DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: New OS and making it a disk?

  1. Senior Droid
    evan2001's Avatar
    Member #
    193760
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    113
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    New OS and making it a disk?

    I have not tried to connect my tablet to my pc since the last OS update. But now I can't seem to get it to show up as a disk? I checked in setting and don't see anything.

    Any help?

    Evan


    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
  2. Droid Ninja
    LoudRam's Avatar
    Member #
    149879
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Southern NJ
    Posts
    1,220
    Liked
    139 times
    Phone
    Moto X
    #2
    Does it at least charge when you plug it into the computer? What type of cord are you using? Some cords are only for charging and some do both charging and data transfer. Do you have the default set to "charge only"? Sorry for all the basic questions but we need to eliminate all the simple stuff first.

    Sent from my Droid Incredible 2.
    Last edited by LoudRam; 03-31-2012 at 10:15 AM.
    Droid does...Apple bites

  3. Senior Droid
    evan2001's Avatar
    Member #
    193760
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    113
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #3
    It charges.with the old OS when I plunged it in it would say something like... Do u want connect as a drive?

    With this OS it says nothing.

    R

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
  4. Droid Ninja
    LoudRam's Avatar
    Member #
    149879
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Southern NJ
    Posts
    1,220
    Liked
    139 times
    Phone
    Moto X
    #4
    If it's set to charge as a default setting it won't ask you anything. It will just charge when you plug it in. At least that's how my phone works.

    Sent from my Droid Incredible 2.
    Droid does...Apple bites

  5. Droid
    tjb90291's Avatar
    Member #
    227995
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    52
    Phone
    HTC Incredible 2
    #5
    Go to settings go to connect to pc and you can change your default connection type from there

    Sent from my HTC Incredible 2
  6. Droid Ninja
    PereDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    31397
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    1,001
    Liked
    119 times
    Phone
    RAZR HD
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by LoudRam View Post
    Some cords are only for charging and some do both charging and data transfer.
    There is no such thing as a data-only USB cable. Any USB cable will do both.
  7. Droid Ninja
    LoudRam's Avatar
    Member #
    149879
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Southern NJ
    Posts
    1,220
    Liked
    139 times
    Phone
    Moto X
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by PereDroid

    There is no such thing as a data-only USB cable. Any USB cable will do both.
    I have a USB cord that came with a cheap charger I bought in a pinch that will only charge. It won't do data. It's only two conductors. It may not be a true USB but I wrote my post so the avgerage person can understand that there are two kinds off cords available when you buy a charger. I don't expect everyone to have the same technical knowledge that I have.

    Sent from my HTC Rezound using Droid Forums
    Droid does...Apple bites

  8. Droid Ninja
    LoudRam's Avatar
    Member #
    149879
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Southern NJ
    Posts
    1,220
    Liked
    139 times
    Phone
    Moto X
    #8
    This is a true USB cord. But there are ones that don't have all these conductors. They only have the 5v conductors hooked up not the data conductors.

    New OS and making it a disk?-forumrunner_20120511_110137.png

    Sent from my HTC Rezound using Droid Forums
    Last edited by LoudRam; 05-11-2012 at 09:08 AM.
    Droid does...Apple bites

  9. Droid Ninja
    PereDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    31397
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    1,001
    Liked
    119 times
    Phone
    RAZR HD
    #9
    Well I still disagree.
    I am not bragging about my technical knowledge either but I was around when USB was invented. If something is labeled USB it has to meet a certain standard in order to be classified as USB. It is an INDUSTRY standard. It must meet certain requirements or it cannot legally be classified as USB. In over 15 years of being in the IT field I personally have never seen a USB cable that didn't do both. As I said: if there was such a cable it CANNOT be called USB.
    A Universal Serial Bus cable MUST provide power and data or it is not USB. Fact.

    http://www.usb.org/home/

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Universal_Serial_Bus

    USB was designed to standardize the connection of computer peripherals, such as keyboards, pointing devices, digital cameras, printers, portable media players, disk drives and network adapters to personal computers, both to communicate and to supply electric power
  10. Droid Ninja
    PereDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    31397
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    1,001
    Liked
    119 times
    Phone
    RAZR HD
    #10
    What CAN happen if a USB cable does NOT supply power is that the port you connected it to does not supply power. This is possible and is not a fault of the cable.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Charger making phone go into disk mode
    By Shaunie in forum Droid Incredible Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-20-2012, 01:01 PM
  2. Disk Free
    By alwerner in forum ChevyNo1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-26-2011, 08:38 AM
  3. Low disk space
    By randroidran in forum HTC Droid Eris
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-14-2011, 07:26 AM
  4. Low disk space?
    By razorseal in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-30-2010, 03:15 PM
  5. Full Disk
    By Hoover in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-07-2010, 08:21 AM

Search tags for this page

does incredible 2 have driving mode
,

driving mode droid incredible 2

,

droid incredible 2 driving mode

,
droid x2 disk drive mode
,
how to take a droid incredible out of disk mode
,
htc droid incredible 2 drive mode
,

htc droid incredible 2 driving mode

,

incredible 2 drive mode

,

make reading usb cable for htc

,

where is disk drive on droid incredible 2 os x

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+