USB options available though, just not free WiFi tethering
  5. Droid Ninja
    LoudRam's Avatar
    Member #
    149879
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Southern NJ
    Posts
    1,216
    Liked
    137 times
    Phone
    Moto X
    #4
    There is something with older HTC phones that prevents Foxfi (wifi) from working because it says it only works with the newer HTC phones. I tried Foxfi (bluetooth) and it connected but the phone gave me the VZ warning about paying for hot spot usage. Foxfi does have a "hide tether" feature but it only works with wifi not with bt. So I now use pdanet. It's usb not wifi tether but it works great and it has a "hide tether" option which I use. It also has bt tether but I haven't tried that yet. I used it for hours at a time this past weekend and it never dropped out once.
    Droid does...Apple bites

  6. Droid
    Yonahdad's Avatar
    Member #
    217771
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    34
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Note III
    #5
    It works w/ICS...
  7. Master Droid
    Snoking's Avatar
    Member #
    62442
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    715
    Liked
    30 times
    Phone
    Moto X
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Yonahdad
    It works w/ICS...
    Explain please. Rooted or Bluetooth? WiFi does not work for those that are not rooted.
    Rezound User - Retired Techie
  8. Droid
    Yonahdad's Avatar
    Member #
    217771
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    34
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Note III
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Snoking View Post
    Explain please. Rooted or Bluetooth? WiFi does not work for those that are not rooted.
    Wifi.. I guess I was lucky then.
  9. Master Droid
    Snoking's Avatar
    Member #
    62442
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    715
    Liked
    30 times
    Phone
    Moto X
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Yonahdad

    Wifi.. I guess I was lucky then.
    So again I ask for you to explain the details!
    Rezound User - Retired Techie
  10. Master Droid
    acejavelin's Avatar
    Member #
    264612
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    North Dakota, USA
    Posts
    749
    Liked
    30 times
    Phone
    Nexus 4 / LG G2
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Yonahdad View Post
    Wifi.. I guess I was lucky then.
    More than lucky, you are the ONLY one I have heard of to get this working... care to pass along the details, exact versions of app and ROM, app settings, etc. please?
  11. Droid
    Yonahdad's Avatar
    Member #
    217771
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    34
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Note III
    #10
    I am not a tech guy, so I really didn't do anything special. It didn't work when I had Gingerbread; but once I got ICS I clicked on 'Activate Wifi Hotspot' so now I am able to use my tablet w/o any issues. I am not being vague, I just didn't do anything extra for it to work. Have yall tried deleting & adding the app back?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. foxfi
    By jpvd in forum HTC Droid Incredible 4G
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-30-2012, 12:35 PM
  2. FoxFi Question
    By bluezdawg in forum Motorola Droid Bionic
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-17-2012, 08:01 PM
  3. FoxFi Help
    By Russfox40 in forum Droid RAZR
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-06-2012, 09:25 PM
  4. Foxfi
    By Brad91 in forum Droid RAZR MAXX
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: 06-04-2012, 09:00 PM
  5. Anyone use the FoxFi App
    By drgnshadow85 in forum Droid RAZR
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 05-05-2012, 12:25 PM

Search tags for this page

bluetooth foxfi
,
does foxfi hide tether usage
,
does foxfi work on thunderbolt
,

foxfi bluetooth

,
foxfi for htc
,

foxfi hide tether usage

,
hide tether usage foxfi
,
how does foxfi bluetooth work
,
how to hide tether usage with foxfi
,
htc thunderbolt foxfi
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+