DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23

Thread: Htc rezound camera wont load

  1. Droid Ninja
    LoudRam's Avatar
    Member #
    149879
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Southern NJ
    Posts
    1,217
    Liked
    139 times
    Phone
    Moto X
    #11
    Quote Originally Posted by MissP00tie

    Hi,

    I am having the same issue with my HTC Rezound. I click on the camera icon, and it brings up a black screen for a split second, and then goes back to the apps menu. I have tried holding my finger and thumb over the rear and front camera, and unfortunately, that didn't work. I am unable to try the second option, (clicking on the "switch to front facing camera") because my camera doesn't stay open long enough to even click on that option.

    This phone has not been modified in any way. It was purchased brand new at a Verizon store within the last two months. I've also tried to factory reset, and this doesn't help either. Any other suggestions, or should I just take it in to the store?

    Thanks for any help!
    Have you tried the other suggestion indee had? Going into settings and force stop your camera app.

    Sent from my HTC Rezound infused with ice cream goodness using Droid Forums.
    Droid does...Apple bites

  2. Senior Droid
    indee2025's Avatar
    Member #
    54848
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    175
    Liked
    15 times
    Twitter
    @indee83
    Phone
    DROID BIONIC
    #12
    Quote Originally Posted by MissP00tie View Post
    Hi,

    I am having the same issue with my HTC Rezound. I click on the camera icon, and it brings up a black screen for a split second, and then goes back to the apps menu. I have tried holding my finger and thumb over the rear and front camera, and unfortunately, that didn't work. I am unable to try the second option, (clicking on the "switch to front facing camera") because my camera doesn't stay open long enough to even click on that option.

    This phone has not been modified in any way. It was purchased brand new at a Verizon store within the last two months. I've also tried to factory reset, and this doesn't help either. Any other suggestions, or should I just take it in to the store?

    Thanks for any help!
    If your camera worked for a bit & then suddenly one day it just goes to a black screen then back to the menu there are a couple of possible solutions that come to mind. First off, did you recently download an app that in the permissions for it's use asks to access the camera? That maybe the first place to look but requires a good memory!

    1) Download a third party free camera app from the marketplace.....does the camera respond when you use the new app from the market? (try any of the free camera apps you'd like, just be cautious of suspicious permissions) You can uninstall the app later.

    2) Go to settings>applications>running services>click the camera app and stop it...go to the stock camera app and try it again, if it still force closes and returns to the main screen, go into the gallery app, once there click the upper right corner of the screen on the word "camera"....does it launch you into the camera or does it force close?

    One or both of these tricks will hopefully restore the camera launching function as demanded directly from the camera app icon but if not....

    Most definitely head back into the Verizon store and ask for a replacement...the only reason I'd suggest the tricks be done prior to returning the device is because the Rezound is an out-of-the-box solid device and ethically we should try to fix the issue if we know how or it's something caused by downloading a recent app that had conflicts with the stock camera app; but if that's not reasonably possible then it's time for Verizon & HTC to pony up and give you what you paid for which was a 100% fully functional device. Hope that helps!
    Last edited by indee2025; 06-18-2012 at 01:07 PM.
  3. Droid Newbie
    eclaire426's Avatar
    Member #
    267315
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Motorola DROID RAZR
    #13
    Quote Originally Posted by indee2025 View Post
    Sure, first put the camera icon on the home screen then I just need a good description on what happens when you activate your camera from that icon, then after you activate it hit home (not back button) then reopen it again and note what happens, then go into the settings>applications>running services>tap the camera icon in the running services and stop or force stop it then open it again from the home screen icon and note what happens...if you can come back and post that info I can try to narrow it down.
    Ok: after putting the icon on the home screen I opened it and it brought up the camera app (with a black screen rather than an image). I hit home, it brought me to the home screen Nd then reopened the app and it was a black screen with the top bar (time, notifications, etc) being the only thing showing. After about 10 seconds it closed and went to the one screen. When I went to settings to stop the app, it wasn't on the list of running apps for me to stop. When I tried opening it again, my entire screen was black for about 20-30 seconds and then went back to the home screen.
  4. Droid Newbie
    MissP00tie's Avatar
    Member #
    267816
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #14
    Hi,

    Thank you for the help. I tried the suggestions given, and unfortunately none helped. I did try a factory reset one more time just for kicks, and it actually fixed the problem this time. Since the problem is resolved, should I still consider taking it back to Verizon?

