DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Long press MENU in Contacts issue

  1. Junior Droid
    jerrad707's Avatar
    Member #
    65453
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Napa, CA
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    HTC Incredible
    #1

    Question Long press MENU in Contacts issue

    As most of you probably know, many apps allow you to long press the MENU button to bring up the keyboard to help searching for a name/app/etc. but while in the "PEOPLE" app (the stock contact directory) if you long press the MENU button, it DOES bring up the keyboard, but if you type something (in order to quickly find a specific contact) the letters just pop up on the screen and don't go away. To make it worse, it doesn't even search for the name you are typing, it just puts the letters on the screen. Is anyone else having this issue? Is there an alternative way to sort/search while in the "People" app?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Junior Droid
    davea's Avatar
    Member #
    96916
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #2
    I'm not sure I understand your: "it just puts the letters on the screen."

    If I bring up people and long press menu I can search for , say, "John" and it will first bring up the J's and then as I type o, then h and then n all the Johns show up and in my case there is only one so the contact "John" is up and I can press the contact and dial or whatever.
  4. Junior Droid
    jerrad707's Avatar
    Member #
    65453
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Napa, CA
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    HTC Incredible
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by davea View Post
    I'm not sure I understand your: "it just puts the letters on the screen."

    If I bring up people and long press menu I can search for , say, "John" and it will first bring up the J's and then as I type o, then h and then n all the Johns show up and in my case there is only one so the contact "John" is up and I can press the contact and dial or whatever.
    Maybe my phone is retarded, but if I type something it just shows up on the screen but it never actually goes to the letters (in my contacts) I'm typing. For example, if I type "JOHN" it will still be at the top of my contacts (in the A's) yet "JOHN" will stay on my screen until I pull the battery. pretty lame...
  5. Junior Droid
    davea's Avatar
    Member #
    96916
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #4
    OK, I was messing around with mine and I got letters I searched for to show up white on a dark grey background box. They will not go away.

    I feel your pain now.
  6. Junior Droid
    jerrad707's Avatar
    Member #
    65453
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Napa, CA
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    HTC Incredible
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by davea View Post
    OK, I was messing around with mine and I got letters I searched for to show up white on a dark grey background box. They will not go away.

    I feel your pain now.

    I'm glad that you understand what I was talking about now, but still frustrated (as you probably are) that this happens. I wonder if this is a bug, or practical for another reason?
  7. Junior Droid
    chetman7's Avatar
    Member #
    105860
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #6
    I too was playin around with mine and got it to do the non erasable black box on the screen that doesn't go away.

    why not press the search button instead of long pressing the menu key to search through your PB
  8. Junior Droid
    jerrad707's Avatar
    Member #
    65453
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Napa, CA
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    HTC Incredible
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by chetman7 View Post
    I too was playin around with mine and got it to do the non erasable black box on the screen that doesn't go away.

    why not press the search button instead of long pressing the menu key to search through your PB
    Thank you for that tip, I had forgotten we could do that from within the phonebook.

    As for the gray text box that shows up, does anyone have an explanation for that, and why anyone would need it? Furthermore, once you have the gray box on your screen, does anyone know how to get it off of the screen without a battery pull/power down?
  9. Droid Newbie
    supergreen's Avatar
    Member #
    134829
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #8

    Solution...?

    Quote Originally Posted by jerrad707 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by chetman7 View Post
    I too was playin around with mine and got it to do the non erasable black box on the screen that doesn't go away.

    why not press the search button instead of long pressing the menu key to search through your PB
    Thank you for that tip, I had forgotten we could do that from within the phonebook.

    As for the gray text box that shows up, does anyone have an explanation for that, and why anyone would need it? Furthermore, once you have the gray box on your screen, does anyone know how to get it off of the screen without a battery pull/power down?

    I just got my Droid Incredible and immediately had this problem. After serching the Internet for hours, I couldn't find any information on the problem. This post seemed to be one of just a few from people who were having this problem.

    I don't know what the problem is, but I found a way to get the box to go away: From the home screen, click on Menu>Settings>Applications>Manage Applications. Switch to the Running tab/filter and locate "People (HTC Corporation)" (the one with the contact card icon, not the phone icon) and click it. Now click "Force Stop."

    Now you can go back into People and you will see the text box is gone. This is the only way I have found to make it go away. It seems like after doing this, the quick search feature will work for a while, before doing it again and I have to do a Force Stop again.

    If anyone else knows how to permanently fix this issue, I'd appreciate the help. Thanks.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Can't long press to do anything
    By jarome in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-09-2013, 07:34 PM
  2. Open your browser, hit the menu key, then press and hold
    By VIRominoff in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-16-2010, 08:04 AM
  3. press 'menu' to unlock
    By diggity in forum HTC Droid Incredible
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-31-2010, 07:19 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-09-2010, 12:18 PM
  5. DROID Hints: The LONG Press and Menu Key
    By 640k in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 02-06-2010, 01:57 AM

Search tags for this page

a gray box appeared on my htc incredible
,
android long press suspend
,
droid 2 has weird grey block in the middle of browser screen
,

droid 3 facebook problems gray box

,
droid 3 web browser gray box
,

droid incredible gray text box

,

gray box on top of browser window droid 2

,
grey box on htc browser
,
grey rectangle on screen wheni press electronicmouse
,
grey square on my browser android
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+