DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Did I get a lemon?

  1. Junior Droid
    mikeb33's Avatar
    Member #
    67801
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Palatine, IL
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    Env3, Incredible en route
    #1

    Did I get a lemon?

    Got my Incredible yesterday. At home in my office, I barely get a connection. It ranges from no bars to 1. the 3G icon is not lit. I also have a home wireless G network and it seems to be beyond that range too, although my laptop picks it up.
    Sitting here with my Wife's Moto Droid side by side with my Incredible. Hers has 3 to 4 bars and the 3G indicator lit. Mine has 0-1 ,and no 3G.
    Any ideas?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Did I get a lemon?-cell-004-large-.jpg  
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Rescue Squad
    titans's Avatar
    Member #
    11378
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2,668
    Twitter
    @titans_df
    Phone
    Incredible
    Premium Member
    #2
    People have reported the phone showing much lower signals than the Incredible
  4. kmo
    kmo is offline
    Master Droid
    kmo's Avatar
    Member #
    61457
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    537
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus (cdma)
    #3
    Try a reset on the phone. Are you having problems connecting or is it just the bars not showing up? Some have reported not seeing the numbers of bars being accurate that's why I'm asking. If you're not able to connect to 3g/wifi that's a problem but if you can connect without issue then stop looking at the bars, might be an issue of just an inaccurate bar reading. If it's not working after a factory reset I would return it for a new one and see if that helps, or call a tech at VZW maybe they will be able to help.
  5. Droid
    robdroid's Avatar
    Member #
    63459
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Cary (near Raleigh) NC
    Posts
    75
    Phone
    HTC Incredible
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by mikeb33 View Post
    Got my Incredible yesterday. At home in my office, I barely get a connection. It ranges from no bars to 1. the 3G icon is not lit. I also have a home wireless G network and it seems to be beyond that range too, although my laptop picks it up.
    Sitting here with my Wife's Moto Droid side by side with my Incredible. Hers has 3 to 4 bars and the 3G indicator lit. Mine has 0-1 ,and no 3G.
    Any ideas?
    Hi Mike,
    The Issue about the weak strength meter is a commonly reported issue! The more important question how is your HTCI in a real call! I'm betting your real reception exceeds your meters showing. I also have my home set up with a "N" wireless network and it appears weaker then the laptop yet gets great speeds on my network! so try it and not worry how it looks compared to how it works
    Last edited by robdroid; 06-02-2010 at 07:14 PM.
    RobDroid Computer Coach and all around Gadget Maniac
  6. Junior Droid
    moonnite's Avatar
    Member #
    62360
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    20
    Phone
    HTC touch diamond
    #5
    go to settings and about phone and look up the prl number and write it down, also were you legacy alltel or original verizon. also look up the prl on the moto droid as well if they are different *228 - 2 the increadible

    the 3g is disabled when the wifi is connected

    any audio or call issues?
  7. Droid Ninja
    cybertec69's Avatar
    Member #
    60551
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Staten Island, NY
    Posts
    1,687
    Liked
    162 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S3 R-U/Galaxy S4
    #6
    Go to the app store and download the speed test app, and do a speed test while connected to your wifi.
  8. Junior Droid
    mikeb33's Avatar
    Member #
    67801
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Palatine, IL
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    Env3, Incredible en route
    #7
    OK I ran speed test. With WiFI off, I first got 7kbps down and 5 up. Then I reran and 134 down, 146 up. I did it a few more times and got about the same, so I don know what caused the first one to be low.
    Then I turned on WiFI and got 1827/538. Then immediately got 303/767 then 1834/246 and 912/270.
    Seem OK then not too good? Do I have a problem?
  9. Master Droid
    Dream's Avatar
    Member #
    645
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    272
    Phone
    Thunderbolt
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by mikeb33 View Post
    Got my Incredible yesterday. At home in my office, I barely get a connection. It ranges from no bars to 1. the 3G icon is not lit. I also have a home wireless G network and it seems to be beyond that range too, although my laptop picks it up.
    Sitting here with my Wife's Moto Droid side by side with my Incredible. Hers has 3 to 4 bars and the 3G indicator lit. Mine has 0-1 ,and no 3G.
    Any ideas?

    Your not showing any signal or 3G because you have wi-fi turned on.

    Edit: your signal should still be showing, but the 3G will be gone when you are connected to wi-fi.
  10. Senior Droid
    ctxx24's Avatar
    Member #
    51813
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Mid Michigan
    Posts
    165
    Phone
    HTC>>>>>X
    #9
    I get 1474/874 3g and 3010/1023 wifi
    ---Lets go red wings---

    Its hard to have heart when you won so much!
  11. Senior Droid
    atthehop's Avatar
    Member #
    59732
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    North NJ
    Posts
    156
    Phone
    Droid Incredible
    #10
    I just ignore the bars, have not had a dropped call and internet is very gast. My company issued ATT air card sucks and keeps dropping my VPN connection. Thank god Oakland, CA Airport offers free WIFI and I can kill some time waiting for my flight back to the east coast.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. lemon law on phones?
    By reyrey2435 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-23-2010, 03:19 AM
  2. Think I got a Lemon
    By gracie82 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-08-2010, 07:42 AM
  3. Love the droid...but i think i have a lemon
    By bobhamm16 in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-02-2010, 10:41 AM

Search tags for this page

3g indicator android
,
can the moto citrus be used as an hotspot
,
can you use motorola citrus as a wifi hot spot
,
droid 4 a lemon?
,
hot to setup motorola citrus hotspot
,
how to get a 3g hotspot on motorola citrus
,
how to use a motorola droid citrus as a hotspot
,
htc incredible lemon
,
lemon law for phones
,
motorola citrus as a mobile hotspot
,

motorola citrus hotspot

,
motorola citrus mobile hotspot
,
motorola citrus verizon as hot spot
,
motorola citrus wifi hotspot
,
use motorola citrus as wifi hotspot
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+