DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 8 of 12 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 114
Like Tree7Likes

Thread: [HOW TO] Permanently Root Rezound

  1. Droid
    chollroc's Avatar
    Member #
    44740
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    34
    Twitter
    @realgadawg
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #71
    Quote Originally Posted by macpro88 View Post
    Do you need help rooting? Instructions are in the OP. And yes, rooting is a different process for each phone.
    I have flashed Amon_Ra. When I go to recovery, it shows CWM-based Recovery v5.5.0.4. I thought that when I flashed the Amon_Ra recovery, it would overwrite whatever recovery was on my device. Can someone please tell me what I'm doing wrong.
    Last edited by chollroc; 02-11-2012 at 09:17 PM. Reason: misspell
  2. Super Moderator
    macpro88's Avatar
    Member #
    168721
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,400
    Liked
    203 times
    Twitter
    macpro88
    Phone
    RAZR HD
    Premium Member
    #72
    Quote Originally Posted by chollroc View Post
    I have flashed Amon_Ra. When I go to recovery, it shows CWM-based Recovery v5.5.0.4. I thought that when I flashed the Amon_Ra recovery, it would overwrite whatever recovery was on my device. Can someone please tell me what I'm doing wrong.
    Did you open up ROM Manager and maybe install CMR through that on accident? You can always re-download the amonra recovery to make sure you didn't accidentally install or lose the amonra one, also make sure you are fastboot usb mode.
  3. Droid
    chollroc's Avatar
    Member #
    44740
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    34
    Twitter
    @realgadawg
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #73
    Quote Originally Posted by macpro88 View Post
    Did you open up ROM Manager and maybe install CMR through that on accident? You can always re-download the amonra recovery to make sure you didn't accidentally install or lose the amonra one, also make sure you are fastboot usb mode.
    I have flash Amon_ra recovery 3 different times and it still says CWM.
  4. Super Moderator
    macpro88's Avatar
    Member #
    168721
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,400
    Liked
    203 times
    Twitter
    macpro88
    Phone
    RAZR HD
    Premium Member
    #74
    Quote Originally Posted by chollroc View Post
    I have flash Amon_ra recovery 3 different times and it still says CWM.
    Make a checklist of what you are doing just to make sure.

    Is the phone in "fasboot usb" mode?
    Phone connected?
    You know for a fact that you have downloaded the AmonRa Recovery
    No other recovery.img's are in the fastboot directly and the the recovery image for amon ra is the only one there
    You ran "fastboot flash recovery [nameoftherecovery].img" with no errors and fastboot confirming that the flash was complete and successful.

    Just go through the checklist, step by step, and just double check your work.
  5. Droid
    chollroc's Avatar
    Member #
    44740
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    34
    Twitter
    @realgadawg
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #75
    Quote Originally Posted by chollroc View Post
    I have flash Amon_ra recovery 3 different times and it still says CWM.
    I flashed it again. Same thing. I downloaded the Amon-Ra from the link from this forum.
  6. Super Moderator
    macpro88's Avatar
    Member #
    168721
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,400
    Liked
    203 times
    Twitter
    macpro88
    Phone
    RAZR HD
    Premium Member
    #76
    Quote Originally Posted by chollroc View Post
    I flashed it again. Same thing. I downloaded the Amon-Ra from the link from this forum.
    when you flash in fastboot does it tell you that it flashed successfully? or did it through out errors? and you trying to flash this from ROM Manager??
  7. Droid
    chollroc's Avatar
    Member #
    44740
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    34
    Twitter
    @realgadawg
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #77
    Quote Originally Posted by macpro88 View Post
    when you flash in fastboot does it tell you that it flashed successfully? or did it through out errors? and you trying to flash this from ROM Manager??
    Working now thanks? I have other issues now. I fastbooted the boot image for the ASOP ICS and installed the zip file on my sd card. I can't get it to install on device. When I attempt to do it aborts. I didn't back up my stock. How can I get something that works? Device does nothing now. I am at fastboot screen now.
  8. Super Moderator
    macpro88's Avatar
    Member #
    168721
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,400
    Liked
    203 times
    Twitter
    macpro88
    Phone
    RAZR HD
    Premium Member
    #78
    Quote Originally Posted by chollroc View Post
    Working now thanks? I have other issues now. I fastbooted the boot image for the ASOP ICS and installed the zip file on my sd card. I can't get it to install on device. When I attempt to do it aborts. I didn't back up my stock. How can I get something that works? Device does nothing now. I am at fastboot screen now.
    You will need to flash the RUU according to what main version you are on. From bootloader, at the top, you should see in green text: "HBOOT-x.xx.xxxx" what ever that first number is that follows HBOOT is what your main version is. If its a 1, you flash the RUU for 1.02.605.6 and if its a 2 you flash the RUU for 2.01.605.11. If its a 3, then there is a thread floating around here and over at XDA that will show you how to edit the main version to show a 2 or 1 because right now we don't have a RUU for main version 3 this is official and stable.

    Please make sure that you take your time in doing your research and make sure you have all the fact before you get to hacking away at your phone, and always be prepared for the worst, which includes making a backup of your stock setup.

    The RUU's can be found here: [ROM]Vigor Shipped ROM Collection - xda-developers
  9. Droid
    chollroc's Avatar
    Member #
    44740
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    34
    Twitter
    @realgadawg
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #79
    Quote Originally Posted by macpro88 View Post
    You will need to flash the RUU according to what main version you are on. From bootloader, at the top, you should see in green text: "HBOOT-x.xx.xxxx" what ever that first number is that follows HBOOT is what your main version is. If its a 1, you flash the RUU for 1.02.605.6 and if its a 2 you flash the RUU for 2.01.605.11. If its a 3, then there is a thread floating around here and over at XDA that will show you how to edit the main version to show a 2 or 1 because right now we don't have a RUU for main version 3 this is official and stable.


    Please make sure that you take your time in doing your research and make sure you have all the fact before you get to hacking away at your phone, and always be prepared for the worst, which includes making a backup of your stock setup.

    The RUU's can be found here: [ROM]Vigor Shipped ROM Collection - xda-developers
    Thanks for you help. I made a major idiot move, but since ASOP never actually flashed properly, all I had to do was flash the stock boot.img. I have since made a Nandroid backup, and will be more cautious in the future.
  10. Droid
    graywolf's Avatar
    Member #
    249889
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    96
    Liked
    2 times
    Twitter
    GrayTheWolf
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #80
    Thank you so much!!!!!
    I was having many problems at first, but I got it working and now I have root access!!!!!!
    chollroc likes this.
Page 8 of 12 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. [HOW TO] Unlock Rezound's Bootloader [HTCdev.com]
    By macpro88 in forum HTC Rezound Development
    Replies: 173
    Last Post: 10-23-2013, 10:55 PM
  2. [How To] Unlock Bootloader & Root Galaxy Nexus
    By sbenson in forum Galaxy Nexus Development
    Replies: 525
    Last Post: 03-27-2013, 07:32 AM
  3. Unlock bootloader and root using a Mac - instructions
    By creaky in forum Galaxy Nexus Development
    Replies: 73
    Last Post: 04-29-2012, 08:47 AM

Search tags for this page

how to root htc rezound

,
how to root htc rezound permanent
,

how to root rezound

,

htc rezound root

,
permanent root htc rezound
,
rezound permanent root
,
rezound root
,

root htc rezound

,

root rezound

,

rooting htc rezound

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+