DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Did I mess up

  1. Junior Droid
    Allstar's Avatar
    Member #
    258496
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #1

    Did I mess up

    The other day I downloaded CleanRom ICSE 3.7, it is a nice sleek rom just had some bugs. So I went into Amon Ra to and tried to restore my nandroid backup I made of my stock rom that was unlocked and rooted. It said it completed, then asked to reboot. Every time it would would boot to the HTC screen and then it would go to a blank screen and stick there. When I booted using down arrow/power, it would come up on the Hboot option and load an image and ask to reboot and continued in this process. Did I do something wrong.
  2. Moderator
    MrSmith317's Avatar
    Member #
    51450
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    1,578
    Liked
    112 times
    Phone
    HTC One
    Premium Member
    #2
    Even when you restore a backup you still need to flash the kernel. If you have the kernel from that ROM in boot.img format, you flash it with "fastboot flash boot boot.img" . If you have it in PH98IMG.zip form, drop it on your external SD and reboot into HBOOT(Power off, then power on holding power and volume down). If you don't have it at all, you can cheat if you backed up the boot partition. Steal boot.img from your nandroid and flash it with fastboot(same as above)
    Helpful Rezound Links:
    Guide to Unlocking, Rooting, ROM'ing, and FAQ

    Did you know: You can upgrade your Rezound to ICS without rooting?

    Fun Rezound Fact: The antennas for the Rezound are in the battery cover.

    Don't forget to backup your flash player install before they remove it from the Android Market.

    If you don't understand something, ask questions.
    Please follow the posting guidelines.

    An investment in knowledge pays the best interest.
    Benjamin Franklin
  3. Junior Droid
    Allstar's Avatar
    Member #
    258496
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #3
    That is what I thought. But I had that thought after I was already having issues and needed to get to sleep because I had a 15 hour drive ahead of me.
  4. Droid
    brianjcohen's Avatar
    Member #
    25450
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    83
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #4
    I did the exact same thing as the OP and so I'm in the same situation. However I'm not sure I understand how to fix the problem; I can't seem to get the phone into a state where I can flash the boot.img from my PC because I'm in an update loop. Like the OP, when I boot with power+voldown it automatically jumps into loading a PH* image and asking if I want to update. If I say yes, it applys the update and prompts me to reboot. If I say no, it says "Cannot update" and prompts me to reboot. At any step in this process if I try to flash the boot.img from my PC I get "device not found".

    I googled around and it seems like if I replace the PH* file on the SD card I might be able to get out of this -- would this mean I'd need to go buy an adapter that lets me mount my microSD card on my PC?

    Any help much appreciated! Thank goodness it's Sunday, but I need my phone back for work tomorrow
  5. Droid
    brianjcohen's Avatar
    Member #
    25450
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    83
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #5
    Okay I see that if I remove the microSD card from the device I can get into HBOOT with power+voldown without incurring an update loop, so far so good. However when I'm in HBOOT and I try to flash the kernel from my PC (using Hasoon2000's HTC Rezound All-In-One Kit), adb is coming up with a "device not found." What do you guys think?
  6. Droid
    brianjcohen's Avatar
    Member #
    25450
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    83
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #6
    Okay, I think I got this fixed now. The problem seems to be that not all 'fastboot' binaries are created equal. I remember running into this back when I first unlocked and rooted my Rezound. When I went back to the folder on my PC containing the files I'd used to successfully unlock and root, I used the fastboot.exe I found in there and to run 'fastboot flash boot \path\to\boot.img' (where boot.img was extracted from the PH98* zipfile from scottsroms.com in the stock rom file dated 1/27) and it flashed okay. Rebooted and all is well. Thinking the next step is to just remove the PH98* file off the SD card now, since that belongs to CleanRom ?

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. So how bad can we mess up our x2s?
    By tjoh311 in forum Droid X2 Development
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-04-2011, 09:19 PM
  2. Did I mess it up?
    By valid in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-16-2011, 08:16 PM
  3. Verizon mess up = Win?
    By lerit50 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-03-2011, 03:35 PM
  4. need help i mess up
    By droid949 in forum Droid Incredible Tech Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-16-2011, 03:25 PM
  5. What a mess
    By CheathamHill in forum Droid 2 Tech Issues
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-07-2010, 03:22 AM

Search tags for this page

aio flasher device not found

,

android aio flasher device not found

,

hasoon2000 device not found

,

hasoon2000 error device not found

,

htc rezound device not found

,

htc rezound error device not found

,

htc rezound hboot

,

rezound adb device not found

,
rezound device not found
,

rezound error device not found

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+