DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Phone doesnt check for updates!!

  1. Droid
    MrToneBonez's Avatar
    Member #
    222136
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    65
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #1

    Phone doesnt check for updates!!

    Hey everyone, I am having issues with my rezound. Specifically whenever I go to phone updates, software updates and check new, I get a pop up that says checking for new software availiable now however it quickly disappears and nothing happens. I don't know if it matters however this rezound is a clnr sent to me from verizon about a month ago. When I checked for updates on my previous rezound it would give me a message saying there were no new updates available. Anyone experience similar situations, or have any suggestions??
    Last edited by MrToneBonez; 06-21-2012 at 09:01 PM.
  2. Droid
    MikeyTG's Avatar
    Member #
    258992
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    33
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #2
    You should get a message that no updates are available (or one IS available, someday...!). I had an issue like that a few weeks ago, powering off/on fixed it.
  3. Droid
    MrToneBonez's Avatar
    Member #
    222136
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    65
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #3
    I have tried that several times, and still no luck :-( . Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
  4. Moderator
    MrSmith317's Avatar
    Member #
    51450
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    1,578
    Liked
    112 times
    Phone
    HTC One
    Premium Member
    #4
    Did you do a factory reset when you got the phone? Also, have you checked to see if the phone is unlocked/running a ROM? Verizon does NOT check their phones very well when they receive them and some may still have the software from the previous owner on them.
    Helpful Rezound Links:
    Guide to Unlocking, Rooting, ROM'ing, and FAQ

    Did you know: You can upgrade your Rezound to ICS without rooting?

    Fun Rezound Fact: The antennas for the Rezound are in the battery cover.

    Don't forget to backup your flash player install before they remove it from the Android Market.

    If you don't understand something, ask questions.
    Please follow the posting guidelines.

    An investment in knowledge pays the best interest.
    Benjamin Franklin
  5. Droid
    MrToneBonez's Avatar
    Member #
    222136
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    65
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #5
    I have not done a factory reset as of yet however the phone does not seem to be running any roms or have a superuser icon. Do you recommend I try the factory reset ?
  6. Senior Droid
    indee2025's Avatar
    Member #
    54848
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    175
    Liked
    15 times
    Twitter
    @indee83
    Phone
    DROID BIONIC
    #6
    Why don't you try going into the settings>applications>running services>tap the htc updater or android updater and stop it/force stop it>hit the sub menu button to show cached processes button....then click on the updater or htc updater or both and kill the process..then try to search for updates again...*it might not be one of the two I listed in the cached processes but killing those won't cause an issue, I did it myself just now to be sure, the idea is to clear the data & cause the device to really search for the data again when you check for updates...
  7. Droid
    MrToneBonez's Avatar
    Member #
    222136
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    65
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #7
    Okay so I attempts your steps indee However the only running app that you listed was android updater and it was only visible under the show cached option. There is no htc updater on my device I even reset it twice. Idk what to do lol :-( I'm trying anything to avoid a factory reset so any other suggestions would be great
  8. Senior Droid
    indee2025's Avatar
    Member #
    54848
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    175
    Liked
    15 times
    Twitter
    @indee83
    Phone
    DROID BIONIC
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by MrToneBonez View Post
    Okay so I attempts your steps indee However the only running app that you listed was android updater and it was only visible under the show cached option. There is no htc updater on my device I even reset it twice. Idk what to do lol :-( I'm trying anything to avoid a factory reset so any other suggestions would be great
    Did you stop the cached process?
  9. Droid
    MrToneBonez's Avatar
    Member #
    222136
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    65
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #9
    Yes I did, then immediately did a restart. No luck, I then did a factory reset and still the same thing. :-??
  10. Droid
    MrToneBonez's Avatar
    Member #
    222136
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    65
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #10
    Also what should a stock Kernel be??
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. check for updates not available
    By Smoke#14 in forum Droid Bionic Tech Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-15-2012, 04:03 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-23-2012, 11:03 AM
  3. Phone lockscreen doesnt work, and power/home button doesnt turn screen on
    By SouthernGeorge in forum Droid X Tech Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-28-2011, 11:38 PM
  4. Check for Updates
    By silver6054 in forum Motorola Droid 2 Global
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-16-2011, 09:42 AM
  5. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-14-2010, 12:04 AM

Search tags for this page

droid incredible check for updates
,

force htc incredible to check for update

,
how to force android update on htc incredible
,

how to force htc incredible update

,

htc incredible check for updates

,

htc incredible force update check

,

htc rezound wont check for updates

,

htc rezound wont update

,
htc updater
,
rezound wont update
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+