    Thanks again!
  5. Droid Ninja
    LoudRam's Avatar
    Member #
    149879
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Southern NJ
    Posts
    1,217
    Liked
    139 times
    Phone
    Moto X
    #15
    Quote Originally Posted by MissP00tie
    Hi,

    Thank you for the help. I tried the suggestions given, and unfortunately none helped. I did try a factory reset one more time just for kicks, and it actually fixed the problem this time. Since the problem is resolved, should I still consider taking it back to Verizon?

    Thanks again!
    Since the problem is fixed and you're past the two week window they would most likely do nothing because it works now. Their go to fix when they can't figure it out is a factory reset so that's all they would have done to it and handed it right back to you anyway. If your phone was a new phone and it's working fine I'd say hold onto it. If you return it there is a good chance that you'll get a refurbished phone instead of a new one. But if your worried that it'll happen again try and exchange it. The worst they can do is say no.

    Sent from my HTC Rezound infused with ice cream goodness using Droid Forums.
    Last edited by LoudRam; 06-21-2012 at 03:31 AM.
    Droid does...Apple bites

  6. Senior Droid
    indee2025's Avatar
    Member #
    54848
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    175
    Liked
    15 times
    Twitter
    @indee83
    Phone
    DROID BIONIC
    #16
    Quote Originally Posted by eclaire426 View Post
    Ok: after putting the icon on the home screen I opened it and it brought up the camera app (with a black screen rather than an image). I hit home, it brought me to the home screen Nd then reopened the app and it was a black screen with the top bar (time, notifications, etc) being the only thing showing. After about 10 seconds it closed and went to the one screen. When I went to settings to stop the app, it wasn't on the list of running apps for me to stop. When I tried opening it again, my entire screen was black for about 20-30 seconds and then went back to the home screen.
    Ok, I still need to know what happened when you tried the tricks from my previous posts in this thread...did you try a 3rd party camera app? If so what were the results, try at least 2 different free camera apps and let me know what occurred, it's the easier to narrow down the issue if it can be replicated across different apps...a factory reset is like walking blindfolded across a busy street-it works for some but not for others...it's better to replicate the issue on demand by narrowing down what isn't the problem so we can treat the problem directly-a factory reset may work but you will never know why it worked or if the problem will come back...
  7. Senior Droid
    indee2025's Avatar
    Member #
    54848
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    175
    Liked
    15 times
    Twitter
    @indee83
    Phone
    DROID BIONIC
    #17
    Quote Originally Posted by MissP00tie View Post
    Hi,

    Thank you for the help. I tried the suggestions given, and unfortunately none helped. I did try a factory reset one more time just for kicks, and it actually fixed the problem this time. Since the problem is resolved, should I still consider taking it back to Verizon?

