DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Can't hear the caller

  1. Droid
    nickelocene's Avatar
    Member #
    108349
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    56
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    Can't hear the caller

    I just had the brand new Rezound for 3 days, and now I have a problem, I can't hear the caller. At least 3 out of 5 incoming calls, the caller can hear me clearly, but all I can hear is static through either BT headset, or from the phone directly. So, I went into the VZW store and got a brand new replacement. They used the same SIM card though. Now the problem is that 70% of my incoming call goes directly to my voice mail. For the rest 30%, sometime I can hear the caller, sometime I got static as the last one.
    So, is this a known issue? Anyone else is having the same problem? What should I do? Go get another replacement?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Moderator
    MrSmith317's Avatar
    Member #
    51450
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    1,578
    Liked
    112 times
    Phone
    HTC One
    Premium Member
    #2
    Maybe it's your BT? Have you tried another BT? Do the calls work via the handset?
    Helpful Rezound Links:
    Guide to Unlocking, Rooting, ROM'ing, and FAQ

    Did you know: You can upgrade your Rezound to ICS without rooting?

    Fun Rezound Fact: The antennas for the Rezound are in the battery cover.

    Don't forget to backup your flash player install before they remove it from the Android Market.

    If you don't understand something, ask questions.
    Please follow the posting guidelines.

    An investment in knowledge pays the best interest.
    Benjamin Franklin
  4. Droid
    nickelocene's Avatar
    Member #
    108349
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    56
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #3
    No, it's not the BT. I have the same problem with handset after I turned the BT off. What's more troubling is the problem with the second phone, that most of my calls went directly to the voice mail. I wonder if this is a 3G/4G issue, as I don't have 4G coverage at home, that's where I tested the second phone.
  5. Super Moderator
    mountainbikermark's Avatar
    Member #
    114152
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3,025
    Liked
    696 times
    Phone
    Note 2
    Premium Member
    #4
    If this is happening in more than one general area, using the same cell, then I'd suggest go back to Verizon and ask for another SIM card. It's the only variable that remains the same. If it is happening in just 1 area it could well be a problem at that cell.

    Support Our Troops!!!
    <><
    Sent from this Galaxy via Blue Tapatalk
    The United States is the land of the free because of the brave.
    To all who serve or have served in the U.S. military and to your families, THANK YOU. Your sacrifices are NOT in vain!
    May God continue to bless the USA
  6. Droid
    nickelocene's Avatar
    Member #
    108349
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    56
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by mountainbikermark View Post
    If this is happening in more than one general area, using the same cell, then I'd suggest go back to Verizon and ask for another SIM card. It's the only variable that remains the same. If it is happening in just 1 area it could well be a problem at that cell.

    Support Our Troops!!!
    <><
    Sent from this Galaxy via Blue Tapatalk

    Yea, I'm going to get another SIM card to try. When you say cell, do you mean the phone, or the location related to the tower? I know my home has a weak signal. But I have no problem making calls by Rezound, and I don't have any problem with D1, DX and DX2 over the years.
    Now, I'm at work, and in a LTE area, the phone seems to be working OK so far. That makes me wonder if it's the switching problem between a 4G area to a 3G-only area.
  7. Super Moderator
    mountainbikermark's Avatar
    Member #
    114152
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3,025
    Liked
    696 times
    Phone
    Note 2
    Premium Member
    #6
    The cell is what your phone connects to, often called a tower. The problem is in todays world cells very often aren't even attached to towers but may look like a tree, church steeple, rooftop air, power line transformer, conditioner unit or even part of a wall. It's amazing how ingenious they have become to meet local regulations and make home owners associations happy while giving better coverage.
    It sounds like yours is happening on multiple cells, making me agree on you asking for another SIM card.

    Support Our Troops!!!
    <><
    A Rezound phone was used for this TapaTalk post
    The United States is the land of the free because of the brave.
    To all who serve or have served in the U.S. military and to your families, THANK YOU. Your sacrifices are NOT in vain!
    May God continue to bless the USA
  8. Nice Guy
    aaf709's Avatar
    Member #
    6126
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    4,181
    Liked
    127 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S4
    Premium Member
    #7
    There's an app called OpenSignal, which gives you a lot of information about your cell signal. It even gives you a map where the tower is as well as a pointer to show direction.

