DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 30
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Gps app

  1. Senior Droid
    svdroiddude's Avatar
    Member #
    257676
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    164
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Rezound
    #11
    Quote Originally Posted by Coupe View Post
    Seriously? Google maps is the best we got? We're doomed. It may be fine for cruising around on streets when you have a data connection,but you can't cache enough to get very far on a road trip and I don't think you can use it for geocaching, tracks, premade routs or working with long/lat coords.

    I really think some people have never actually owned a real gps device.
    Actually you can cache areas on Google Maps now...and it works pretty well. Navigation even will cache your route so it's pretty useful in most applications. If you are going off the grid all the time get a stand alone GPS.
  2. Master Droid
    HowardZ's Avatar
    Member #
    255204
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    546
    Liked
    16 times
    Phone
    Rezound
    #12
    I recall reading somewhere that Garmin has a $40 app that runs like a Garmin nuvi GPS. if I recall correctly is goes under the trade name if navigon.

    I do not know how well it works.
  3. Senior Droid
    Coupe's Avatar
    Member #
    242409
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    140
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Rezound
    #13
    Quote Originally Posted by svdroiddude View Post
    Actually you can cache areas on Google Maps now...and it works pretty well. Navigation even will cache your route so it's pretty useful in most applications. If you are going off the grid all the time get a stand alone GPS.
    Yea, that's why i pointed out that whole cache thing in my post? It works so long as you stay in the small cached area. Dont you find it at all odd that you cannot cache the entire USA ? You have enough memory to do that, or at least 3 or 4 states. The reason google limits your cache to the area about the size of a county is for tracking purposes. I can't stand that, of course they will tell us they limit cache sizes so they can be sure we have "the most current data for a better experience", I call bs on that.
    I know that the new iOS and windows phone from Nokia offer a much better solution to make your phone use that gps chip and turn your phone into a dedicated gps.

    It's sad that google is limiting users with this tactic, I am betting its just so they can sell even more of our personal data.

    Oh, and I have two dedicated gps devices, one is mil spec and water proof to three feet ( why three is beyond me, rain I guess). Anyway, this rezound has a cost of over $500 and google is limiting your options with google maps and reselling who you are,what you search for both in search and maps, where you go and how long you stay there....and that is how they make the billions.

    Needless to say this is my first android device, and it will probably be my last due to the theft of personal information unless google changes how apps interact with each other and how they use sneaky tactics like limiting my off line map cache just to require me to connect to the network to find out where I am.

    Why do people tolerate this is just ponderous. You have to agree that Carl Marx, Lennon, Stalin & hitler would have used these tools for bad things, why do you think the powerful now are any different?
    Last edited by Coupe; 07-29-2012 at 08:54 AM.
  4. Super Moderator
    mountainbikermark's Avatar
    Member #
    114152
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3,025
    Liked
    696 times
    Phone
    Note 2
    Premium Member
    #14
    Quote Originally Posted by electricman58 View Post
    Roflmao!!! He's not goin to War! Nice App though ;P

    Looks great for calling in Artillery!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
    I guess my needs for a GPS are different. I only use my stand alone for getting bearing while bike riding in the woods, not mapping my destination.
    I initially got this app for the sole purpose of making my phones GPS become usable faster. It also picks up satellites in thick foliage, something my eTreks won't reliably and consistently do.
    For mapping and creating way points I use Geo Reader, also free.
    For a Google Maps like app with lots more ability GPS Essentials can't be beat, another freebie.

    Support Our Troops!!!
    <><
    A Rezound phone was used for this Tapatalk post
    Last edited by mountainbikermark; 07-29-2012 at 01:25 PM.
    electricman58 likes this.
    The United States is the land of the free because of the brave.
    To all who serve or have served in the U.S. military and to your families, THANK YOU. Your sacrifices are NOT in vain!
    May God continue to bless the USA
  5. RS/Moderator
    Abe21599's Avatar
    Member #
    18400
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    6,334
    Liked
    71 times
    Phone
    S3, G2, M8
    Premium Member
    #15
    I didnt buy this phone to use as a GPS, although it's nice to have. If you need GPS all the time, a standalone device would be better.

    and google "stealing" your information? sneaky tactics? no one says you have to use their services... have fun finding a phone that doesn't ask for your information.
  6. Senior Droid
    marioval's Avatar
    Member #
    258445
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    145
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #16
    If you have a limited data plan are you are using your phone as a GPS navigator, then G Maps may not be the best solution for you. You need an onboard Nav app that stores all the maps and POI's on your phone and uses very little if any data. There is a free app called NavFreeUSA that uses OSM maps (free open source community maps. Like Wikipedia but with maps) Its a decent app but not great. One time it told me to go straight where there was a river and I know for a fact there was never a bridge there! I myself bought Sygic ($40 USD) and use it very often and love it! Both of these allow you to download your maps from home on wifi then use them to navigate with no data use. Another benefit of these onboard apps is they will continue to work even if you are in an area with no cell coverage. For my wife's iphone we got Igo Primo for $25 USD and thats a great one too.
    Last edited by marioval; 08-01-2012 at 07:37 AM.
  7. RS/Moderator
    Abe21599's Avatar
    Member #
    18400
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    6,334
    Liked
    71 times
    Phone
    S3, G2, M8
    Premium Member
    #17
    But even you start talking about prices like that, you can get a basic TomTom or Garmin for like $60, so it's really how you want to approach the situation..

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
  8. Senior Droid
    marioval's Avatar
    Member #
    258445
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    145
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #18
    $40 is less than $60. That's how I approached it.
  9. Master Droid
    HowardZ's Avatar
    Member #
    255204
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    546
    Liked
    16 times
    Phone
    Rezound
    #19
    Well, if someone has a Garmin nuvi that broke, and has an older phone laying around unused, and likes the GPS to be a separate device....then $40 for the Garmin Android app might be nice.

    I don't know if the app has all the features of a real nuvi.
  10. tc1
    tc1 is offline
    Master Droid
    tc1's Avatar
    Member #
    3042
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    586
    Liked
    18 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #20
    Quote Originally Posted by HowardZ View Post
    I recall reading somewhere that Garmin has a $40 app that runs like a Garmin nuvi GPS. if I recall correctly is goes under the trade name if navigon.

    I do not know how well it works.
    Navigon actually works really well, although for some reason I have to have a data connection when the app 1st starts up.

    Maybe it's phoning home for piracy reasons, but it defeats the whole point of being able to have maps on board.

    Google needs to add an actual compass and way points.
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

best app for gps rezound\
,
droid htc gps app
,

free gps apps

,
gmail+new account
,
howardz garmin
,
htc rezound gps location best app
,
htz rezound navigation app
,
igo primo gps android bionic
,
igo primo gps maps for raza droid
,

which is the best gps app for htc rezound

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+