    Thanks again!
    I agree with LoudRam to a point-if its indeed fixed and you're not experiencing issues then there should be no need, sometimes apps conflict with each other and something as simple as a reset may clear logs/temp data and eliminate the conflict....but make no mistake, 2 week window or not, you got this under a contract and have a warranty which should be at least 1 year, so if you are experiencing the same issue during that year take it back as it's probably not just a glitch at that point...until then enjoy your device!
  8. Droid Newbie
    eclaire426's Avatar
    Member #
    267315
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Motorola DROID RAZR
    #18
    Quote Originally Posted by indee2025 View Post
    Ok, I still need to know what happened when you tried the tricks from my previous posts in this thread...did you try a 3rd party camera app? If so what were the results, try at least 2 different free camera apps and let me know what occurred, it's the easier to narrow down the issue if it can be replicated across different apps...a factory reset is like walking blindfolded across a busy street-it works for some but not for others...it's better to replicate the issue on demand by narrowing down what isn't the problem so we can treat the problem directly-a factory reset may work but you will never know why it worked or if the problem will come back...
    I tried 3 different third party camera apps... The first time I opened each of them after downloading they opened and showed the options for the app along the border, but the space in the center where the image should be to take a picture was black. When I tried to touch an option on the outside or even push the shutter button to take a picture the entire app went black and froze until I hit the home or back screen. When I went into settings to close the app, it wasn't in the list of running apps to close. A day or two later I tried opening again and they didn't open at all.. Just a black screen. I also recently tried to Skype and the video portion wouldn't load (mine or the video image of the other person on my screen); but we did still get the audio working normally. If I tried to turn on the video or change front/ back camera it froze and disconnected. Once it even froze my entire phone and I had to restart it.
  9. Senior Droid
    indee2025's Avatar
    Member #
    54848
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    175
    Liked
    15 times
    Twitter
    @indee83
    Phone
    DROID BIONIC
    #19
    Quote Originally Posted by eclaire426 View Post
    I tried 3 different third party camera apps... The first time I opened each of them after downloading they opened and showed the options for the app along the border, but the space in the center where the image should be to take a picture was black. When I tried to touch an option on the outside or even push the shutter button to take a picture the entire app went black and froze until I hit the home or back screen. When I went into settings to close the app, it wasn't in the list of running apps to close. A day or two later I tried opening again and they didn't open at all.. Just a black screen. I also recently tried to Skype and the video portion wouldn't load (mine or the video image of the other person on my screen); but we did still get the audio working normally. If I tried to turn on the video or change front/ back camera it froze and disconnected. Once it even froze my entire phone and I had to restart it.
    In my opinion, if it were a software bug like I've seen numerous times in the past it would have been cleared up via one of these methods, unfortunately it sounds to me like the camera hardware is faulty, it sounds like the camera software is trying to do it's job but the hardware is causing an error so that in turn makes the software error-you get the black screen/timeout-& the device returns to a state of use IE home screen or the like...if you're lucky & it's under warranty because you got this on contract you can exchange it but if not simply google some ifixit type repair shops in your area and ask them what it will cost to replace the camera in your Rezound BUT DONT PAY THAT PRICE, just get an idea of what it cost...then go on ebay or another source and buy the camera yourself, then go back to that same shop and ask them how much to fix it & let them know you already have the correct part...it will give you the best chance of paying the lowest price since it now gives you room to discover what their labor costs are....(Oh & don't try to replace the camera yourself unless you are a retired watch maker or beyond incredibly confident that you can do it....read some posts in this forum of DIY Rezound nightmares before attempting a DIY)
  10. Droid Newbie
    Solitary's Avatar
    Member #
    312794
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    HTC Wildfire
    #20
    Hello;

    Dear I am in trouble, I have HTC wildfire. its camera is not working when I go in camera apps then black screen turns on and just can be back in menu from 'home button' I have reset factory setting I have reset hard factory setting. I have pulled out my battery sim and Sd card and again put but nothing happened, kindly advice me please
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. apps wont load?
    By zahammy in forum Droid Incredible Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-21-2010, 11:32 PM
  2. Custom Rom Wont Load!
    By Marc322 in forum Droid Rooted Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-28-2010, 01:45 PM
  3. Camera wont load
    By aceofskies05 in forum Droid Incredible Tech Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-14-2010, 10:09 PM
  4. rom wont load
    By mikeofmikes83 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-13-2010, 06:57 PM
  5. gallery wont load
    By tktouch12 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-01-2010, 01:11 PM

Search tags for this page

camera not working on htc rezound

,
camera wont open on htc rezound
,
camera wont work on htc rezound
,
htc rezound camera
,

htc rezound camera not working

,

htc rezound camera wont open

,
htc rezound camera wont work
,
htc wildfire camera not working
,
my camera wont work on my htc rezound
,

rezound camera not working

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+