DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: got 2.2 OTA, but cant use Swype

  1. Master Droid
    hydro556's Avatar
    Member #
    11324
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    363
    Liked
    21 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #1

    got 2.2 OTA, but cant use Swype

    I got my OTA this morning, noe I cant use Swype. I even uninstalled and reinstalled. It is selected in my Keyboards. What should I do first?

    ETA- Disregard, got it working. Swype runs fine with my 2.2 OTA
    Last edited by hydro556; 09-02-2010 at 11:28 AM.
  2. Droid
    schoon's Avatar
    Member #
    81338
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    31
    Phone
    HTC Incredible
    #2
    I have the same issue, uninstalled and reinstalled Swype and the keyboard even comes up, just won't allow me to actually "swype", I have to tap the letters just like with the regular keyboard. Any ideas here? I know it is beta so maybe just have to wait for new version?
  3. Senior Droid
    mtz_gto's Avatar
    Member #
    15017
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Left Coast
    Posts
    230
    Phone
    OG DROID 1
    #3
    Swype has closed the beta, the beta has expired.
    You cannot use Swype anymore.

    Check the Swype website for further details.
    Search the forum first next time for answers...
  4. Master Droid
    hydro556's Avatar
    Member #
    11324
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    363
    Liked
    21 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #4
    well, that sucks. I guess I will have to try another one of the keyboards. Kinda liked Swype, too.
  5. Droid
    H3Dude's Avatar
    Member #
    18779
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    34
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #5
    from the Swype website: Swype | Text Input for Screens

    Swype Beta for Android™

    The Swype Beta is CLOSED


    June 2010: Thanks for your interest, the Beta is now closed.

    Please register here and we will notify you when the beta re-opens.


    June 2010: If your copy of the Beta is expired, login to get the Beta update.

    Want more Swype Beta details? click here
    Need installation help? Read our updated Step-by-step install details!
    More Questions? Read our new Beta FAQ
  6. Nice Guy
    aaf709's Avatar
    Member #
    6126
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    4,181
    Liked
    127 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S4
    Premium Member
    #6
    Same thing happened to me. I uninstalled Swype, then used the Installer to reinstall it. I had to do it 5 times, but it worked.
  7. Master Droid
    hydro556's Avatar
    Member #
    11324
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    363
    Liked
    21 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #7
    I DL'd Swiftkey, but it looks like it expires on the 20th, lol
  8. Master Droid
    hydro556's Avatar
    Member #
    11324
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    363
    Liked
    21 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #8
    LOL, once I got Swiftkey installed, I deselected it and reselected Swype, now I am rocking swype again, LOL.

    Bad info on forum. Swype rules, LOL./
  9. Droid
    schoon's Avatar
    Member #
    81338
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    31
    Phone
    HTC Incredible
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by mtz_gto View Post
    Swype has closed the beta, the beta has expired.
    You cannot use Swype anymore.

    Check the Swype website for further details.
    Search the forum first next time for answers...
    The reinstall worked for me Swype now works fine. I have been in the beta for awhile the beta is just closed to new users. You can still use your beta link to download the app if you were in before it closed.

    I for one, DID search the forum, are you the self proclaimed forum boss today? Maybe be a little nicer and just point to the post where the answer is.
  10. Master Droid
    souljerr's Avatar
    Member #
    52
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Sacramento Valley, CA
    Posts
    417
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid baby!
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by hydro556 View Post
    LOL, once I got Swiftkey installed, I deselected it and reselected Swype, now I am rocking swype again, LOL./
    Worked for me too.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. anyone have a swype apk or themed swype that works??
    By chris420o in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-27-2010, 01:38 PM
  2. Where do I get swype?
    By bbohannon in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-22-2010, 09:12 AM
  3. Swype
    By iwantadroid in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-18-2010, 10:18 PM
  4. Swype is the best
    By Goofy Yno in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 02-17-2010, 04:07 PM
  5. Swype Help..Please
    By jordabella in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-16-2010, 11:21 AM

Search tags for this page

android wont allow swype
,
cannot enable swype anymore android
,

cant use swype anymore

,
droid 3 cannot use swype any more
,
droid wont allow swype
,
how to activate swype on incredible 2
,

how to uninstall swype

,

how to use incredible 2

,
how to use swype on incredible htc
,
swype cant use
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+