    I also want to add that the sim card is related to the 4G, and not the phone. See http://support.verizonwireless.com/i...ion/4gsim.html for more information.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
    Last edited by aaf709; 03-06-2012 at 07:06 PM.
  9. Super Moderator
    mountainbikermark's Avatar
    Member #
    114152
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3,025
    Liked
    696 times
    Phone
    Note 2
    Premium Member
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by aaf709 View Post
    There's an app called OpenSignal, which gives you a lot of information about your cell signal. It even gives you a map where the tower is as well as a pointer to show direction.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
    Yup. I've got it, the closest cell to me is at the local fire station and dang if I can find it. It is camouflaged as something else.

    Support Our Troops!!!
    <><
    A Rezound phone was used for this TapaTalk post
    The United States is the land of the free because of the brave.
    To all who serve or have served in the U.S. military and to your families, THANK YOU. Your sacrifices are NOT in vain!
    May God continue to bless the USA
  10. Droid
    nickelocene's Avatar
    Member #
    108349
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    56
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #9
    Replaced the SIM card. still having the same problem. After talking to a T2 support, they are sending a ticket to a service engineer to look into all the calls that went through tower to my number. Hopefully, they will find something.
    I noticed that I don't have as many problem when I'm in 4G coverage. But if I force the phone to CDMA only, I have the same problem. I already turned of the sleep mode and fastboot. I wonder if there is anything else I can do.
    One thing, I never turned off my old phone, the OD. Could it be possible the cell is still trying to send signal to that phone when a call comes in?
  11. Moderator
    MrSmith317's Avatar
    Member #
    51450
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    1,578
    Liked
    112 times
    Phone
    HTC One
    Premium Member
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by nickelocene View Post
    Replaced the SIM card. still having the same problem. After talking to a T2 support, they are sending a ticket to a service engineer to look into all the calls that went through tower to my number. Hopefully, they will find something.
    I noticed that I don't have as many problem when I'm in 4G coverage. But if I force the phone to CDMA only, I have the same problem. I already turned of the sleep mode and fastboot. I wonder if there is anything else I can do.
    One thing, I never turned off my old phone, the OD. Could it be possible the cell is still trying to send signal to that phone when a call comes in?
    Because of the way CDMA(and cell service in general) works, it can only truly associate one IMEI to a phone number. However if your closest tower hadn't been updated yet, it could potentially try to send a call to your old phone(if it was on) and your call would be routed from the closest tower with the proper programming. I've seen that happen a lot with texts while switching phones but never phone calls. I'm guessing since you were on the phone with T2 they should have ruled this out anyway. Have you played with LTE switch and put your phone in LTE+voice? I'd really be pissed at Verizon at this point if I were you.
    Helpful Rezound Links:
    Guide to Unlocking, Rooting, ROM'ing, and FAQ

    Did you know: You can upgrade your Rezound to ICS without rooting?

    Fun Rezound Fact: The antennas for the Rezound are in the battery cover.

    Don't forget to backup your flash player install before they remove it from the Android Market.

    If you don't understand something, ask questions.
    Please follow the posting guidelines.

    An investment in knowledge pays the best interest.
    Benjamin Franklin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. can' hear caller
    By roys76 in forum Motorola Droid Bionic
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-18-2012, 10:22 PM
  2. Can't hear audio during call and caller can't hear me
    By jgilmour in forum Project Elite
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-29-2011, 03:39 PM
  3. Can't hear caller!
    By zfly9 in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 08-14-2010, 08:42 PM
  4. Caller can not hear me.
    By vtrider159 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 05-18-2010, 10:21 PM
  5. Caller cannot hear me
    By JulieD in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-14-2010, 11:43 PM

Search tags for this page

can't hear caller on my droid cell
,
cell phone can't hear caller droid
,

droid pro can't hear calls

,
galaxy note 2 problems can't hear incoming calls
,
htc incredible 2 can't hear caller
,
htc incredible can't hear phone calls
,

motorola droid can't hear caller

,
motorola droid razr cannot hear incoming caller
,
razr m i can't hear the caller
,
why cant i hear anything when i call on htc rezound
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+