DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Can I run any Rom over New OTA?

  1. Droid
    arbs27's Avatar
    Member #
    131699
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    51
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #1

    Can I run any Rom over New OTA?

    Just got a replacement phone with new OTA, my question is ...Can I install any current Rom over the new OTA?

    Sent from my rezzzound.
  2. Moderator
    MrSmith317's Avatar
    Member #
    51450
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    1,578
    Liked
    112 times
    Phone
    HTC One
    Premium Member
    #2
    Yes, the important part of the OTA(the radio) will persist even if you install a ROM.
  3. Master Droid
    mjones73's Avatar
    Member #
    86607
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    450
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    Droid
    #3
    When you install a rom, you are effectively deleting the current rom on the phone, it's like formatting your PC and re-installing the OS. As long as you have access to a custom recovery, you can install any rom for the phone you want.
    Matt

    Rezound - Unlocked, Rooted and Rom'd
    RIP to my OG D1

  4. Droid Ninja
    Insidious's Avatar
    Member #
    172757
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,041
    Liked
    18 times
    Twitter
    @Android4life28
    Phone
    HTC Rezound, Droid 2 Global
    #4
    Actually I must forworn against this. I posted in the ROM section, for ICS Roms if you have taken the OTA, and the rom hasn't been updated; then the mainver won't update to ICS and you'll have to McGuyver your way out of it. You might want to check my post to learn more. You can flash Scott's CleanRom 2.3 ICS edition. He has updated it for the OTA.

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
    Sent from my HTC Rezound
    Rooted Unlocked and Ready to Rock!


    Current ROM: Newt's One XxX Sense 4.0




  5. Droid Ninja
    Insidious's Avatar
    Member #
    172757
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,041
    Liked
    18 times
    Twitter
    @Android4life28
    Phone
    HTC Rezound, Droid 2 Global
    #5
    Also it its on the stock kernel then it should work. I haven't tested it though.

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
    Sent from my HTC Rezound
    Rooted Unlocked and Ready to Rock!


    Current ROM: Newt's One XxX Sense 4.0




  6. Droid
    arbs27's Avatar
    Member #
    131699
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    51
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #6
    Yeah, I had senseless ics Rom before. I know how to do most of this.. I'm just a bit iffy now since its an updated OTA. Insidious that's what I didn't want to happen.. I unlocked rooted and have amon ras new recovery, I wanted to reinstall senseless ics edition.

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
  7. Droid Ninja
    Insidious's Avatar
    Member #
    172757
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,041
    Liked
    18 times
    Twitter
    @Android4life28
    Phone
    HTC Rezound, Droid 2 Global
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by arbs27 View Post
    Yeah, I had senseless ics Rom before. I know how to do most of this.. I'm just a bit iffy now since its an updated OTA. Insidious that's what I didn't want to happen.. I unlocked rooted and have amon ras new recovery, I wanted to reinstall senseless ics edition.

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
    You can install clean ICS 2.3 and then install senseless because the kernel is the same.

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
    Sent from my HTC Rezound
    Rooted Unlocked and Ready to Rock!


    Current ROM: Newt's One XxX Sense 4.0




  8. Droid
    arbs27's Avatar
    Member #
    131699
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    51
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #8
    Alright thanks, ill try that.

    If I get stuck in the mainver message ill be back.

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
  9. Moderator
    MrSmith317's Avatar
    Member #
    51450
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    1,578
    Liked
    112 times
    Phone
    HTC One
    Premium Member
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by arbs27 View Post
    Alright thanks, ill try that.

    If I get stuck in the mainver message ill be back.

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
    Just flash the kernel manually and you won't get stuck.

    "fastboot flash boot boot.img"
  10. Droid
    arbs27's Avatar
    Member #
    131699
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    51
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #10
    Ok right now I'm on clean Rom 2.3.. what should be my next steps to successfully flash Scott's senseless ics Rom? Thanks in advance.

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

can i load rezound with ota after rom
,

htc rezound ics rom

,

ics ota rezound

,
ota ics for thunderbolt
,
ota rom
,
ota roms?
,

rezound ics ota

,

rezound ota hasnt downloaded

,

rezound roms ota update

,

thunderbolt ics ota

,
thunderbolt ics ota download
,
using rezound rom thunderbolt
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+